We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Standard Italian fare” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lo Porto Ristorante Caffe

Lo Porto Ristorante Caffe
Ranked #13 of 206 Restaurants in Troy
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Boston MA
Level Contributor
543 reviews
313 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Standard Italian fare”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

No surprises here. Been around since the 80’s and does an adequate job of standard cuisine. Good pasta, veal so-so.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank mpd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    20
    8
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Johnsburg, New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“food was too too salty”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

I went to dinner with my wife, had different dishes, both way too salty. My wife complained and was told that no salt was added, which was untrue. She was not charged for the dish, which was nice. We were both feeling parched and dehydrated all night.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pmb55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
89 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Authentic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

We started off with the calamari with marinara sauce and a bottle of wine and fresh salads. We ordered the shrimp diablo and filet mignon and both dishes were great. Servie is excellent and the atmosphere is wonderful. Customer service is a priority, 2nd time visiting Lo Porto and we will continue to come back. Thanks for a nice evening!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DaynaLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmira, NY
Level Contributor
73 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A Hidden Treasure of Troy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

We took and impromptu visit to this restaurant while in Troy on July 2, 2013. This was truly one of the best meals I ever had in an Italian restaurant. I have the Fettucini with Con Cognac Sauce, which had onions, prosciutto, and mushrooms in a rich, pink cream sauce...OMG! The dish came out steaming hot, the portion was enormous and they kindly gave me a take home box to enjoy the next day. The service was spot on and we had a large party - no problem with anyone's order. The atmosphere is great, one that many of the large chain restaurants should take a close look at - the place is cozy and has hand painted murals on the walls. Don't let the exterior of this place fool you, it's a little dated but that is part of the whole "Lo Porto" experience!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank booknurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Try the steak au poivre!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

My husband is a big fan of steak au poivre and LoPorto's has the best! The filet mignon is 'like butter' and the portion would feed me well for several meals. Yummy pasta dishes and antipasta as well.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mimz3.14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lo Porto Ristorante Caffe also viewed

 

Been to Lo Porto Ristorante Caffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing