We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Clean but nothing more.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of CenterWay Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
CenterWay Hotel
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Tonawanda
Millbrook
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Clean but nothing more.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

I tend to be positive in my reviews - my expectation is based on price and generally realistic. However, there are certain amenities that should be included at any price or star rating, and this place is lacking some of the most basic features. I will start by saying that the room was clean. Beyond that there was little else. No coffee maker in the room. No shampoo in any rooms (OK, I don't need conditioner of face cream, but no shampoo?) The room was tiny and the bed was moderately comfortable, but I believe this place is a wood structure and not well insulated. You can hear every little sound from the floor above. So book a second (which is the top) floor if you want a good sleep. The "breakfast included" is very misleading. It's not even a real continental breakfast. Example: no fruit, not even juice, and only whitener, not cream, for the coffee!

Room Tip: Second floor ( at the end if possible) for quiter sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Neil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    57
    34
    10
    6
See reviews for
23
60
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
95 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

Well located halfway between Fasion Outlet Mall and Walden Galleria. Clean, basic, unpretentious, practical and cheap. Everything works. Ice machine operated by room card (hygienic). Simple continental breakfast included - should have fruit & better selection of jams & marmalades. Lots of parking close to room. Friendly staff. Don't waste your money on other hotels with amenities you won't use.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
114 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed in this hotel once a year now for years and it is gradually going downhill. It used to be a Microtel - so 2 adults is about all you are going to get into a room. Rooms are becoming dated now, but hey, the price is pretty good. Breakfast is meager - but adequate - expect only carbohydrates - no protein or fruit, but it is adequate. Staff is friendly and room was reasonably clean. Shower had a bit of mildew and bathroom had a couple of stray hairs.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
89 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

We wanted a one night, no frills, stay near Niagara Falls on Memorial Weekend as we had tickets for a show at Seneca Casino. All the hotels close y the casino were $220 and up and that was for the Econo Lodge!
We just needed a room that was clean to lay our heads for the remainder of the night...we came across the Center Way Hotel on a hotel booking site and grabbed a room for about $87.00
The reviews were spot on. The place was just off the highway, so convenient with friendly staff who made us feel right at home and welcome. Breakfast was the typical continental offerings but the place was clean, quiet, and suited our needs perfectly.
Rooms are very small, but great for one night.
We booked it again for another night in a couple weeks for another Buffalo concert coming up. The staff told us to book directly with the hotel for even more cost savings and have a "800" number as well.
Will be going back again and again as it is well situated for our cross border needs.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TeeZeeOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Stayed overnight for a winter get away..The rooms are small ,but clean and comfortable..Perfect for our needs for the evening..There was internet access and continental breakfast in the morning..Will stay there again when we come to the Golf Dome...

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Travelgolfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaughan, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

I was traveling to Buffalo, NY on a group tour. We stayed at the Center Way Hotel and we couldn't be more happy with the level of service and friendliness of everyone who works there. When we arrived they threw us a wine and cheese party, which, after being on a bus so long was really wonderful.

The rooms are very basic (think university dorm) but they are clean and have everything you need for a comfortable short stay. They offer a nice breakfast in the morning (toast, bagels, pastry, cereal, coffee and juice). All in all, if you come for a short shopping trip this is a good place to stay. It's not too far from the outlet malls and the Walden Galleria and the price is very reasonable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartsville, SC
Level Contributor
199 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 289 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

My wife and I flew into Buffalo and drove up to Canada for a wine festival. On the way back, we needed a hotel and ended up here.

The value is excellent. Low cost, clean, good service.

I've read that some say the location is okay. It is easy to find, but really, really out of the way and somewhat isolated. I wasn't worried for my safety, so that's not an issue. But it was quite strange, with a few apartment buildings nearby.

This was a Microtel at some point. The signs are still up on interior doors. Keep that in mind when you are considering the room size. Quite small. Additionally, the rooms are definitely in need of updating. The carpet was rolling up in certain spots. Large tube television.

But all-in-all, I would stay again. Based on the cost (when compared to other nearby hotels), definitely.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tonawanda
2.4 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#7 of 17 in Amherst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
3.6 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst
2.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#14 of 17 in Amherst
3.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Buffalo-Amherst
2.3 mi away
Extended Stay America - Buffalo - Amherst
2.2 mi away
Days Inn Tonawanda/buffalo
Days Inn Tonawanda/buffalo
#3 of 13 in Tonawanda
3.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CenterWay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CenterWay Hotel

Property: CenterWay Hotel
Address: 225 Crestmount Ave, Buffalo, NY, Tonawanda, NY 14150-6310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Tonawanda
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Tonawanda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — CenterWay Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
24-Hour Front Desk. Complimentary Continental breakfast. Non-smoking Rooms available. In-Room-Safe, Heating, Air Conditioning, cable TV and phone services in every Room. Free local and long distance calls in the USA and Canada. For the convenience of those that may be allergic to pets we maintain a "pet free" environment. Pets are not allowed. Wi-Fi is available in all areas and in-rooms, it is at no charge. Wired internet is available in some hotel rooms. Free Guest parking on site (reservation is not needed). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your CenterWay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing