We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just ok” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Westchester Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Westchester Marriott
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Tarrytown
Loveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

I booked on line for the Marriott/Westchester in Tarrytown New York and requested:
1. Quite room
2. High floor
3. Refrigerator
4. Late Arrival
5. Double Beds.
We got three out of the five requests. The Quite room had signs posted for quiet between 10pm and 8am. Our room was right next door to the Presidents Suite which was hosting a party that lasted well into the night. We asked at the front desk and were told to check back around 10pm with the front desk. We toughed it out and finally called down around midnight and were told that security would be up. It did not arrive. Ever. Doors slammed, voices could be heard all down the hall and more.
This hotel has been somewhat upgraded but not to the price of $269 per night. Our room rugs were dirty and beat. There is no room in the bath for a women’s’ supplies of cosmetics. The light was dim in the bath and make-up could not be applied there. We were given a king room that had not been used in a long time as it had limited linen until the next day when the room was made up. There was a chair in the room that needed a foot stool to be comfortable, but it had none. The floor lamp by the chair didn’t work.
The lobby had been somewhat upgraded but it has a long way to go to be useable. No privacy and little space for seating.
The breakfast restaurant is also a bar. Pricey, service not so hot on the weekend. There is a buffet but if you don’t eat $18.00 worth of food in one sitting than it is not useful. The average breakfast for two people was $40.00 with tip. My order was not correct on either day, and the servers did not check back except to bring the check. The food was just so-so when it did arrive.
They were busy on the weekend, with three weddings and several other events including a reunion. The best service person we encountered was the bellman. He was very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor room as the groups are normally on the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    222
    93
    37
    28
See reviews for
124
123
34
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clifton Park, New York
Level Contributor
237 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

I stayed at this hotel while visiting family in White Plains. After driving by it so many times, seeing it from the thruway and I-287, I am so glad we stayed here. First they were very good about letting us check in early. They also have updated elevators, an indoor atrium pool and hot tub and nice bath and body stuff in the rooms. Hope to stay here again. They also have a Ruth Chris's Steakhouse which looked good, but very expensive. Hudson Valley Restaurant Week is approaching in November though which is good to know.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LoneRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

So far, my benchmark for customer service is the Disney Contemporary at Disney World - to fair that was over 20 years ago but the service was amazing - this Marriott ranks up there with the Disney Contemporary - excellent service all around - from front desk staff to security to cleaning staff - simply the best Marriott (and one of the best hotels) I've stayed at - period.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rickraglow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed for 1 night before an early morning seminar. Front desk staff was very friendly and well presented. Room was spacious enough but the bathroom was a bit cramped. Bed was comfortable although I think needs to be updated soon. Quiet rooms other than when the pool is open. If you have a view of that, it's pretty but not as quiet. The fruit infused water was a nice treat in the lobby along with the trail mix. Breakfast buffet and luncheon were very good for the seminar.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank catboatsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

I personally believe this is the best of the half a dozen hotel options in the Tarrytown area. The pool area is wonderful, and the food in the lobby bar is very good. The buffet eggs seem to actually be made of real eggs, instead of a powder mix! The bathrooms and accompanying amenities are also very good. It's clear in some areas that the hotel needs updating, but overall, it is very nice. My friend's had the Valhalla suite to get ready for their wedding, and it was gorgeous.

Room Tip: If you love sunlight, the rooms overlooking the pool may be too dark for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennie521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
325 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Great location to the historic Hudson valley sites. There were 5 weddings & a bar mitzvah staying at the hotel. The room was a good size, but there is something on the back of the tv that flashes on the wall behind which if you are not a heavy sleeper is a problem. We threw a towel over it. The toilet was flushing itself on occasion. The bed was comfortable. The restaurant at the hotel has a great breakfast buffet. Computers are available in the lobby as is free wi-fi, but you'll have to pay if you want it in your room. My cousins switched rooms 2x because of cleanliness, but ours was fine. My complaint about the maids were they were screaming at each other in the hall. The concierge floor lounge closes Friday at 12pm and remains closed weekends. The pool is great and fitness center nice. Look this is a mid- range hotel and is fine.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ssbelltx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Plains, Missouri
Level Contributor
294 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

I held a one day training seminar here and was very pleased. From the front desk to sales to the food service in my meeting room everything was top drawer. Michael Hall the sales mgr was on top of it as was Clive his room coordinator. Everyone was very happy.

Room Tip: Ask to have access to the club room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tarrytown hotels
1.6 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Tarrytown
1.4 mi away
Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Tarrytown Greenburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Tarrytown Hotel
Sheraton Tarrytown Hotel
#7 of 7 in Tarrytown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Tarrytown Greenburgh
1.0 mi away
Castle Hotel & Spa
Castle Hotel & Spa
#5 of 7 in Tarrytown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westchester Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westchester Marriott

Property: Westchester Marriott
Address: 670 White Plains Rd, Tarrytown, NY 10591-5195
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Westchester County > Tarrytown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Tarrytown
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tarrytown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Westchester Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 444
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westchester Marriott Tarrytown is a modern hotel with premium guest amenities including two on-site restaurants, a pool and high-tech meeting facilities perfect for a leisure or business vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Westchester Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westchester Marriott Hotel Tarrytown
Marriott Hotel Tarrytown
Marriott Hotel Westchester
Marriott Tarrytown
Tarrytown Marriott
Westchester Marriott Tarrytown, NY - Westchester County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing