We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just like I remembered” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ted's Fish Fry Incorporated

Ted's Fish Fry Incorporated
Ranked #60 of 206 Restaurants in Troy
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Just like I remembered”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Visiting Troy for the first time in almost 10 years, we stopped at Ted's for lunch. What a great piece of Cod and great fries. Chili sauce on fish - only in NY!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank LindaPDallas_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    5
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Ted's Is The Place For Fish Frys”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

The title sums is up. I have gone to Teds since the late 1980s. The only place that competes against it as to best fish fry in the Capital District is Bob and Ron's on Central Avenue in Albany. To me, it would be a toss up between the two. If I am craving for a great fish fry, the only thing that determines would happen to be in relation to either establishment.

Atmosphere: Think fast food restaurant and that pretty well sums it up. You go to Teds for the food. Either to take out or eat in. No need to dress up to come here. Maybe...and just maybe, if you have just crawled from beneath your car repairing it, you might want to consider changing clothes and washing up a bit before hand.

Cleanliness: Very clean. While they see quite a bit of traffic (and for good reason), they keep the floors, tables and restrooms spotless.

Food, the important part: A generous fillet, lightly breaded and deep fried to perfection. Of the many times I have been there, I have never encountered an over or under cooked fry. The seasoned breading does not compete with the fish. If anything, it compliments the fish. The roll it is served on is nothing 'to write home about,' just a bead mechanism by which to serve the fish within. That is not to say that the split roll is bad or anything (actually quite good), but Ted knows that you came there to get their star attraction, the fried fish. Therefore, the roll simply serves as the stage by which the fry performs on. The fry is always much bigger than the roll, dangling off either end.

The fries are OK. Middle of the road sort. Not something to 'write home about' or 'complain to mama about' either. More or less, they are just there. Their coleslaw is outstanding! It is the medium cut type and very well balanced taste wise. A perfect compliment to the fry.

I have ate their fries sitting in, taken out to my work desk or simply in my car w/a companion parked somewhere. You cannot go wrong with a Ted's fish fry meal and all for the same price that may have been paid by swinging into a McDonalds or Burger King. They represent a great 'real food' alternative to those chain places.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EdmondLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville
Level Contributor
259 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“love the ted's fish fry!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

i grew up in north jersey and would drive up to vermont several times a year growing up in the 70s and 80s, and we always stopped at ted's fish fry - it's the best! now, to be fair, from the outside it looks like a hole in the wall and it will scare you. you'll be thinking, there's no way i am going to be eating seafood from a place like this - but you got to try it - it's some of the tastiest food you'll ever eat. (though probably not the healthiest!) it looks like an old school restaurant from the 1950s, and i'm guessing that's probably because it was built back then - it's been around that long. enough said, don't be scared! get in here and try it!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Yankeebaseball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“delish!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

best fish fry around. i don't live close to it, but i drive there just to get it, its delish!! best fries ever to. and its quick and easy to order!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Balou127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh
Level Contributor
79 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“As much as I like Arthur Treacher's...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Ted's blows them away. Been driving by the place for a long time and finally decided to give it a try. If you are in the mood for fast food - give McDs and BK a pass and check out Ted's. It's fried but the batter is tasty and light - not an oily, over-seasoned mess. I can see why they've been around so long and why they seem to have a good crowd every night.

I don't even particularly care for fish, but the Fish Fry was GREAT and the generous clam roll was a win. Both priced under $5. Basic, down-home atmosphere brought me back to the '70s (in a good way) For those passing by on their way north this ski season (or for those like me who've been driving by the place for years) give it a try. You'll dig it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DonBong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ted's Fish Fry Incorporated also viewed

 

Been to Ted's Fish Fry Incorporated? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing