We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay stay for such money”
Review of CenterWay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
CenterWay Hotel
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Tonawanda
Reviewed January 3, 2008

Stayed in this Microtel Inn for a night just right before the end of 2007. It was a okay stay and Mike worked at the front desk was helpful. There was no hair dryer in ther bathroom and I went out to ask for one, Mike even asked if I even needed any shampoo.

Room was small, just a typical Microtel Inn guestroom and was located downstair without us hauling the lugguages up to the second floor. Wifi signal was ok but it could be better I believed if we were located at the second floor. Didn't try out the breakfast as we woke up late the next morning and phone was rung right a few minutes right after 11am (check-out time) and we were reminded it's time to check-out.

Over all it was a good place to stay with less than $90/night around the New Year time frame. Will go back if cannot find any better deal next time in the area.

p.s. it provides FREE long distance throughout Canada and U.S.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JDMEvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 146 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2006

I hesitate to leave a good review for Microtel because I don't want to make it harder on me to get reservations in the future! A friend of mine told me about Microtel and I decided to give them a go with my latest trip to Niagara Falls.

I go to Niagara Falls a couple times a year and could never find a decent place to stay for the money. Sure, they have upscale places, but I don't want to spend a lot of money for a room I will barely be in except to sleep. And they have cheaper chains as well, but one or two bad experiences made me gun shy. So when my friend suggested Microtel, I thought I'd give it a go.

I was greatly pleased. The room was indeed quite small...barely enough room for the king-size bed. But I didn't care. I just needed a quiet, clean place to sleep and that's what I got. Free Internet access was a plus. Plenty of channels on the TV. Room was clean...people were friendly. It's about 20 minutes from Niagara Falls, so you can't walk out your door and be at the Falls. But for the cheap rate (about $42 after AAA discount and before taxes), I'll drive the 20 minutes.

Bottom line, this is a great place to stay if all you want is a small room with a bed and bathroom and aren't planning on spending a lot of time in your room. Nothing fancy...just a basic, clean hotel room.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Snickers99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2006

Having stayed at other Microtels before, I knew what to expect -- a small room low on amenities, but generally clean. This Inn certainly delivered on those expectations, although it wasn't as nice as other Microtels I have visited.

The price was actually quite high for a Microtel - after tax it was US $103/~Cdn $115. However, it was both the Canadian/US long weekends, so relatively speaking, it was one of the lowest-priced options in the Buffalo area (normally the rooms can go for as low as US $55 + tax, vs. the US$89 we paid).

The location is just off the highway, so relatively convenient and very close to the Niagara Falls area. Our room was quite tiny with a fairly comfortable Queen bed, medium-sized closet with TV perched on top, small wall-mounted desk/writing area, and padded window seat (which, in a pinch, could probably serve as a bed for a small child). The bathroom was also small with very little counter space and no toiletries except for a bar of soap. The heating/AC unit was pretty noisy, so I had to switch it off at night. The room decor was mid-1980s pink and green with a giant wall of mirrors behind the bed (perhaps an attempt to visually enlarge the space?).

Continental breakfast is included which consisted of a fend-for-yourself small kitchen with pre-packaged muffins and bagels (which you could toast), cream cheese, margarine, orange juice and coffee. Other Microtels I have stayed in offered the same, but also jam, and fresh milk and cream, so this was a bit of a disappointment. The separate eating room was very dirty and smelled extremely unpleasant (perhaps from the soiled furniture that clearly had not been cleaned in years?!).

Overall, I got slightly less than I expected. However, if you're on a budget and just looking for an extremely low-frills place to stay overnight, Microtels are always a fair option.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Moops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2005

I stopped on the way back from Toronto. I used one of those coupons you find in the service areas. The room was basic, very clean, kind of on the small side, but being alone, it was fine. One amenity is free domestic long distance calls. Good selection of cable too. I would have given the hotel 4 marks, but when checking out, I found I was charged $1.00 for a safe I never knew existed. I was told I had initialed the registration form about the safe. I was never told that. Not a big deal, but a little diseption. Other then that, for the price, I would stay here again.

8  Thank NY11373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2004

Looking for a hotel room that had high speed internet and was told on the phone that they had just what we needed.

We checked in to find that their name "Microtel" really does mean "micro" - SMALL!! The room was a 6 x 6 box (if that big) that was so small that the TV was put UP on the wall in a corner! There was no place to plug in the PC to work off of so we asked for a bigger room... gosh, for $10 more we got a room that was 7 x 7 with a coffeemaker!!!! The kicker was that their "larger" rooms don't have internet!

The bed was a rock! I would suggest you find another hotel (unless you need a shoe box to sleep in and won't be in the room, but a few minutes each day and won't need to use your PC).

7  Thank Debra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael U, Manager at CenterWay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derk84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael U, Manager at CenterWay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tonawanda
3.7 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst
2.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel Niagara Falls - Grand Island
8.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Buffalo - Amherst
2.5 mi away
Extended Stay America - Buffalo - Amherst
2.5 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#11 of 17 in Amherst
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CenterWay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CenterWay Hotel

Address: 225 Crestmount Ave, Buffalo, NY, Tonawanda, NY 14150-6310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Tonawanda
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Tonawanda
Price Range: $63 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — CenterWay Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
24-Hour Front Desk. Complimentary Continental breakfast. Non-smoking Rooms available. In-Room-Safe, Heating, Air Conditioning, cable TV and phone services in every Room. Free local and long distance calls in the USA and Canada. For the convenience of those that may be allergic to pets we maintain a "pet free" environment. Pets are not allowed. Wi-Fi is available in all areas and in-rooms, it is at no charge. Wired internet is available in some hotel rooms. Free Guest parking on site (reservation is not needed). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your CenterWay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing