We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, prices a little high, portions a little small”
Review of ILLIUM CAFE

ILLIUM CAFE
Ranked #2 of 208 Restaurants in Troy
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $18
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Casual
Burnt Hills, New York
Level Contributor
150 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Good food, prices a little high, portions a little small”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

My wife and I are not big eaters, normally having leftovers when eating out. Even so, we found the portions rather small at Illium. I ordered a full portion of scallops for $27 and received FOUR scallops on a rather large dollop of mashed potatoes. My wife also left hungry even though she'd had a large snack an hour or so before. I also ordered the Caesar salad seen on the website menu, but not on the one at the cafe, and it was basically chopped romaine lettuce with a meager grating of parmesan and dressing (for $6.95). The food did tast quite good, and was excellent quality, but I could easily have eaten 50% more. Service was OK. Sharing a single bottle of wine amongst 5 people, the bill for the two of us still came to $80.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank superchemist1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    63
    21
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Schenectady, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

Visited for brunch, amazing! Perfect Eggs Benedict, French Toast to dream of. Everything made to order, portions huge. Pleasant staff great place over all. Love it. Will visit frequently when in Troy .

Helpful?
1 Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“I know I've said it before, but....”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

You really MUST do yourself a favor and EAT HERE!! The service was excellent, the scallops were divine...perfectly cooked and so delicious!! The dessert was great, although I wish I had ordered the apple-raspberry dessert before it was SOLD OUT!!! Everyone there is so friendly and the other patrons were all enjoying themselves. I couldn't help but stretch my neck out a little to see what others had ordered....everything was presented so beautifully and I noticed that when the tables were cleared, the plates were empty!! This place is such a treat and a great place to enjoy good food, good friends and a very nice evening....or lunch, or brunch....just GO!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marty5755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somers, Connecticut
Level Contributor
154 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Labor day/ saturday brunch”
Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Asparagus and spinach omelet - large and full but a little strangely flavored. French toast - very large portion and bread extremely thick - average. Service was beyond ssslllooowwww!

A bit expensive.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DonMacL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh
Level Contributor
79 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Great choice if you find yourself in downtown Troy. Very good food, service and price. Can't think of anything bad to say about the place....Outdoor tables seem like a nice place to have a cup of coffee with a view of the Monument Square area. (Had the meatloaf sandwich. really nicely done.)

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DonBong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to ILLIUM CAFE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing