We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant stay and would return”
Review of Riverside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riverside Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Branston
A Sunny Island
Level Contributor
159 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay and would return”
Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

We paid £40 B and B for 2 people. Wasn't really sure what to expect for the price we paid. Overall we had a lovely stay and would come back. I booked through booking.com the day before our stay requests river view would be lovely and an easy accessible room, simply requested these as I have mobility problem. When we arrived check in was quick but slightly abrupt. Pre authorisation of £10 taken on cc. Room 8 ground floor partial view of river and swans in the distance. In the room good size flat screen tv. Very comfy double bed, great nights sleep. Extra pillows in the wardrobe. Opening window that fully opens and an inner one with mesh to keep the bitters out! Ceiling light and one bedside lamp one bedside cabinet no room for a second as it would mean limited access to bathroom door. Small wardrobe a few hangers not a problem as stayed overnight. tea, coffee, hot chocolate and two packets of biscuits. There was a hair dryer and fan. There is a desk and a chair. The facilities of the room I thought were great and appreciated the biscuits a nice gesture. Bathroom body come hand wash and body lotion supplied. Full size bath, shower fixed head type. My only criticism about the bathroom is the positioning of the toilet between the bath and a wall, it's quite a tight space. The bathroom itself is a good size. Window can't be opened due to the height of it but there is a fan when you turn on the bathroom light.

Dinner. Well having waited approx 20 mins at the bar to be served where the lady only seemed to serve the men, I walked away found another member of staff and asked to be seated in the restaurant. That was full or reservations for tables, but she did find us a table. The waitress we had was very pleasant, don't know her name but it was her first day. Menu you can have 2 mains for £9.99 we didn't have this menu. My husband had sirloin steak and ice cream, I had Stilton grape and apple salad, side orders chips for me and onion rings for him, desert cheesecake, 2 drinks bill £40. Food was good. My salad was missing the soya beans. Service friendly. They could do with an extra member of staff on during the busy times, as the lady who checked us in was also a waitress, who looked rather unwell i noticed during the evening. Breakfast. Tea or coffee and toast. Help yourself to muffins, juices, cereals, fruit, yoghurt. Cooked breakfast lots of options. He had full English I had scrambled egg with smoked salmon and grilled tomato. Good sized portions. Served by Natalie very friendly and chatty. We were offered more tea and toast.there is a lovely garden with views of the river. We stayed here for one night as visiting relatives in Burton. We will stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank quillingartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to let future guests know about the hotel. I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and would stay again. I'll have a word with my bar lady today and ensure that she serves our customers in the correct order going forward. Thank you for the lovely picture that you took of the hotel, I'm sure future guests will really appreciate a sneak preview of The Riverside. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    138
    85
    44
    39
See reviews for
113
202
17
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chorley
Level Contributor
111 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014

The Riverside is a cheap enough place to stay and you really need to remember this when you get into the bedrooms. Yes they are clean, but they are small, basic, old fashioned (but without charm) and a little shabby. The beds aren’t the most comfortable I’ve ever slept in, but I’ve stayed in much worse. The somewhat dangerous looking three pugs into one adaptor looked a little dubious and the toilet is so close to the wall and bath that some people simply wouldn’t fit. The main issue is not easily rectified though; it’s a 1970’s built pub with a set of box like rooms stuck on the side. Sadly now feeling its age, as with all of us 70’s children.
At £50 per night though some may prefer it to a Travelodge/Premier Inn (which cannot be had in Burton for that money).

The pub and its fare is pretty standard UK value pub chain offering and not really worth commenting on; edible, but no awards anytime soon.

I do have to mention all the staff though. From reception to bar to restaurant, all were very friendly pleasant and a credit to the manager and Pub Co.

Would I stay again? If had to, yes.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KnightGuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm so please to hear that you found my tream to be very friendly, pleasant and a credit to me. We always try our hardest to impress our customers so where we can make an impact on our customers with great service and clean rooms we always aim to deliver this. I'm sorry to hear that you did not find our beds comfortable, so I'll go try the bed out tomorrow, as soon as todays guests leave to see if perhaps the mattress needs replacing, as we usually get rave reviews about the comfort of our beds. I'm glad we could return your teddy to you!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here overnight and found the rooms very clean and spacious. Dinner was lovely in the restaurant, the staff were awesome. Great sense of humour and breakfast was very nice too, the buffet was a little small if you didn't want a cooked breakfast, but the cooked breakfast was lovely Great location for a relaxed overnight stay. Very quiet

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Valerie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to let us and others know about your stay. I'm so pleased to hear that you found our rooms to be very clean and spacious and that you enjoyed your dinnder with us. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are back in the UK.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014

We stayed for 7 nights from 5th May 2014 and were booked in by a very helpful receptionist. All the staff were helpful, attentive and polite. The breakfast was excellent and dinners of what I will call pub grub were served on time and were well cooked.
The location, on the banks of a tranquil river Trent with riverside paths that are easy to access is very pleasant.
We had room 20, which had a view of the river. This room was small with a very small ensuite bathroom. Whilst it would have been nice to have a bit more space, once we were organised, it was adequate. The bed room seemed clean but the floor of the bathroom was dirty when we arrived, though this was quickly sorted by the housekeeper when her attention was drawn to it.
We enjoyed the atmosphere of the place and the service given by all members of staff was excellent. Larger bedrooms and bathrooms would have been nice but would require a complete rebuild of the accommodation.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaspianEastSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at The Riverside and for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that you found my team to be helpful, attentive and polite and that you enjoyed your meals. We do have a lovely location hear on the river and I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed the walks along the river.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings
Level Contributor
106 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Although owned by a chain, this hotel has the ambience of a privately owned hotel. The staff are all extremely friendly and helpful. The location is great, at the end of a residential cul-de-sac in a quiet village and on the banks of the tranquil River Trent. Yet just 2 miles from central Burton. There is a large beer garden with flat access from the bar. The riverside path is easily accessible with walks across fields to hand. The menu is good with excellent value meals available. There is a good selection of beer, wines and spirits at the bar. The only reason I give 4 out of 5 is the bedroom. The bedrooms need some investment from the owners, there is a distinct feel of travelling back in time to 1970's with the ensuite bathroom. But this is minor. If you are visitng the East Midlands and looking for a great place to stay this is a must.

Room Tip: Ask for an 1st floor room, you get a view of the river and fields
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ianmantel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for letting us know about your experience. I'm so pleased to hear that you had good stay and that your found my team to be extremely friendly and helpful. We are currently updating our bedrooms, one at a time, ourselves and we should have modernized all of the rooms by the end of summer, so next time you stay you will not feel transported back to the 70's. We do hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

We took advantage of a complimentary night following a less than satisfactory experience at another Old English Inn. This made up for that! All the staff were excellent, attentive and polite and smartly dressed (not always so in these days of dumming down!). We enjoyed Room 24, which had a view of the river and was spacious with a luxury bathroom. Despite a busier than expected dining room due to the hot weather the staff coped admirably and our meals were served in a timely manner. Well recommended.

Room Tip: If you go the extra, book room 24.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolm S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. My team and I love to read our guests comments so we really appreciate you taking the time out of your busy day to let us know how we are doing. I'm so pleased to hear that you found my team to be excellent, attentive and polite, and yes, I agree, people should always be smartly dressed when at work. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Riverside in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Arrived on Friday and we were quickly checked in by a knowledgeable and friendly receptionist who left the desk to show us around.
The room was clean and comfortable although a little on the small side. Only four hangers in the wardrobe!
All meals well cooked and presented and swiftly served although there appeared to be a shortage of staff behind the bar on Sunday night. The Chef appeared and soon sorted everything out!
The grounds and gardens are so beautiful and there are wonderful walks along the river right from the door.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerwithSharPei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to let us know about your visit, my team do love to read the reviews that we get. I'm so very pleased to hear that you found my team to be friendly and efficient and that you enjoyed your meals with us. My gardener will be planting our summer flowers in the next few weeks, so you'll have to come back later in the summer to see our gardens looking even more beautiful. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Branston
4.1 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
4.5 mi away
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
#3 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
#7 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-...
#6 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Burton On Trent Central Hotel
Premier Inn Burton On Trent Cent...
#2 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Grail Court Hotel
The Grail Court Hotel
#11 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel

Property: Riverside Hotel
Address: Riverside Drive, Branston, Burton upon Trent DE14 3EP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Burton upon Trent > Branston
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Branston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sky packages in rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing