We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we lived closer”

Lucas Confectionery
Ranked #19 of 209 Restaurants in Troy
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Lucas Confectionery is a community gathering space featuring unique wine, craft beer, artisan coffee, along with cheese, small plates, confections and desserts. Located in the heart of historic downtown Troy, at Nº 12 Second Street, our venue is a tribute to the City of Troy's role in the Industrial Era as the interior showcases historic steel, vintage wood, and classic TROY bricks on display.
2 reviews
“Wish we lived closer”
Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

What a great place. My husband and I arrived at 10:30 on a Monday night. We soon found out that they closed at 11. We each had a wine flight and would have loved more time there. Next time we visit the Albany area we will make another stop- for sure!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ilovefood314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    24
    9
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga Springs, Ny
Level Contributor
103 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“something different”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Troy is shaping up to be the small business mecca of the capital region. Charles F. Lucas Confectionery just adds to the mix putting a little more flavor in the pot. This place is wonderful, it has the potential to be pretentious but it is not at all. It is just people that love wine serving the public. I haven't had a bad glass of wine here and the cheese plates are an excellent pairing for a fun night out.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Widgeon14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Winner for Troy”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

This was a wonderful place to meet an old friend for a Friday night drink and hors d'oeuvres. We each had a wine flight, the salad special and shared a cheese plate. Bonus -- the waitress supplied gluten free crackers in addition to the sliced bread. We sat out on the back patio after we drank on the inside decor -- lots of brick and wood. Restroom is also worth a visit. We never felt rushed and had a delightful evening. My next trip will be with the husband.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Latebloomer55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Table for 6 was available despite the fact that Riverfest was happening right outside the door. We each ordered wine and then ordered 2 cheese platters. The pairings on the platter were wonderful...nutella and blue cheese was the best! Who knew? The only negative I would say is that my husband din't really care for the Zinfandel, and asked for something sweeter. The wine brought by the waitress was even drier! Oh well, someone at the table drank it anyway. I would go back again when we are in town,

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelburne, Vermont
Level Contributor
175 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Favorite Wine Bar - ANYWHERE”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

I used to live in Troy, and might not have found this place if not for the recommendation of another restaurant owner a few blocks away. ("I love that you came here, and love having you here. But if you try another place tonight, it HAS to be Confectionery," he said. And so it was). It's hip, hot, and the place to be in Troy. and why not? Had a Brooklyn feel to the place, especially the outdoor (and semi-outdoor) patio and courtyard. A beautiful night, they had a slide show running in back, projected on the unfinished brick wall of the patio, that highlighted the place's development and construction. Place was packed, so service was a bit slow - but who CARES? Wow, to have a place this good in Troy! Great wine list, knowledgeable staff, friendly owners, nice small plates. Great spot for a date, to meet friends, "debrief" a concert or film. I will stop here EVERY time I'm back in Troy.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucas Confectionery also viewed

 

Been to Lucas Confectionery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing