We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upscale & unique”

Lucas Confectionery
Ranked #21 of 211 Restaurants in Troy
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Lucas Confectionery is a community gathering space featuring unique wine, craft beer, artisan coffee, along with cheese, small plates, confections and desserts. Located in the heart of historic downtown Troy, at Nº 12 Second Street, our venue is a tribute to the City of Troy's role in the Industrial Era as the interior showcases historic steel, vintage wood, and classic TROY bricks on display.
Albany, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Upscale & unique”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

I want to love this place but I have to be honest here. First, the good points: great atmosphere, great service by knowledgeable staff, unique and tasty food and wine/beer selections. Cheese & charcuterie samples attractively served on large pieces of slate. The bad points: extremely uncomfortable seating (small metal barstools with no back), not enough seating for groups of four, no reservations accepted, prices somewhat on the high side ($14 for a glass of wine? Really?). Menu is a bit confusing at first, portions of meats/cheeses on the sample plates are very small and the dab of jam or mustard served with them is even smaller. Overall, a fun and unique place to stop at for a glass of wine or beer and light snack with friends after work or if you're in Troy for a show or dinner somewhere else.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cher0keegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    24
    9
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“I love this place!”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

A wonderful surprise in Troy, NY! Such a charming and beautifully decorated place! They have excellent service, wine and snacks. This is my favorite place to hang out in Troy. Great conversations and libations!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautifully renovated space with an excellent wine list.”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

This newly opened wine bar in Troy NY is a beautifully renovated space, highlighting its heyday as the Lucas Confectionery and Ladies restaurant. The wine list is is interesting and moderately priced, including wine on tap. Many small plates are offered as well as wonderful cheese and charcuterie combinations which come served on pieces of slate with the names written below each selection. My friends and I tried some wine on tap and later split a bottle of wine. We sampled several different cheeses and small plates and all were quite good. A small but tempting selection of desserts are also offered and we sampled a few.. truffle, chocolate macaroon and a whoopie pie. All were very and a next sweet ending to a very enjoyable evening. A not to be missed addition to the capital district night life.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VioletTree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Eclectic Wine bar”
Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Downtown Troy needed a place like this!
Very nice inside.
The first time you go you will need a couple minutes to go through the clip board to figure everything out.(separate sheets for beer-wine-food-history-etc)
Anyway great wine/beer selection. The Cote de Rhone ($10) was great. The house zin ($6)was a bit too green for me. Husband had the hard cider and loved it.
The $25 charcuterie assortment was good. My only suggestion is that I wish there was a bit more for $25. The chef decides that you get, it's served in a slate type of shingle, items are id'd w chalk on the slate.
Husband had expresso, it was good.
Nice biscotti.
The macaroon were great, but a bit pricey at $1.50 each.
Your bill comes on an iPad , you can check a box and it automatically computes the 20% tip, if you want it to.
It's more of a wine/beer bar w light food choices.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anniecat2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“My new favorite spot, Except...”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

The wine and cheese selection are the best in the Capital Region. The atmosphere is absolutely positively wonderful. This is my new favorite spot. HOWEVER...portions need to be slightly larger for the cheese/charcuterie. Also, I don't care for the payment system of paying on an ipad.. it's very awkward having the server stand over you while you pay your bill and gratuity.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UpstateTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucas Confectionery also viewed

 

Been to Lucas Confectionery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing