We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Troy cuisine shines ”

Taste of Troy Food Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$60.40*
and up
Central Troy Historic District Walking Food Tour
Ranked #1 of 2 Food & Drink in Troy
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Taste of Troy Food Tours provides a unique opportunity to explore this beautiful downtown riverfront, while sampling foods & beverages from establishments that are helping to revitalize this historic city. 1.5mile/ 3 hour walking tour allows you to experience the vibrant culinary scene that surrounds Troy’s amazing farmers’ market and ends in time for you to shop the market.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase
Reviewed June 25, 2017 via mobile

My daughter gave me this tour for my birthday. My husband and I just went this weekend. I thought living in Troy and having been to most of the restaurants wouldn't be that interesting BUT I was wrong. It was great. We tried foods we wouldn't normally eat. We found out interesting facts about the owners of the restaurants and how they got started. Our guide was great. She knew so much about the area and food and nutrition that it made it even more interesting. So whether you live in Troy or another city you need to go and do it. Rediscover Troy!

Thank debegard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy K, Owner at Taste of Troy Food Tours, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2017

Always happy to know that the tours can still give new insights to locals, on Troy and the food scene.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"delicious food"
in 8 reviews
"walking tour"
in 5 reviews
"episcopal church"
in 5 reviews
"bagels"
in 4 reviews
"interesting facts"
in 3 reviews
"plenty to eat"
in 3 reviews
"out of towners"
in 3 reviews
"dietary needs"
in 3 reviews
"tiffany windows"
in 4 reviews
"farmers market"
in 8 reviews
"great guide"
in 2 reviews
"wide variety"
in 2 reviews
"cool city"
in 2 reviews
"highly recommend this tour"
in 2 reviews
"culinary scene"
in 2 reviews
"bread basket"
in 2 reviews
"unique tour"
in 2 reviews
Filter

51 - 55 of 73 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2017

We reached out to Taste of Troy Food Tours just over a week before we knew we would be in town. The Saturday tour was full and Amy worked with us to make a private Sunday morning tour. Even though the farmers market wasn't going on, we still ended at the waterfront and the kids played in the splash park. Amy was informative and flexible. You can tell she is a foodie. The stops on the tour were great. Psychdelicatessen was our favorite, but all stops were yummy. We had a great time as a family. Thank you for a fun and yummy event. Would recommend to both visitors and locals.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank dbspencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy K, Owner at Taste of Troy Food Tours, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2017

Thanks, I was happy to be able to offer the tour for your family. It was a pleasure having your extended family and your kids on the tour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2017 via mobile

I found this tour on TripAdvisor and decided to check it out when visiting for a weekend. It was a great introduction to the city, full of interesting history and a tasty mix of small bites from six local restaurants/breweries along the way. Also met other friendly visitors on the tour. Definitely worth while!

Thank carter0013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy K, Owner at Taste of Troy Food Tours, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2017

Greg thanks for crossing the "border" to check out Troy and my food tour. I hope it has whetted your appetite to explore Troy more!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2017

This 3 hour walking tour combines delicious tastings with historical facts about the city and local establishments, interesting architecture, art and culture. The stops are well spaced out and leave one pleasantly satiated with food and beverage. The tastings are carefully thought out, starting with a breakfast bagel, followed by tea, then a lunch salad and corned beef/cabbage (no corned beef for me), then a flight of beer with bbque wings (bbque cauliflower for us), and finishing with donuts. All prepared by highly rated chefs at top notch restaurants and shops.
A visit to St. Paul's Episcopal Church with all its Tiffany glass splendor is a special treat along the walk. Upon completion of the tour, one has time to visit and shop at the farmers' market. Amy is extremely professional and informative. She accommodates all food preferences. I highly recommend this tour if you are visiting Troy. You won't be disappointed!

Thank KCTravelee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy K, Owner at Taste of Troy Food Tours, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2017

So glad you travelled upstate to check out Troy. Thanks for being an appreciative guest!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2016

I thought I knew Troy from my college years. Boy was I wrong! Troy has renovated, cleaned up and become an exciting food and historical town.
Amy made Troy come alive in both Victorian times and modern times. I learned a great deal I did not know about the city's prime. We saw the amazing architecture from its' wealthy days and Tiffany glass in a St. Paul's church. Beside the architecture and all the new shops, there were the restaurants. We had some wonderful tastes at non-chain restaurants and I'm planning my return already.
Amy has done her research and developed a great relationship with many of the owners and chefs in town. Her knowledge of the history of the area added color to the tour. The icing on the cake was visiting the Troy Farmers Market. I will be taking the tour again next year.

Thank momsdacook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy K, Owner at Taste of Troy Food Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2016

I am so glad that you enjoyed the tour and got to see and taste Troy in a new light. Hard to believe that I won't be having tours for the next few months, but lots of behind the scenes work to be done to get ready for May 6th, first tour of 2017. Would love to have you back on the tour next season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Taste of Troy Food Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing