We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good history lesson” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fort Ticonderoga

Fort Ticonderoga
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A popular attraction, built by the French in 1755, that has been restored to its original condition.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A good history lesson”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

The fort itself and the associated museums are moderately interesting, but not outstanding. However, we found the "tour" that is given a couple of times a day to be well done and interesting. Yes, there are some of us who studied the French and Indian war and the Revolutionary war enough that they already know all of this, but for the rest of us, the narrative is interesting and informative. I definitely recommend that you time your arrival to include one of the tours.
We found the dining facility there to have reasonably good food.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chuck E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    384
    171
    22
    8
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Time machine effect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

If you like and interested in history instead of laying like eggplant in the sun somewhere in a beach, fort is definitely for you. time machine last stop:, stone houses with chimneys, wooden benches, people in historical clothes playing dramatic performances from 18 century. They really live their lives paying no attention on spectators, some of them slightly surprised when you want to take pics of you with them. its THAT people. of course they are surprised bc there were no photography in that century yet;)))) I enjoyed, very much enjoyed walking there. Pleasant news: you can buy some souvenirs ( I bought maple syrup) in the nearest store. Very cosy cafe. People are very nice and gentle. In a desert you can go to King Garden where there are many apple -trees and apples ( organic sweet apples) are laying in the grass everywhere. For us city ppl it is already little miracle, tiny fairy-tale. Garden itself very well-groomed. Flowers, huge sun-flowers, melons, - wowwww! Fresh crispy air. Btw my 4- months baby first time tasted apple there, and liked it!!!:))You can also go to corn-maze and arrange some new adventure for you, but we were too tired and overfilled by impressions. And my husband was happy that camera battery needs to be charged bc I tortured him of taking pictures... Btw, our hotel was ok too. Nice breakfast. We enjoyed our trip and returned refreshed. Weekend is enough for it. Highly recommend;)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Fort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

If you want to know about this Fort its worth seeing. They have men dressed in uniforms and the women are dressed like they were back then.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ralphsgirl54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallkill
Level Contributor
142 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A piece of American History”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

I am constantly reminded of all the great things that there are to see in the USA. I have lived in the northeast for over fifty years and here is one in the backyard, so to speak, that I had always meant to see and had not. The shear beauty of the fortress is a thing to behold. It had never occurred to me that the original had been destroyed during the Revolutionary War. It has been faithfully recreated which is a monument to both the original builders and the renovators. It was built in this place for a reason and although no longer needed as a fortress it maintains some of the most breath taking views you will ever encounter. Be prepared to walk and be sure to see the Kings Garden.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank harold66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“7 years war”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

This fort should not be missed for any american history buff. This fort was instrumental in the French and indian war, as well as our war for independence.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Beatarmy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Ticonderoga also viewed

 
 

Been to Fort Ticonderoga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing