We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay...incredibly comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Tarrytown
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 27, 2010

This place has so much charm. The grounds are beautiful and the staff is wonderful. The hotel is a bit of a maze, requiring a bit of a walk to get to our room but once we got there we were pleasantly surprised. The rooms were very impeccably and the beds were amazingly comfortable. I wish we were closer to this hotel and I would make more trips up there if we didn't have to drive by NYC. This is the perfect place to go around Halloween since the quaint town of Sleepy Hollow is near-by!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dartzy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,485)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,305 - 1,311 of 1,485 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2010

An excellent stay in the center of New York's best Fall experiences. If we never left the hotel we could have been satisfied with lovely grounds, the comfortable room and the great restaurants on the property. But it was central to Lyndhurst Manor, Tarrytown and Sleepy Hollow. We chose a package that included tickets to "The Blaze", an incredible 4000 carved pumpkin display in nearby Croton-on-the-Hudson and a buffet breakfast overlooking the beautiful Hudson River. The staff were courteous and accommodating. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edie068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2010

We were fortunate enough to be invited to a "destination wedding" on the Hudson. The Tarrytown House Estate and Conference Center was fabulous. The staff excellent, the food delicious, and location location location. A perfect fall wedding! There were also wonderful restaurants and attractions close by in the quaint town. We traveled to the Brotherhood Winery the day after the wedding and enjoyed it very much. Do not hesitater to select this location!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2010

The Tarrytown House has a conventional hotel with two old mansions on several acres of beautiful landscaping. The staff is friendly and helpful. Rooms are large. We had a peekaboo view of the Hudson that we enjoyed. Only planned to stay one night, but spent three. One day we took train to NYC for the day; much better than driving in or spending a night there. Restaurants served excellent food.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sgs312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2010

My husband surprised me over Valentine's Day weekend with a stay at Tarrytown House when we were first dating. We loved our stay at this beautiful property with historic buildings and views of the Hudson River. We visited Tarrytown again during Halloween. Tarrytown House had a great package for a room, breakfast, and VIP tickets to The Blaze. The room was very comfortable, the staff was friendly, and the breakfast buffet is delicious! The grounds at Tarrytown House were spectacular that time of year with all of the leaves changing color. Also, the VIP tickets saved our weekend. We planned to go to The Blaze on a Saturday night. There was a horrible thunderstorm with significant flooding. This closed The Blaze for the night. Anyone with regular tickets was issued a refund, but could not book for another night since it was sold out. With our VIP tickets we were able to just show up the next night. The Blaze and Halloween in Tarrytown/Sleepy Hollow were amazing.
When we got engaged and decided to get married in Tarrytown we knew that we would spend our wedding night at Tarrytown House and reserve a block of rooms for our guests there. The entire experience of booking the room block, making arrangements for gift bags, asking for special touches for our room in the King House, and planning all of the many other details for the rooms for our wedding went perfectly. Our guests raved about the amazing property, the beautiful buildings, and the tremendous views. Everyone loved the breakfast buffet in the Biddle House and their dinners/drinks at Cellar 49. The best part of the experience was our historic room in the King House. I loved all of the details from the fireplace, to the giant old tub, to the beautiful white columns at the entryway of the house. Tarrytown House gave us the romantic and historic feel we dreamed of for our wedding night.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaclynR30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2010

We spent a delightful week here to attend my high school reunion in Irvington, and go back down by train to NYC. TTHE is very convenient to everyting we want to do, go and see, very nice views, magnificant old buildings. Rooms, gym, pool, racquette ball court were just what we needed to relax and work out, just a little... Staff was friendly and helpful. We will stay here whenever we are in the area! The beds are extremely comfortable ! Best sleep in a hotel ever...

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandclemente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2010

We stayed at the Tarrytown House 9/24 & 9/25. During check-in it was apparent that there was a wedding being held on the grounds that weekend. Check-in was easy. Finding our room was an adventure, but once there it was comfortable and spotless. During the first nights stay were were awakened at 3:44 a.m. by a rowdy crowd of likely wedding guests who partied hard for a couple of hours in the room next door. Being overtired put major damper on the activites we had planned for the next day. However, Melissa at the front desk was gracious and very helpful when we called to ask for a different room location. She offered apologies even though the issue had nothing to do with the hotel she offered us new accomodations that would be available that afternoon. We left for the day and when we returned that evening, our bags had been moved for us to another room. We slept soundly that night! Oh! And we were quiet surprised to find a lovely plate of pastries and brownies that were absolutely delicious with a nice hand-written note. Above and beyond Melissa! Thanks!

Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank stapler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarrytown
0.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Tarrytown
1.3 mi away
Castle Hotel & Spa
Castle Hotel & Spa
#6 of 7 in Tarrytown
180 reviews
1.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Tarrytown Westchester County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Tarrytown Hotel
Sheraton Tarrytown Hotel
#7 of 7 in Tarrytown
509 reviews
1.5 mi away
Westchester Marriott
Westchester Marriott
#5 of 7 in Tarrytown
592 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Westchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson

Address: 49 E Sunnyside Ln, Tarrytown, NY 10591-9500 (Formerly Tarrytown House Estate & Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Westchester County > Tarrytown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Tarrytown
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tarrytown
#2 Family Hotel in Tarrytown
#2 Green Hotel in Tarrytown
Price Range: $122 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson 3.5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 25 miles from Midtown Manhattan this estate blends historical charm with modern conveniences. Residing on 26-acres overlooking the Lower Hudson River Valley, well-appointed lodging is found at Tarrytown House Estate, featuring impressive 19th-century mansions - King Mansion and Biddle Mansion - a Carriage House and The Cottage. A Perfect getaway for a weekend adult escape from the city or a destination wedding. Tarrytown House Estate offers luxurious Hudson Valley lodging and amenities. This landmark hotel in Westchester, NY features extensive leisure and recreational facilities such as a fitness center, family friendly heated indoor pool and a seasonal adult only outdoor pool. The estate also offers seasonal/complimentary basketball, volleyball, bocce, horse-shoes and tennis courts. Historic Westchester County proves to enhance a visitor's Hudson Valley lodging experience with incredible opportunities for Hudson River Valley antiquing, boating, hiking and sightseeing. Enjoy any or all of these activities among the rich and historic atmosphere known as home to Westchester, New York's famous sites including the Washington Irving's Sunnyside, Philipsburg Manor and the spectacular Rockefeller estate, Kykuit. While staying at Tarrytown House Estate, guests can experience the many attractions that the Hudson Valley has to offer including the scenic Hudson Park, Neuberger Museum of Art, Grand Prix New York Racing, and the Cortlandt Heritage Museum. The hotel is also located only 5 miles away from Stone Barns Center for Food and Agriculture where guests can enjoy various dishes made from locally grown produce and ingredients at the center's restaurant, Blue Hill at Stone Barns. The hotel is also near the United States Military Academy at West Point, offering convenient accommodations during graduation or family events at the academy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarrytown House Estate On The Hudson Hotel Tarrytown
Tarrytown Hotel Estate
Tarrytown House Hotel
Dolce Tarrytown House
Tarrytown Dolce House
Tarrytown House Estate On The Hudson NY - Westchester County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing