We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of ILLIUM CAFE

ILLIUM CAFE
Ranked #2 of 211 Restaurants in Troy
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $18
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Casual
Phnom Penh
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Great choice if you find yourself in downtown Troy. Very good food, service and price. Can't think of anything bad to say about the place....Outdoor tables seem like a nice place to have a cup of coffee with a view of the Monument Square area. (Had the meatloaf sandwich. really nicely done.)

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DonBong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    64
    21
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“My new favorite!”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

My daughter and I had lunch here for the first time yesterday. Our decision was based on the wonderful reviews on this site. They were all correct! This cafe is incredible and the service and food were top-notch. There are many choices in the vicinity of this cafe and I'm glad this is the one we chose. Keep up the good work.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NemomNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A great asset for Troy”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Just came back from breakfast, sitting outside at one of the sidewalk tables. Excellent eggs Benedict. I've also tried a gruyere and ham omelette that was quite good and have been here for lunch. This is a place where you want to hear the specials before you decide what you want to order. Very creative offerings in a historic setting, a real asset for the city of Troy.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MoondogNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, New York, United States
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My favorite place for breakfast in downtown Troy”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

The Illium has awesome food. I'm a local and eat here at least once a week. I'm usually in for breakfast. I recommend the eggs benedict (all kinds) and the hash is delicious. My "usual" though, is a fried egg sandwich on their English muffins with ham and smoked mozzarella. The Very Berry French Toast is gigantic (split by 2 easily), as are most of their portions like the towering meatloaf sandwich. Their specials are always really interesting and tastey with a fine-dining feel. They are now opened for dinners Thursday- Saturday, which has been great, and sell beer and wine. If you haven't been there yet, make a Saturday morning of it and visit the farmer's market while you're here.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great choice (by chance)”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We were en route to Williamstown Mass. and pulled on the main route to find a place for lunch. We chanced upon the Illum and were delighted that we did! It is on the fringe of what Troy has designated the "Antique District".

This is a very informal restaurant housed in an old building in downtown Troy. It is obviously run by a "chef" rather than a line-cook. Offerings were varied and unique. I had an open-face meatloaf sandwich that was far superior to anything that the name might imply; two pieces of an excellent meatloaf on top of a piece of "real" bread, topped with a sauteed mushroom & onion concoction. It was just excellent, (coming from someone who thinks he makes a good meatloaf himself). The frau had an also interesting sandwich.

The lunch menu is largely soups, sandwiches, salads, and paninis. Sandwiches run in the $7 to $10 range. The web site menu shows offerings and prices. They are open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. They do a lot of take out business for local offices at lunch and most of the patrons seemed to be happy local residents.

Check their web site for offerings and prices ($7-$9 range for sandwiches).

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HimselfNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to ILLIUM CAFE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing