We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Riverside Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$76
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$67
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Burton A38 Northbound(Barton under Needwood)(Great Value!)
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
The Grail Court Hotel(Burton upon Trent)
$63
$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Burton Upon Trent Central Hotel(Burton upon Trent)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge(Burton upon Trent)(Great Value!)
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Burton A38 Southbound(Burton upon Trent)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$65
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dovecliff Hall Hotel(Burton upon Trent)
$101
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (534)
Filter reviews
534 results
Traveler rating
196
157
91
49
41
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
196
157
91
49
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverlovely locationevening buffetsuperior roomfull englishwedding partybridal suitebooked a tableold english innsfood was lovelycooked breakfastwould stay againwedding breakfastshort breakwedding receptioncourse mealsalmon
Filter
Updating list...
432 - 437 of 534 reviews
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Firstlyi would like to say that £55 for a room for 2 for the night was very good value. Breakfast was very good indeed. One of the best breakfasts I have had In a hotel. Really excellent selection and the waitress was lovely. Rooms are a bit small and a bit tired. Certain areas needed work. window frames grubby, tiling and bath needing filling etc. Shower was a bit dodgy, I had a lovely shower but my friends was cold. we were in room 5 and seemed the nicest some other rooms had damp etc. food in bar and at party was excellent. Rooms warm etc, towels a bit small. Overall definitely recommend just think they need to look critically at the rooms. Lovely setting

Room Tip: Room 5 was good although just by door so potential to be noisy, it wasn't though!!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joringer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Thank you for your very kind feedback, we appreciate what you have told us & will be passing all of your comments onto the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

My Wife and I stayed 4 days from 27th thru 30th December 2012.
The hotel does benefit from a very good location and its management, staff, and food are very good and it would be very hard to find any faults in these departments, Eva at breakfast is a guests dream.
The downside of the Riverside is the accomodation/rooms which although clean and tidy need some serious updating in all aspects.
Although we would definitely return to the Riverside, we would determine the time of year if we were staying, as the rooms in there current condition are quite noisy and when the garden is open an early night would be probably impossible.
The manager of the hotel, who has only recently taken over these premises does appear to be looking to quickly upgrade the accommodations, hopefully the Company/Group will let the improvements be carried out properly and to a good standard.
Tony/Valerie, Fareham, Hampshire.

Room Tip: I understand the hotel has two higher grade rooms.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tony b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Thank you Tony and Valerie for spending a few days with us here at The Riverside Hotel, we really enjoyed your company, and trust that you had a great New Year. It's always great to get feedback from our customers to share with the team and we are so pleased to hear that you will be returning to see us again, we are sure that the bedroom refurbishment will be well underway, and you will be able to judge the success of the work completed. Please let us know when you are ready to book with us again, and we'll ensure that we put you into one of the rooms that we have completed the work on. Until next time, keep well

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

i have visited this hotel several times and it seems to change management regularly but this time it was friendly cheerful and spotlessly clean. The only thing that seems to be the same is the brilliant eva who makes breakfast enjoyable.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iantyburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

My friend and I booked one of the Old English Inns Christmas 2 night breaks at the hotel. We arrived at lunchtime on Christmas Eve with trepidation due to the horrendous rain and flood warnings for the area and were welcomed very warmly by Andrew on the reception. The rooms were clean and fairly comfortable but the bathrooms do require a little updating. Being a light sleeper the noise from the heating pipes did keep me awake. The rooms were very hot even though I had the heating turned off but the weather was particularly mild for the time of year. The hotel is set in the lovely location by the river and would be lovely in the summertime when it is not flooded. Some of the rooms overlook the river and it would be great if they had balconies or lower windows to maximize the views which are exceptional.

The food was very good, we had a nice dinner on Christmas Eve, breakfast and lunch on Xmas Day and breakfast on Boxing Day, all served fresh and hot with good service. Most of the staff were very friendly and helpful, the lady who looked after us at breakfast was exceptional as were the two cleaning ladies who were very cheerful, friendly and helpful even though they were working on Christmas Day.

We did overhear one or two people complaining but felt their complaints were totally unfounded. I would recommend the hotel on a good value for money basis and would like to thank all the staff who worked over Christmas to give all the guests an enjoyable time, and would definitely return to the hotel again......

Room Tip: Some rooms overlook the river
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllisonNorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Its difficult for me to give this place a bad review because I didnt actually stay in one of the rooms so I will cirtique the elements I used as I was a guest at a wedding and spent the day there.

Location - next to a river which is nice, in the middle of a council estate which is less nice

Car park - good, plenty of space, no charge

Bar - Greene King Pub with a wide variety of Ales ranging from Speckled Hen/IPA etc, good choice of lagers and wines. Im not a wine buff but what I tasted seemed ok - others were less impressed with the selection.

Welcome on arrival - non existant, had to find our own way into reception area where guests were.

Staff - friendly and helpful although pub staff not restaraunt or event staff so expect dropped forks etc not silver service - very good overall though.

Food - excellent couldnt complain at any of the courses

reception hall - fine, werent bothered by other customers in venue and pretty self contained

Late drinks - no drinks for residents - big no no for me this and needs to made clear to guests before the embark on their evenings ebntertainment - wasnt expecting an 11pm cut off - not fun.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank axlrocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent visit to The Riverside. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the wedding and found our team members to be friendly and helpful, and that you found our food to be excellent. We can only apologise that due to our licensing restriction we were not able to serve you after midnight, without breaking the law. We do make this very clear to all of our brides and grooms before they book their wedding, and if a late bar is required we can always apply for a temporary late license, but we usually find that most people have had enough to drink come midnight. We trust that you were able to get more drinks at the hotel that you stayed at.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews