We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel pain to commute”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Troy
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Troy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Clean hotel, friendly staff. Room was clean, including the bathroom and carpets. Only downside to this hotel is if you're commuting to albany, beware of traffic delays, and even just turning into the hotel driveway can be a 5 minute wait in traffic. There's another HGI, right across from the airport that might be better suited if you need to be in Albany.

Room Tip: 3rd floor is really the floor above lobby, ask for something higher and away from elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HungryPeople44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (777)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

692 - 698 of 777 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2013

We usually love staying in the old part of Troy. We stay at The Best Western there, however this time we thought we would give the Hilton a try. We usually love the Hilton. This time we did not. The hotel was in a very down at heel part of Troy with no redeeming features. That aside we were still hopeful. We arrived after a long drive on a freezing afternoon to find that our room was not ready at 4:00 and indeed, as the officious young lady on the front desk assured us, it probably wouldn't be ready until 5:45 at the earliest. She explained that they had a commitment to the group who were staying there. I assured her that indeed she had a commitment to us too! She said that I was free to fill out the form after our stay - - Next time we will be back at The Best Western!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suedeani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanDolanGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Troy, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Thank you for the detailed review of your stay with us. I'm sorry to see that you were disappointed. It is extremely rare for us to have to delay check-in times, and I would like to sincerely apologize. You are absolutely right; we have an obligation to all our guests, and I can understand your frustration. I would be more than happy to speak with you directly to discuss these matters further. We would love the opportunity to make it up to you the next time you are in Troy.

Sincerely,
Dan Dolan, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stayed here for the New Years Eve special package they were running for only $170.00 per couple! What an amazing value we really felt like we got our moneys worth on this trip!! Our room was spacious and beautiful, the beds were very comfortable and the room was immaculate. Front Desk staff was very very nice they even had complimentary yummy fresh cookies on the Front Desk. Had an amazing time downstairs at the Recovery Sports Grill the buffet was amazing and we had a very nice waitress all night. Really Really enjoyed our breakfast that was included with our stay it was excellent! Hilton really puts on a great breakfast. Cant wait to come back next year and book this package. Thanks again Hilton for our wonderful stay and to bring in a great New Year!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mitch E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

We recently stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn...

Good parts:
Very friendly staff, especially Shelly who was working in the dining room during breakfast when we were there
Food at breakfast
Security
Hotel looks nice, and the rooms are quiet
Price

Not- so- Good:
dirty glasses in the bathroom
dirty blanket on the bed (definitely was not washed)
location... don't plan on walking around anyplace

Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

The most impressive thing about this hotel was its service. The staff was attentive, professional and courteous. The shuttle was also available and very convenient. In addition, the food was delicious, especially the bread pudding.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Perky210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed here while in town to visit RPI with our son. The hotel is very close to campus and although it's on busy Rt. 7, it was very quiet. Our 2Q room was clean and a good size. The buffet breakfast was excellent. Didn't use the pool during our stay. We would definitely stay here again if we return to Troy in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MKEQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Hilton Garden Inn Troy is always our first choice when visiting family in the Albany area. The hotel is clean and the staff is always very nice and friendly. We have stayed here many times and have never had any issue. Just yesterday, while leaving the hotel, we left our daughter’s pillow in the room. The housekeeper came running out to the parking lot looking for us with pillow in hand. Thanks Hilton Garden Inn! We will definitely be back to the hotel again. Probably for the Thanksgiving Dinner you are advertising in the lobby.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troy
1 mi away
Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany
7.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Latham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Latham Albany Airport
4.7 mi away
The Century House, an Ascend Collection Hotel
6.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Albany
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Troy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Troy

Address: 235 Hoosick St, Troy, NY 12180-2428
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Troy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Troy
Price Range: $93 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Troy 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Troy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Troy Hotel Troy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing