We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in Troy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Troy
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New Hampshire, USA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best place in Troy”
Reviewed July 17, 2011

Stayed there for two nights in the suite on first floor. Excellent staff, good buffet breakfast, hot food and waffles. Near a great restaurant called the Dinosaur Bar-B-Q Pit. We lost power on our last night, they had a hot buffet for guests across the street in their ballroom. Only strange thing is they allow dogs. Upon arrival we hada crying dog next to us, but the front desk called the owner and it was taken care of right away. Internet was fast, gym small, but nice equipment and excellent quality bedding. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laineford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    132
    37
    19
    11
See reviews for
175
91
27
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Quincy, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
193 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2011

This hotel is located smack in the middle of the city, perfect for walking around. The staff was friendly and very helpful. Free continental breakfast was hot and plentiful in a large breakfast room with lots of tables. Our room was spotless and had everything we needed- super comfy beds and a great shower! I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skeeterplustbone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitknee39, Manager at Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you for staying at the BW Plus Franklin Square Inn! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us! We also enjoy our proximity to all of the wonderful and unique restaurants, pubs, and shops Downtown Troy, NY has to offer! We always love it when our guests can experience them as well!

We hope you have the opportunity to return and enjoy more of Troy - summer is a great time in our city.

Thank you again for reviewing our hotel.

Best Regards,
Whitney P., AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2010

We've been patrons of the Franklin Square Inn since early in its renovations; it was a real dump years ago. It's come a long LONG way.

My daughter lives in Troy, very close to this hotel, so I've stayed here a number of times. Every time it gets better. The rooms are clean, comfortable and attractive. The wifi is free and the connection is good. The TV is an up-to-date LCD model, the little fridge is there for you to put your left-overs from the Dinosaur BBQ (right across the street!) in, the staff is friendly and helpful and the lobby is comfortable and inviting if you're going to spend any time there waiting for friends or family members to arrive.

This was the first time we'd visited since their cafe-breakfast area was open. Coffee and tea were always available, and the included breakfast was pretty good, with bake-your-own-waffles. There were flavored syrups for the coffee as well. The layout of the breakfast items was a little awkward; one ended up criss-crossing other guests in pursuit of various menu items, but it wasn't a big deal, and will be easily solved with a little rearrangement of stations.

We came with our little dog who was going to spend the night in my daughter's apartment. He didn't like being left alone in the apartment, though, and barked. We were afraid he'd disturb her neighbors, so we brought him to the hotel and the young man at the desk dogsat him for a couple of hours while we went to dinner. Now, that's service!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oddprofessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2010

I had the opportunuty to stay at the Franklin Square Inn on two occasions in July. During both of my visits, the hotel exceeded my expectations for a Best Western location.

First of all, the building and grounds are very well appointed. The front lobby feels like a giant living room, with a big screen TV, comfy couches, and newspapers. Computers are available 24 hrs for free. The staff was so welcoming and friendly every time we walked in the door, and there were definitely some very late nights!!

Having travelled a fair amount and worked in the service industry for a number of years, I was especially impressed at the service efforts made by the staff. When we had questions, they were knowledgeable and often went out of their way to make sure we were well informed and provided for.

The rooms are impeccably maintained. Our king bed was spotless and cozy, which we welcomed after a long drive. The bathrooms are clean and modern. They appear to have been newly renovated with nice tile and accents.

We had the opportunity to stay in one of the suites for a number of nights. What a treat! We had more room than we knew what to do with, including elegant dining and living rooms, four-poster bed, two bathrooms, and a huge spa shower with tons of nozzels. I can imagine these suites would be very popular for people getting married in or near the city.

Though the hotel didn't offer room service, it does have a number of vending machines as well as a well-sized cafe serving sandwiches, drinks, and small meals. Once again, the front desk staff were very helpful when we decided to order in, providing menus and personal reviews.

The hotel also has a small fitness centre stocked with 3 or 4 machines, a TV, water, and towels. Though we used this a few times, it was almost always free and empty.

We were obviously very pleased with our stay, as we returned to this hotel at the end of the month for a second visit. The staff were clearly happy to be there, as were we!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emilycora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2010

My girlfiend and I came into town to go to Saratoga race track and were very pleased with this hotel. The lobby is beautiful and the rooms were very clean, which is of utmost importance to us. Everuthing smooth at the front desk with a very friendly and approachable staff. The location is only 30 mins away from Saratoga which was fine as most hotels closer are much more expensive. We ran into some people who were attending a wedding at the Franklin Plaza, the wedding facility located next door and we both thought what a great set up if someone was traveling into town for an event there. Being from the area, I also know that RPI and Russell Sage are located in Troy and if family or friends are coming into town this would be an ideal place to stay. Afforable, clean, with great service. Only drawback is no room service but there is a restaurant on premises and a few good local bars down the street.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gypsy98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2010

Stayed twice in an "oversized room" whirlpool suite...

Very nice experience. Great staff, hotel in very good condition. If you need to be in Troy, it's a great location. Access to I-787 is good enough that I stayed here for business in Albany, as well.

Would have given it an "Excellent" rating except for a few minor issues. The suite was very clean except one section of the ceiling was not dusted. The fridge in the room was a little loud; I unplugged it the one night I actually noticed it. It's also not perfect for business travel: no express check out, not many plugs in the room, breakfast cooked to order or from a limited pastry selection only - and not included in the rate.

But overall, this hotel is far better than you'd expect for downtown Troy. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjs7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast, USA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2010

I stayed at Best Western Franklin Square Inn for the New York State bar exam. It was a great location (one mile from the Troy testing center) and the staff is incredibly helpful. The only thing missing was a decent restaurant inside the hotel.

The pros: reasonably sized rooms that are exceptionally clean, near public transportation, walking distance from local restaurants (which is a must since the hotel doesn't have food service). Also note that the flat screen tv, down pillows, and Egyptian cotton towels were a surprise, luxurious touch!

The cons: only a small cafe with limited hours on-site and rather thin walls. Fortunately, during my stay, hotel guests were quiet so noise wasn't too much of an issue.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2010WorldTravel2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troy
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Troy
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Latham
3.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Latham Albany Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
4.1 mi away
The Century House, an Ascend Collection Hotel
5.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Albany
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany

Property: Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany
Address: 1 4th St, Troy, NY 12180-3225 (Formerly Franklin Square Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Troy
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Troy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 0.4 miles from Rensselear Polytechnic Institute (RPI) and at the center of historic downtown Troy, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany offers comfort and convenience within a short distance of all the major Albany, NY attractions. Stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany as you attend your next wedding or event at one of our two luxurious ballrooms, the Franklin Plaza and Franklin Terrace. Make yourself at home in one of our luxurious 62 rooms. Standard rooms are available with either one king size bed or two queen size beds. Accessible rooms with specially designed bathroom grab bars, wheelchair accessible entrance ways, and roll in showers are available upon request. Upgrade to one of our deluxe rooms with a king size bed, whirlpool hot tub, and living area. Our two-room Fulton suite offers a king size bed, spa shower, living, dining and bar areas. All reservations include a full free hot breakfast, free high-speed wireless Internet access, free onsite parking, and free access to our gym and business center. All rooms are equipped with 32" inch flat screen television sets, refrigerators, individual cup coffee makers stocked with complimentary coffee and tea, hair dryers, and iron and ironing board sets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Best Western, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Hotel Troy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing