We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty, fleas, a/c didn't work, internet didn't work, unfriendly staff... never again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge Tonawanda
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Tonawanda
Reviewed August 20, 2009

I will never stay at another Econo lodge again. The price is okay but you get what you pay for. We had fleas in our bed, the a/c didn't work, the free internet didn't work at all, the room was dirty and smelled, the staff was unfriendly. We told them we couldn't stay here because it was horrible. They refused to give money back. We had to find another hotel to stay at that night. It was the worst trip ever. I do not recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lauralynn08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
econolodgetonawanda, Webmaster at Econo Lodge Tonawanda, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Econo Lodge, for your recent stay in our area.

We appreciate your review and we take it as a serious observation towards improvement.

Please be informed that upon receipt of your review, we have taken the following steps:

a) Both the management and the housekeeping staff were spoken to about the quality of the bed linen and also steps have been taken to ensure a high level of pest control effectiveness, cleanliness and hygiene.

b) Special training has been imparted to the Front Office Hotel staff towards better guest services.

We hope the next time you visit our area, would like to choose our hotel to feel and appreciate the changes.

We look forward your next visit.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 72 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2009

First stay was ok, booked on line for $59 plus taxes on a Wed. Second stay on the way home a week later on Thur, just stopped in and paid $79 plus taxes. Same room could have been booked online for $69. When I asked about the difference, a tough luck shoulder shrug was all I got. Will never stay here again!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wataview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
econolodgetonawanda, Webmaster at Econo Lodge Tonawanda, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent stay in our area.

We appreciate your review and we take it quite seriously.

This is to inform you have that we track out the exact happening, but have taken steps to avoid such an incidence in future. Also special training has been imparted to the reservations department and front office hotel staff towards better guest services.

We hope the next time you visit our area, would like to choose our hotel and appreciate the changes.

We look forward your next visit.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2009

We were very unhappy with this hotel. The staff checking us in seemed preoccupied even though there were no other customers in the lobby. Our room had several maintenance issues, including a leaky roof and walls that had clearly been patched but never repainted. There was a puddle of water on the sink and floor from the leaky roof. The shower drain was backed up and the water collected in the tub while the shower ran. The continental breakfast was horrible--we arrived at 8 am and there was only one slice of bread, raisin bran, and warm milk and juice. The tables were dirty even though the staff was sitting nearby listening to an mp3 player. We ended up tossing our breakfast and going to a restaurant across the street. As we checked out the staff was hitting on me and making inappropriate comments. We didn't have high expectations for the price, but we had at least hoped for a clean room and decent service. We will certainly never stay here again and we would not recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank viajero64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
econolodgetonawanda, Webmaster at Econo Lodge Tonawanda, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Econo Lodge, for your recent stay in our area in NY.

We appreciate your review and we take it as a serious observation towards improvement.

Please be informed that upon receipt of your review, we have taken the following steps:

a) The management and housekeeping department have resolved all the issues related to the leakages and other upkeep related matters.

b) Please accept our apologies for your comments related to the breakfast. We have certainly looked into it and have ensured that it will be a filling and delicious affair.

c) Special training has been imparted to the Front Office Hotel staff towards better guest services and hospitality.

The next time you visit our area, we are sure, you would like to choose our hotel to feel and appreciate the changes.

We welcome you once again !.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2009

I play on a sports team and we booked several rooms at this hotel so we could stay over night after a match.
The location is good and the price is right $55 including tax for a non-smoking room with 2 double beds, for 2 people.
A fridge and microwave were bonuses.
It was quieter than I thought and we were quite happy, especially for the price. There was also a flat screen tv which was a surprise.
Downsides: My bedspread looked pretty worn and unwashed for some time, but I never touch the bedspreads in hotels anyway. Housekeeping could be better. We had no soap in the room. When I wanted to take a shower I went to the front desk to ask for some. The hotel desk person told me they'd go get some and come to my room. I waited but no one came and no soap was left at the door.

When I got home, I realized I was itchy and have about 40 bed bug bites on my arms, neck, legs and back. I was overall happy with our stay for the price but this is a real bummer. I've never had bed bug bites before.
I would not choose to go back here because of this. I have contacted the Choice Hotels toreport it and I guess if I stayed here again would depend on their response.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ayapua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
econolodgetonawanda, Webmaster at Econo Lodge Tonawanda, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Econo Lodge, for your recent stay in our area.

It was great of you to point out the positives you experienced with the location, price and the amenities.

We appreciate your review and we take it as a serious observation towards improvement.

Please be informed that upon receipt of your review, we have taken the following steps:

a) Both the management and the housekeeping staff were spoken to about the quality of the bed linen and also steps have been taken to ensure a high level of pest control effectiveness, cleanliness and hygiene.

b) The Hotel staff towards better room and guest services along with a good hospitality.

The next time you visit our area, we are sure, you would like to choose our hotel to feel and appreciate the changes.

We look forward your next visit! .

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2008

Pros:
Location is great for shopping.....just minutes from all the major shopping areas in each direction.
Microwave and fridge in every room.....great for bringing food to cut costs on eating out.
Large flat screen tv on the wall.
Room with 2 dbl beds was under $60 a night.
Cons:
Staff is not friendly or personable.
Continental breakfast is a joke.....packaged blueberry muffins, frosted flakes cereal, milk, juice, coffee, tea....thats it.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovejr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, General Manager at Econo Lodge Tonawanda, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

thanks for for your past stay we are under new managment please try us again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2008

Would never come back!!! Room smelled musty. We were way overcharged for a Holiday weekend!!!

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank kfinlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
econolodgetonawanda, Webmaster at Econo Lodge Tonawanda, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Econo Lodge, for your recent stay in our area in NY.

We appreciate your review and we take it as a serious observation towards improvement.

We are sorry for the housekeeping issues you experienced during your stay.

Please be informed that upon receipt of your review, we have taken the following steps:

a) The management and housekeeping department have resolved all the issues related to the maintenance of the rooms.

b) We could not track the overcharge issue, but special training has been imparted to the Hotel staff towards better guest services and hospitality.

We are sure, you would like to choose our hotel to feel and appreciate the changes during your next visit.

We welcome you once again!

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2007

Our stay was quite pleasant. We did not any complaints. The staff performance was friendly. We would most likely stay at this Econo Lodge again. I reccommend that everyone should check it out especially because their rates are quite reasonable.

Stayed: July 2007
1  Thank gogaogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tonawanda
0.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#13 of 17 in Amherst
71 reviews
2.3 mi away
CenterWay Hotel
CenterWay Hotel
#1 of 13 in Tonawanda
147 reviews
0.4 mi away
Extended Stay America - Buffalo - Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#11 of 17 in Amherst
276 reviews
3.8 mi away
Radisson Hotel Niagara Falls - Grand Island
1.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Buffalo - Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Tonawanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Tonawanda

Address: 2000 Niagara Falls Blvd, Tonawanda, NY 14150-5545 (Formerly Grand Motor Inn)
Location: United States > New York > Tonawanda
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Tonawanda
Price Range: $49 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Tonawanda 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UNDER NEW MANAGEMENT - We offer the following NEWLY UPDATED areas include Lobby, Breakfast Area and Guest Rooms. We offer a FREE Deluxe continental breakfast including Hot waffles with each and every stay. We also have FREE WiFi throughout our property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Tonawanda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tonawanda Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing