We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff - bad room”
Review of Riverside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riverside Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Branston
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice staff - bad room”
Reviewed June 25, 2011

I stayed here for a work trip. The food was lovely and the staff very nice. However the room was very dated, shower did not work and having stayed there for three nights my sheets were not changed.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dm342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2011
We are currently in the process of renovating all of our rooms but please bare with us as this is an on going project. We are moving forward with the renovation and it shouldn't be too long before all rooms have been completed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    141
    85
    44
    39
See reviews for
115
204
17
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2011

We live in Cornwall and had to spend a day in Bristol and the following day we had to be in Derby at 10.00am to pick up a new car. Looked for a late booking deal and not to keen on the Travelodge/Premier Inn supposedly special deals I found a deal for £50 for a room for the night for 2 with breakfasts. Arrived at 9.55pm just as restaurant was closing but no problem to the kitchen staff to make sandwiches. Excellent breakfast with very friendly service. Room clean and adequate but probably due for refurb. small problem with the shower (would not turn off) but sorted by the excellent friendly staff. very pleasant surroundings would stay there again if needed a hotel in this area

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Humfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2011
Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay at our hotel.
We do value all comments good and bad and take great pride in offering the best possible experience for all our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Riverside Hotel or one of other Old English Inns very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton on Trent
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2011

We booked the hotel for my daughters weddind, the communication during planning was a non existence but the day went by faltlessly thanks to Terry and Joe - food was fantastic quality (thanks Chef) for saying we had the wedding package, we werent expecting anything as good. The team couldnt do enough to help us throughout the day.
Staff do appear to run around and multi task but please, please Riverside ensure that you recruit for weddings - people were getting a bit fed up waiting for half an hour for a drink.
Some of us stayed overnight in very comfy beds and spotlessly clean rooms - again breakfast was fantastic.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BurtononTrentChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2011
Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay at our hotel.
We do value all comments good and bad and take great pride in offering the best possible experience for all our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Riverside or one of other Old English Inns very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2011

not the best looking hotel ,but what a lovey spot, bang on the river .You could walk for miles both ways. the room small but spot less clean and up to date.The food in the bar was as good as any restaurant.breakfast menu was the great ,with lots of different choices. Staff very helpful and frendly.

Room Tip: back rooms over looking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank derekdraper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2011
Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay at our hotel.
We do value all comments good and bad and take great pride in offering the best possible experience for all our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Riverside or one of other Old English Inns very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2011

We stayed here on a saturday night. We chose it because they allow dogs so a big plus for that. The breakfast was good and served by the fabulous Eva... 5 stars to Eva... but the room was awful. Bed and bedding good but the decor isn't just tired it is dilapidated along with the furniture. I see that in a reply the owner has said the rooms are being updated and I would return when they are. However he won't be able to increase the size of the rooms. The bathroom door didn't open completely as it bashed into the sink.

I would love to have written a glowing report for this hotel as the location is great. I am posting a picture of the window in our room. We were told this was a better room than the one they originally allocated as it overlooked the river rather than the car park which was true. I wonder whether we were given it because we had a dog? We paid £70.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barnabyhow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Branston hotels

Level Contributor
84 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2011

Stayed here on leisure break after cashing in Tesco vouchers before their recent devaluation and with hind sight wish I had gone to another chain.The hotel appears to have a perfect setting next to a river but the actuality is that it is on a cul de sac of a medium sized housing estate - hardly in the country.As mentioned by other reviewers the staff are god and very pleasant and we firstly obtained a change of rooms from one overlooking the rear car park to one overlooking the rear.The hotel thogh desparately needs a huge make over the stair carpet is torn on every rise and the once white walls are scuff marked.The bedroom is tiny with ill matched furniture and a bathroom that although has a toilet in really should not due to space limitations.At first we found we only had one bedside light but this oversight was remedied by another staff member Craig a sort of beardy wonderman who trebled as hotel worker,waiter and barman.

The restaurant was fine and cosy with a good selection of cask ales and wines.The meals were alright but nothing fantastic with I suspect all items having been bought in.
Breakfast were very good and served to 12 noon though our first day experience would suggest it is better to go before nine am as we were obliged to go and find staff in order to order the cooked breakfast.The second day we met with Madeiran Eve who is a ball of pleasant energy happy to supply whatever was requested, though perhaps retoasting already toasted bread for later guests should not be on her agenda.The breakfasts though are good when one considers there is a good buffet selection too.


In hindsight we would have been better to have stopped at another chain such as Vintage Inns.I console myself in the fact that I had only a £40 supplement to pay, to pay £200 for this dilapidated hotel would have been robbery.My advice is avoid this hotel and stop at any of the travel lodges in the area you may not get a better nights sleep but you will get a bathroom you can turn round in.

Finally just a short plug for the National Memorial Arboretum at nearby Alrewas it is free to enter (£1 to park) and a truly moving place to visit, memorials for victims of war ,road traffic accidents, murder and so on with tthe most friendly and helpful staff I have ever met at any place to visit.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ethelred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2011
Thank you for your feed back, the ground floor with bar, restaurant & function rooms were refurbished two years ago & we are currently decorating all bedrooms to a high standard & as such have reduced our rates until we complete these works. Seven done fifteen to go now. We hope that you do try us again & thank you for your feed back on how nice the team were.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 27, 2011

We have just returned from a weekend stay at the Riverside Hotel. We had a lovely time, Nick and his staff are so good at their jobs, they are cheerful and serviceminded and they look after you really well. We have stayed in several Old English Inns - the menues are the same in all these hotels but the preparation of food was better in the Riverside than in any of the others!
At breakfast time we had the pleasure of being looked after by Eva (of internet fame), she is a treasure. I agree with previous reviews that the bedrooms are a little tired, but they are clean and warm and the beds are so comfortable that you don't want to get up in the morning!
The location of this hotel is very good, right on the river with walking paths in both directions. I would certainly recommend this hotel to those who know to appreciate the relaxed and friendly atmosphere. We may come back here with friends later in the year.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingsupergran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Branston
4.1 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
2.2 mi away
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
#8 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
437 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-...
#6 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
#3 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
416 reviews
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Burton Upon Trent Central Hotel
Travelodge Burton Upon Trent Cen...
#5 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
209 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Grail Court Hotel
The Grail Court Hotel
#11 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel

Property: Riverside Hotel
Address: Riverside Drive, Branston, Burton upon Trent DE14 3EP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Burton upon Trent > Branston
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Branston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sky packages in rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing