We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Tarrytown
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 17, 2014

I stayed her for my cousins wedding reception. The grounds were just beautiful, and well kept. The food at the reception was delicious, and this was before the sit down meal.
The lay out was perfect, no one was too far away from each other.
The pool is lovely and there was a bar beside it too, and a barbecue.

When we left there was a wedding taking place on the grounds and it was just spectacular looking.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aob203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THECC, Director of Sales at Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2014

Hello aob203

Thank you for taking the time out to share your review after your stay at our Estate for your cousings wedding. We were honored to host this special event and happy to hear our Estate did not dissapoint!

We hope to welcome you back to the property in the near future and wish you all the best in your future travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,524)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

842 - 848 of 1,524 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2014

Happened upon this charming venue by chance. Threw a dart online searching for a one night holdover on our visit to NYC and ended up staying 3 we enjoyed it so much. It was a wonderful change from the hectic pace of Manhattan, yet only 35-40 minutes by car or train from the heart of the city. Big sky folks visiting New York are going to love this 26 acres of tranquility. The staff was quite friendly and very accommodating, even gave us an individual tour of the dwelling of the resident ghost in room 293 (The room was vacant at the time or was it ? ;) The setting is historic as well as the area in general, we had fun exploring it. The breakfast buffet was also quite good and had drinks at Cellar 49 on site. I heard that the food was good there as well, but found a nice Greek restaurant (Lefteris) in town and got hooked on the souvlaki. We loved everything about and it was a great place to recharge our tourist batteries. Looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THECC, Director of Sales at Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2014

Hello Bob M-

We are so happy to hear you were able to stumble upon our property and enjoyed your stay with us. We are so thrilled when our guests enjoy the beauty that our property offers and especially happy to hear that you enjoyed some of the local restaurants in which make Tarrytown such a great place to visit!

We hope you visit us again the next time your travels take you out East and wish youl all th best in your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Lovely, quiet, relaxing Hudson Valley estate on beautifully manicured property overlooking the Hudson River with a staff who are wonderfully welcoming. Combine this with charming, comfortable rooms, indoor and outdoor pools, workout room, tennis courts, horseshoes, plus a delightful breakfast buffet, inviting pub/restaurant and only 5 minutes away from the Tappan Zee Bridge. "Perfect Home Away From Home".

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Hudson River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RJames3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THECC, Director of Sales at Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2014

Hello RJames3

We are so happy to have you call Tarrytown House Estate your "home away from home"! We so value our repeat guests and thrilled to have you stay with us again!

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Estate in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

We are so grateful for coming to this fantastic place. A friend of mine recommended it to me and so I brought my husband for his birthday!! We had a great experience, the staff members are very nice, friendly, helpful, always trying to make us happy, comfortable; especially Rob, Anthony, Joe, and Ana Marie. They made our stayed unforgettable. Thank so much.
Also, the food! Breakfast and dinner was so delicious, especially the smoked pork chop, and the fact that they make the omeletts and pancakes right in front of you. No complaints at all.
Everything seems that is made in such a way thay you will never forget your stay.
The views are incredible. We had an upgrade to the King Mansion, and we loved it. It is so different from what we are accustomed to, the victorian style is so lovely and romantic.
Definitely coming back.
Thank you for all the special attentions and for making my husband's birthday just perfect!!!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Andres A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THECC, Director of Sales at Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2014

Hello Andres A-

Thank you for taking the time out to share your review of your recent stay at our Estate. We were thrilled to host you and your husband on this birthday weekend and happy to hear we did not dissapoint.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Estate in the very near future and wish you all the best in your future travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Spacious, lovely, quiet, unique. Unlike a chain hotel. Staff at front desk, dining room and housekeeping went out of their way to insure a memorable stay and meeting every need in a generous and friendly manner. Rooms were modest size and finish level, beds were good quality. Bathrooms clean, clean , clean. Selected not to stay in King House Mansion because of limited bed size and age of building.
Food quality in regular dining area was WAY ABOVE expectation. Grounds were beautiful.
Special pricing of Bed and Breakfast offer made cost very, very reasonable.
We left a Kindle in the room on checkout and were contacted by staff within hours when hotel made arrangements to ship home via FedEx.
Hospitality of staff shined.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CAM_GH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THECC, Director of Sales at Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Hello CAM_GH

Thank you for taking the time to share your review after your recent stay at our Estate. We were very happy to host you and happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us.

I am especially happy to hear we were able to return your Kindle in short notice, as we take great pride in our efforts to return our guests items left behind.

We hope to welcome you back to our property in the near future and wish you all the best in your future travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Beautiful property. The front desk service is efficient, friendly, and courteous. Our room was nice, but a bit of a walk from the main lobby. Not complaining, but be aware that you will be walking. Free parking and Wifi. Pool, workout room, Sports court and tennis court available. Surrounded by beautiful trees and lawns.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank C T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THECC, Director of Sales at Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Hello CT

Thank you for taking the time to sharre your review after your most recent stay at our Estate. We value your feedback.

I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and our grounds. Our travelers continue to enjoy our property layout although we are not structured as a traditional hotel. Although this does create more walking, I am happy to hear you enjoyed this.

I hope to welcome you back to our property in the near future and wish you all the best in your future travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

From the pictures, this looked like the perfect place to relax and enjoy our brief vacation. The drive through the grounds were encouraging, however, the accommodations were exceptionally disappointing. We rejected the first room we were shown in the King House Mansion. Everything was outdated and unappealing. Fortunately the staff was extremely helpful and willingly showed us other available rooms. We chose the room that was pictured on the web site. The bed was comfortable, but the room otherwise was sorely in need of renovation. The bathroom was very small and looked as if last updated about 30 years ago. To get hot water required fully opening the tap at least 3 to 5 minutes before desired use. The shower water pressure was barely adequate and became nonexistent when the sink was turned on. Our package included breakfast. Again the accommodating staff outshone the quality of the food. Beside the perfectly made omelets, the offerings were mediocre. The bread choices were particularly disappointing and no better than ordinary grocery store quality.

I sincerely regret the need to post such a negative review, but we settled on this hotel because of the overall Tripadvisor rating, which we are at a loss to explain based on our experience. Overall I would have rated this hotel below average, if we hadn't appreciated the extraordinarily accommodating and friendly staff.

Room Tip: The web site information on the King House Mansion gives the impression that, other than the balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LovetoGo45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THECC, General Manager at Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Dear LovetoGo45:

It was a pleasure to speak with you and thank you once again for sharing your feedback. Although I appreciate your kind comments about our Estate's beauty and service I am sorry the Mansion was not to your liking. Rest assured although the plumbing and overall mansion's eccentricites are part of its' 174 year charm, wherever possible we will continue to focus on ensuring it is both comfortable and enjoyable. As discussed, I believe one of our newer suites in our more modern hotel wings might be more to your liking. I hope I can soon welcome you back to the historic Hudson Valley, as a reminder Fall and the overall Harvest/Halloween season is one of my personal favorities. All the best to you and your husband, I look forward to welcoming you back!

-Joe Santore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarrytown
1.3 mi away
Castle Hotel & Spa
Castle Hotel & Spa
#6 of 7 in Tarrytown
195 reviews
0.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Tarrytown
1.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Tarrytown Westchester County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Tarrytown Hotel
Sheraton Tarrytown Hotel
#7 of 7 in Tarrytown
518 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Westchester
4.9 mi away
The Time Nyack
The Time Nyack
#1 of 3 in Nyack
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson

Address: 49 E Sunnyside Ln, Tarrytown, NY 10591-9500 (Formerly Tarrytown House Estate & Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Westchester County > Tarrytown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tarrytown
#1 Business Hotel in Tarrytown
#2 Family Hotel in Tarrytown
#2 Green Hotel in Tarrytown
Price Range: $123 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson 3.5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 25 miles from Midtown Manhattan this estate blends historical charm with modern conveniences. Residing on 26-acres overlooking the Lower Hudson River Valley, well-appointed lodging is found at Tarrytown House Estate, featuring impressive 19th-century mansions - King Mansion and Biddle Mansion - a Carriage House and The Cottage. A Perfect getaway for a weekend adult escape from the city or a destination wedding. Tarrytown House Estate offers luxurious Hudson Valley lodging and amenities. This landmark hotel in Westchester, NY features extensive leisure and recreational facilities such as a fitness center, family friendly heated indoor pool and a seasonal adult only outdoor pool. The estate also offers seasonal/complimentary basketball, volleyball, bocce, horse-shoes and tennis courts. Historic Westchester County proves to enhance a visitor's Hudson Valley lodging experience with incredible opportunities for Hudson River Valley antiquing, boating, hiking and sightseeing. Enjoy any or all of these activities among the rich and historic atmosphere known as home to Westchester, New York's famous sites including the Washington Irving's Sunnyside, Philipsburg Manor and the spectacular Rockefeller estate, Kykuit. While staying at Tarrytown House Estate, guests can experience the many attractions that the Hudson Valley has to offer including the scenic Hudson Park, Neuberger Museum of Art, Grand Prix New York Racing, and the Cortlandt Heritage Museum. The hotel is also located only 5 miles away from Stone Barns Center for Food and Agriculture where guests can enjoy various dishes made from locally grown produce and ingredients at the center's restaurant, Blue Hill at Stone Barns. The hotel is also near the United States Military Academy at West Point, offering convenient accommodations during graduation or family events at the academy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarrytown House Estate On The Hudson Hotel Tarrytown
Tarrytown Hotel Estate
Tarrytown House Hotel
Dolce Tarrytown House
Tarrytown Dolce House
Tarrytown House Estate On The Hudson NY - Westchester County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing