We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Troy
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
east williston,ny
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Surprise”
Reviewed October 7, 2011

This hotel was amazing for the price we paid! The room was clean and modern and the free hot breakfast in the morning was satisfying. Beds were very comfortable. The desk attendant suggested to eat at a BBQ place right across the street and the food was good and it was served at lightning speed.The fireplace was lit in the lobby when we came in from dinner and we settled in to watch tv on the big screen.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cdb_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    141
    39
    20
    11
See reviews for
190
98
30
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cohoes, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

My husband and I stayed here the night of our wedding. We weren't in the room long but I can say the place is very clean and well taken care of. We stayed in one of their suites which included a king size bed, in room jacuzzi, full bathroom and work/office area. The bed was very comfortable, lots of blankets and pillows! Our only complaint was that breakfast was over by the time we woke up....10:30 AM. I think that's way too early for breakfast to end. We weren't the only people looking for breakfast. We were lucky to get a cup of coffee.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Claire, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Needed a place a few hours from Boston on our way to a cruise. I had received a free night voucher from BW during a promotion. I am always leery of Best Western because the properties can vary so much. But TripAdvisor gave this a good rating so we booked. This hotel is immaculate, which was a surprise after having to detour through a pretty gritty downtown Troy area. Spacious lobby, nice room, good free breakfast. Several good restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wsteinhauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain Lakes, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Close to RPI, great staff, decent breakfast, nice rooms, inc refridgerator. Downside, no pool, if you need that.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wherearewegoing1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

My husband and I stayed one night for a friends wedding and were very impressed. Easy access off of 787, quick check-in and we were up to our king bed room. Nice furnishings, very clean, wonderful linens. lot of pillows and thick, fluffy towels. There was a fridge, nice TV and robes to wear. The iron and board along with a hair dryer and extra blanket were in the closet. Being from Syracuse, we are very familiar with the Dinosaur BBQ right across the street. It is award winning. Speaking of food, my husband (the strength coach) thought the free breakfast buffet had just the right stuff for a healthy way to start the day. Our daughter attends RPI just up the hill and if we need a hotel room, this is where we will stay.

Room Tip: The rooms at either end of the north side of the hotel had better views but the south side faces the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank kampo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
347 reviews
184 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Just to clarify for "years ago travelers to Troy", this is not the old Best Western that was located right below Rensaleer. This hotel was an old hotel that was renovated into the Franklin Inn and just became a Best Western. You might remember it being across the street from the restaurant called Castaways, then Fresnos. The hotel is very pleasant and the restaurant across the street is a Dinosaur BBQ. The location of the hotel is perfect and you can also walk to the delightful Brown's Brew Pub and several other eateries on the water. We gathered eight friends together to meet for fun and the races at Saratoga. The price is right, the public rooms cheery, the rooms are just fine, excellent breakfast included and they even have a big guest laundry. Perfection would be if they had a pool!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peanutsNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire, USA
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

Stayed there for two nights in the suite on first floor. Excellent staff, good buffet breakfast, hot food and waffles. Near a great restaurant called the Dinosaur Bar-B-Q Pit. We lost power on our last night, they had a hot buffet for guests across the street in their ballroom. Only strange thing is they allow dogs. Upon arrival we hada crying dog next to us, but the front desk called the owner and it was taken care of right away. Internet was fast, gym small, but nice equipment and excellent quality bedding. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laineford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troy
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Troy
4.1 mi away
The Century House, an Ascend Collection Hotel
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Latham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
4.4 mi away
Microtel Inn by Wyndham Albany Airport
6.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany

Property: Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany
Address: 1 4th St, Troy, NY 12180-3225 (Formerly Franklin Square Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Troy
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Troy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 0.4 miles from Rensselear Polytechnic Institute (RPI) and at the center of historic downtown Troy, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany offers comfort and convenience within a short distance of all the major Albany, NY attractions. Stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany as you attend your next wedding or event at one of our two luxurious ballrooms, the Franklin Plaza and Franklin Terrace. Make yourself at home in one of our luxurious 62 rooms. Standard rooms are available with either one king size bed or two queen size beds. Accessible rooms with specially designed bathroom grab bars, wheelchair accessible entrance ways, and roll in showers are available upon request. Upgrade to one of our deluxe rooms with a king size bed, whirlpool hot tub, and living area. Our two-room Fulton suite offers a king size bed, spa shower, living, dining and bar areas. All reservations include a full free hot breakfast, free high-speed wireless Internet access, free onsite parking, and free access to our gym and business center. All rooms are equipped with 32" inch flat screen television sets, refrigerators, individual cup coffee makers stocked with complimentary coffee and tea, hair dryers, and iron and ironing board sets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Best Western, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Hotel Troy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing