We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Living history at its best!”
Review of Fort Ticonderoga

Fort Ticonderoga
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A popular attraction, built by the French in 1755, that has been restored to its original condition.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Living history at its best!”
Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Great place to visit at any age! Terrific tour guides, cafe with great food outstanding views. History comes alive here! Well worth the price of admission.

Helpful?
Thank Suze1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    397
    176
    22
    8
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brewster, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“great place to visit”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

nice views, restoration well done , museums inside buildings, tour guides well informed and helpful.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank kim b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Illinois
Level Contributor
1,043 reviews
317 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 406 helpful votes
“Very informative and fun!”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

This was our first visit to "America's Fort" and we weren't quite sure what to expect. What we discovered was that the original fort has been remarkedly restored and is incredible. You start out with a guided tour with a gentleman dressed in period clothing. He gave us a detailed overview of the fort's history, along with numerous insights about the people who played key roles. He was very enjoyable to listen to and he was quite patient with our questions.

Then you are free to roam the fort. Officers quarters, enlisted men's quarters, a tailor/cobbler shop, an extensive museum and more. All very interesting and all with docents availble to explain what you're seeing. We also got to see a re-enactment of coordinated musket fire. Wow...who knew all the steps involved?!?!

It was cold and raining so we ended our tour and had a wonderful bowl of chicken soup at the cafe adjoining the gift shop. And, due to that cold and rain we skipped the King's Gardens and the Corn Maize that was included in our admission fee. (They do have a seniors' discount and an AAA discount.)

We had a great time here and could have spent the entire day had the weather been better. We've visited several old forts before and they were in ruins or simply mounds on the ground. This one is wonderfully preserved!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank MNM1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Vermont
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Musket Demo was awesome!”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We visited for the first time with our two children and some friends who were up at Lake George vacationing. Saw the musket demo and the kids loved it - we all jumped out of our skin the first time they fired them!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Therese F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
222 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“The first thing we said was, why isn't this part of the National Park Service?”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

This Fort is privately owned and operated despite it's historic signifigance during the Revolutionary War period. It is well maintained and the vistas of the mountains and the lake from the fort are breathtaking. There was a re-enactment occurring while we were there so it added to the experience to see the men and women dressed in the clothing of that era and seeing their living conditions at the fort which must have been incredible difficult at the best of times let alone during the winter.
Nice restaurant and book store and gift shop. This is a stop that will please everyone --young and old.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Veneto8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Ticonderoga also viewed

 

Been to Fort Ticonderoga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing