We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful grounds, lovely service, fantastic bar/restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Tarrytown
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Beautiful grounds, lovely service, fantastic bar/restaurant”
Reviewed May 31, 2010

Really neat place that is brimming with charm. Sits right next to all the history you can want - literally walking distance to Husdon River estates. The restaurant/bar in the Biddle House is very charming and the house is fun to wander through. Hotel room buildings look a little dated from the outside but are very nicely done and up to date inside. Only down side is the walls are very thin - you can hear pretty much everything going on in the next room.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripped57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    836
    326
    169
    76
    35
See reviews for
296
650
62
243
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sharon, MA
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2010

We had a great stay at the Tarrytown House Estate and would highly recommend it to others.

Unlike some previous reviewers who criticized the food here, we found the breakfast buffet to be terrific -- lots of fresh fruit, great oatmeal, bagels, and very good juices, teas, and coffee (the only disappointing item was the so-so croissants). While the buffet wasn't rock bottom cheap ($15 a person for a couple -- just ask for the couples' rate when you check in; you don't have to pay the $25 a person rate), it still was a pretty good value. And the service in the dining room was very good, too.

Our king bed room was spacious and clean, with some nice complimentary toiletries in the updated bathroom. We stayed on the second floor of the Atrium building, which was very quiet and peaceful.

We also enjoyed the peaceful setting of the property -- it's about 1.5 miles south of downtown Tarrytown, just off the main drag but set back on a hillside -- and we had a lot of fun learning about the property's history as we walked along the self-guided "trail" that passes by various landmarks on the estate.

The one down side: traffic heading in to Tarrytown can be VERY heavy, even on a weekday afternoon. Be sure to allow extra time to get into downtown Tarrytown or anywhere further north (e.g., Sleepy Hollow and the Kyukit Visitors' Center there).

Fun tip: near Kyukit, check out the Rockefeller State Preserve, a man-made landscape of elegant carriage trails, gently rolling terrain, open meadows, small ponds, etc. -- it's a very transporting setting that's perfect for lazy strolling, and it's well worth the $6 parking fee.

We'd gladly return to the Tarrytown House Estate for another visit -- it's a great base outside the hustle and bustle of downtown Tarrytown, but still close to all the area's attractions.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DGandSAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castleton, Vermont
1 review
Reviewed May 26, 2010

I found this place to be just a wonderful experience. Service was great, food was great, room was clean, comfortable. I can't think of a negitive thing to say.
We attended a wedding here, and it was just breath taking.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vtvirgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adamopaving
1 review
Reviewed May 22, 2010

This hotel is such a special find. The grounds are magnificent, the views of the Hudson are beautiful. Quiet, charming and the feeling that you are well taken care of. Close enough to NYC, yet far enough away.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adamopaving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2010

My wife and I went to Tarrytown recently for a friends wedding. After the one hour commute from the city, we were greeted with a warm welcome by the reception desk. Our reservation was processed promptly and we received the room we had booked and were able to be near friends.

Overall the rooms were quite basic. The furnishings were simple but acceptable. The view from our room was of a nice river in the distance, but trash cans below.

The rooms felt like a Holiday Inn Express that was renovated in 1995. The rooms were clean and acceptable, just not special.

We had a great time at the wedding andthe facilities were great.

I would come here again for a wedding but would not choose to stay here if I was coming to NY,

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inder22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Segundo
1 review
Reviewed April 29, 2010

One of the most beautiful places that I have stayed. The spacious grounds of the estate are breathtakingly beautiful. You are encouraged to tour the grounds and read about the history. A wedding was taking place when we arrived. What a lovely spot for any event.
The staff was very helpful and friendly with directions and cab requests. Some of the buildings since they are older have more stairs so if you do need to avoid stairs mention that. They have a bellhop to help with your luggage. Right next to a main street with quaint shops and restaurants. In nearby Elmsford is a wonderful dinner theatre with Broadway shows and wonderful food. We will for sure be coming back here again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elsegundoelroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood NH
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 19, 2010

What a beautiful Hotel as well as comfort. The staff members are very polite. Their service staff go above and beyond any hotel I have stayed at. Great job to those at Tarrytown Estates..!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LifeinBrentwoodNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarrytown
1.3 mi away
Castle Hotel & Spa
Castle Hotel & Spa
#6 of 7 in Tarrytown
171 reviews
0.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Tarrytown
1.4 mi away
Courtyard Tarrytown Greenburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Tarrytown Greenburgh
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Tarrytown Hotel
Sheraton Tarrytown Hotel
#7 of 7 in Tarrytown
492 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Westchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson

Property: Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson
Address: 49 E Sunnyside Ln, Tarrytown, NY 10591-9500 (Formerly Tarrytown House Estate & Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Westchester County > Tarrytown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Tarrytown
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tarrytown
#2 Family Hotel in Tarrytown
#2 Green Hotel in Tarrytown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson 3.5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 25 miles from Midtown Manhattan this estate blends historical charm with modern conveniences. Residing on 26-acres overlooking the Lower Hudson River Valley, well-appointed lodging is found at Tarrytown House Estate, featuring impressive 19th-century mansions - King Mansion and Biddle Mansion - a Carriage House and The Cottage. A Perfect getaway for a weekend adult escape from the city or a destination wedding. Tarrytown House Estate offers luxurious Hudson Valley lodging and amenities. This landmark hotel in Westchester, NY features extensive leisure and recreational facilities such as a fitness center, family friendly heated indoor pool and a seasonal adult only outdoor pool. The estate also offers seasonal/complimentary basketball, volleyball, bocce, horse-shoes and tennis courts. Historic Westchester County proves to enhance a visitor's Hudson Valley lodging experience with incredible opportunities for Hudson River Valley antiquing, boating, hiking and sightseeing. Enjoy any or all of these activities among the rich and historic atmosphere known as home to Westchester, New York's famous sites including the Washington Irving's Sunnyside, Philipsburg Manor and the spectacular Rockefeller estate, Kykuit. While staying at Tarrytown House Estate, guests can experience the many attractions that the Hudson Valley has to offer including the scenic Hudson Park, Neuberger Museum of Art, Grand Prix New York Racing, and the Cortlandt Heritage Museum. The hotel is also located only 5 miles away from Stone Barns Center for Food and Agriculture where guests can enjoy various dishes made from locally grown produce and ingredients at the center's restaurant, Blue Hill at Stone Barns. The hotel is also near the United States Military Academy at West Point, offering convenient accommodations during graduation or family events at the academy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarrytown House Estate On The Hudson Hotel Tarrytown
Tarrytown Hotel Estate
Tarrytown House Hotel
Dolce Tarrytown House
Tarrytown Dolce House
Tarrytown House Estate On The Hudson NY - Westchester County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing