We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for purpose”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Econo Lodge Tonawanda
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Tonawanda
Reviewed February 14, 2011

All we wanted was a place to stay over Black Friday that wouldn't bust the bank. We got what we paid for and actually stayed an extra unplanned night. Desk staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Torontax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 72 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2010

It was my first time expiriencing the Choice Hotel brand "Econo Lodge", and it was a great stay. The front desk staff were friendly people. the room was convienient, with a fridge, microwave, and LCD HDTV!!. The beds were comfortable as well. I was skeptical on staying here because of the horrible reviews, but I gave it a chance and it turned out great this hotel seemed to have went through a transformation and now it just needs customers to give it another chance!! =)

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SRooney92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2010

I stayed Sept.13 - 26, room 131 then 114. I really enjoyed the stay. Very clean and the staff was very attentive including the housekeepers and the whole staff. I checked out at 4:30 am and was greeted by I believe by the owner. There is a doorbell in the office and I rang it and was tended to in seconds. The stories about bed bugs, welts and smell, sound like nonsense perhaps bitten during the day. I am sure I will be back there within a year. Thanks to all of you...

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ceasar1222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2010

This motel is rated by AAA as 2-star, but I would give it 0. The woman at the desk asked my name (for reservation), end of conversation. The towels were small, thin and ragged; no extra toilet paper, no Kleenex, bed was okay and it seemed clean enough. The next morning we were ready to go and the office was still locked - no access to ice or coffee or checkout. We waited until 6:50 and left. It was also the most expensive place we stayed in on a 3000 mile trip. AAA needs to review them again!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NorwegianStPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
econolodgetonawanda, Webmaster at Econo Lodge Tonawanda, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

Dear Guest,

Let me thank you for choosing the Econo Lodge, for your recent stay.

We thank and appreciate your review and take it quite seriously.

This is to inform you that based on your review, the following actions were taken:

The hotel front desk staffs have received effective training for better communication and to avoid similar situations, ensuring a guest friendly hospitality and service.

The Management and housekeeping were spoken to about the quality and scarcity of linens and toiletries .Steps has been taken to ensure a high level of cleanliness and hygiene.

We request you to make a note of these and hope that the next time you visit our area, you will certainly feel the changes and once again choose to stay with us.

We expect you back soon!

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2010

We already felt uncomfortable about staying here when we first arrived. We went and bought a comforter so we didn't have to touch the bed. We woke up in the morning to find little red bugs all over the bed and blood stains on the sheets. It was the worst experience! We told the hotel management and they said, "Oh, we will have a look. Thank you!" Needless to say, we did not stay for the free breakfast!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelqueen1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
econolodgetonawanda, Webmaster at Econo Lodge Tonawanda, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Econo Lodge, for your recent stay in our area.

We have noted your review and appreciate the same. We take it quite seriously.

Upon receipt of your review, the following actions were taken:

The Management and the housekeeping staff were spoken to about the quality of the bed linen and also steps has been taken to ensure a high level of pest control effectiveness, cleanliness and hygiene.

We are sure the next time you visit our area, you will certainly choose our hotel to feel and appreciate the changes.

We look forward your next visit.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2010

Friends booked over phone from Canada and told a "special price" of $99 for room. Upon arrival in new york, desk staff said $150 for room and go try to find another room in the area because everything is booked! They knew there was no other choice. Constant curry smell everywhere from staff eating. Went for continental breakfast lots of time before scheduled closing and only 1 muffin left, no coffee! Asked staff if they would re-fill the food and coffee and they rudely said No, No more! When returning home and receiving bill from Visa, Econolodge staff charged for 2 rooms and 2 different prices. When calling them about the mistake, they actually said disputed which room was booked and stayed in and they just kept putting phone on hold! They then said the charges are correct and they weren't going to change it. BEWARE of this hotel!! They are billing illegally. We will pass the word to as many Canadians of this unfair practice as possible!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank canspirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
econolodgetonawanda, Webmaster at Econo Lodge Tonawanda, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

Dear Guest,

We thank you for choosing the Econo Lodge, Tonawanda for your recent stay .

We appreciate your review and take your observations with due seriousness and concern.

Upon receipt of your review, the following actions were taken:

• The reservation system is update that there are no more billing errors or confusions. We are investigating that unlikely incident however. The hotel staff have been given training to prevent such situations and about ensuring a guest friendly hospitality.

• We have ensured that the kitchen and coffee shop are well stocked and well maintained.

We are sure the next time you visit our area, you will certainly appreciate the efforts and once again choose to stay with us and experience the change.

We request you to choose our hotel once again during your next visit and experience the changes.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2010

We stayed at this motel Fri June 11/10 and woke up with welts on our body's the next morning again!
I say again because the last time we stayed at this placelast fall and the same thing happened but we thought that it was something else but to happen twice at the same place there has to be something wrong!
I have pictures to show what has happen to my wife and will send them on request. We are not sure if it is something that they use to wash the sheets or if it is something they use to clean the room or bugs?????
We have noticed that on reviews of this motel (Econo Lodge (NY278) 2000 Niagara Falls Blvd., Tonawanda, NY, US, 14150) some have said that they were bitten by bed bugs also.
To pay $80.00 and to wake up with this problem is not acceptable.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gslack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
econolodgetonawanda, Webmaster at Econo Lodge Tonawanda, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel and for the review.

Your review and observations are important to us.

We have investigated the most unlikely incident as mentioned in the review and would like to state that we have taken the following steps.

The housekeeping and maintenance staff have been given special training to take care of such incidence and to give special attention to the cleanliness, hygiene and amenities of the rooms and a dedicated hospitality.

Please choose us for your next stay and we are sure that you will enjoy a nice stay and a new experience. Thanks to you again.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tonawanda
2.3 mi away
CenterWay Hotel
CenterWay Hotel
#1 of 13 in Tonawanda
146 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#13 of 17 in Amherst
71 reviews
3.8 mi away
Radisson Hotel Niagara Falls - Grand Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#10 of 17 in Amherst
272 reviews
0.4 mi away
Extended Stay America - Buffalo - Amherst
8.1 mi away
Best Western - On The Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Tonawanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Tonawanda

Address: 2000 Niagara Falls Blvd, Tonawanda, NY 14150-5545 (Formerly Grand Motor Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Tonawanda
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Tonawanda
Price Range: $49 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Tonawanda 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UNDER NEW MANAGEMENT - We offer the following NEWLY UPDATED areas include Lobby, Breakfast Area and Guest Rooms. We offer a FREE Deluxe continental breakfast including Hot waffles with each and every stay. We also have FREE WiFi throughout our property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Econo Lodge Tonawanda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tonawanda Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing