We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fort View Inn

Fort View Inn
Ranked #10 of 23 Restaurants in Ticonderoga
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Freeport, New York
Level Contributor
169 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Charming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

From the moment we walked in and felt the warmth of the Adirondecks we liked it. Katie greeted us with a big smile and seated us immediately. The place is full of locals and very few tourist. The Key West shrimp were excellent as were the bacon wrapped scallops. Katies soup is second to none. All dinners come with a salad which is quite uncommon these days. Lunch prices were extremely reasonable and dinners were moderately priced for the massive amount of food that was served. Even sittiing at the bar having conversation with the local folks was nice and the drink prices were inexpensive. If you like home cooking and a fiendly waite staff with reasonbly priced good food, don't pass this place up!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    10
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Slingerlands, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very nice place, nice restaurant, nice bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Really enjoyed our stop here. Food was very good, even though a bit pricy for the atmosphere.
Bar drinks were good, but also think a bit price for the atmosphere.
Steamed clams were quite good, so were the salads and entrees.
Service was very nice, very friendly.
They are one of the few places open quite late in the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank phdmom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa
Level Contributor
115 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Works........”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Nice place to end your tour of the property. Mostly a lot of gifts but we had a good lunch with good service in an interesting dinning room. A must do if your on the property.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JerryTulsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York
Level Contributor
75 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good Birthday Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

We have eaten here a couple times before when in Ti. We had planned on going to another
restaurant in Whitehall which we found was closed, so decided to come back to the Fort View.
We had good dinners and pleasant conversations with the waitstaff. Everything was nice and hot and had great taste. My steak was done just the way I requested. Great view of Lake Champlain and the
train does go by sometimes. They don't take credit or debit cards, but have a sign stating that and they do have an ATM machine available. Best bet is to stop at Stewarts in Ti and get cash.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bailey4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake George, New York
Level Contributor
357 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
“Not much to look at..but looks can be deceiving”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

The place is not inviting at all, actually the outside is somewhat of a turnoff. The inside is much nicer the staff (well.... the one person we saw) was nice too. We all had good meals, nothing fancy by any means. The prices were quite reasonable considering the quality of the food. One thing to note: they do not accept credit or debit cards. That may be one thing that keeps me from going back, the food was decent but I like my FF miles and I am not sure the food is worth giving up the miles/points.

One other little item, despite the name the view of the fort is really miniscule.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank ADKtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort View Inn also viewed

 

Been to Fort View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing