We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a great place, but acceptable, under the circumstances”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Ticonderoga
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Ticonderoga
Reviewed April 7, 2007

This was our second stay at this motel, mostly because there were few choices for this area. The same coffee, choice of white, cinnamon, or plain doughnuts for the "continental" breakfast was all 5 mornings at each of two separate stays here. The same mold was on the bathtub this time as last time. (same room) The same indifference was present at check-in both times we stayed here.

The bed was comfortable and the linens were clean, but of poor quality, poly-cotton with pilling present on the sheets. Because we were there while some sporting season was going on, the loud talking in the halls at 4 am was not a pleasant wakening.

If at all possible, we would not stay in Ticoneroga again, but due to family near-by, this is not possible. We even tried another motel at another visit, and it was not a lot better, except it had a microwave and 'fridge so we could fix our own coffee and do cereal that we provided.

A subsequent attempt to make a recent reservation presented us with a different poblem, the refusal of accepting out drivers' license for a senior rate and the only acceptable ID was organizational membership. So, we are about to try a third motel in the area for our fourth stay in Ticonderoga.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank annylenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (290)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

287 - 290 of 290 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2006

Our family of 5 stayed in this hotel for one night during August 2006. I was surprised that there were not more hotels to choose from in Ticonderoga; I believe this one was the only chain motel available although there were a few local ones in town as well. We tried one of the local ones but it was on a special weekend at Fort Ti, and they required at least a 2 night stay.

The word my kids used to describe this hotel was "stark." The room kind of smelled like dirty socks, although it looked acceptably clean. There were virtually no amenities (e.g. no internet in the lobby, pool, fitness center etc.) and the decor was rustic (one of the walls was made of logs) and plain. The continental breakfast was as minimal as it could be--muffins, coffee, juice, hot chocolate, and there was no eating area. The rate was $90 plus tax and rollaway for a double room.

The location was easy to find on the intersection of two highways. It is easy to get to the Fort ( a few miles away) from the hotel and it is right next to a McDonald's and a Walmart. This is a safe, decent place to stay but nothing more.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SwedishMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank hervemcvij
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sup8Ti, General Manager at Super 8 Ticonderoga, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 24, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank groquick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sup8Ti, General Manager at Super 8 Ticonderoga, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ticonderoga
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Ticonderoga Inn & Suites
17.3 mi away
Middlebury Inn
Middlebury Inn
#1 of 3 in Middlebury
614 reviews
24.7 mi away
Bonnie View on Lake George
Bonnie View on Lake George
#1 of 8 in Bolton Landing
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Stone House Motel
The Stone House Motel
#4 of 6 in Ticonderoga
35 reviews
16.0 mi away
Blue Ridge Motel
Blue Ridge Motel
#1 of 3 in Schroon Lake
55 reviews
15.9 mi away
Rowe's Adirondack Cabins of Schroon Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Ticonderoga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Ticonderoga

Address: 1144 Wicker St, Route 74 and Route 9 North, PO Box 567, Ticonderoga, NY 12883-3103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Ticonderoga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Ticonderoga
Price Range: $74 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Ticonderoga 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Super 8 Ticonderoga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Ticonderoga
Ticonderoga Super Eight
Ticonderoga Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing