We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Such an amazing experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Tarrytown
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Such an amazing experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

We are so grateful for coming to this fantastic place. A friend of mine recommended it to me and so I brought my husband for his birthday!! We had a great experience, the staff members are very nice, friendly, helpful, always trying to make us happy, comfortable; especially Rob, Anthony, Joe, and Ana Marie. They made our stayed unforgettable. Thank so much.
Also, the food! Breakfast and dinner was so delicious, especially the smoked pork chop, and the fact that they make the omeletts and pancakes right in front of you. No complaints at all.
Everything seems that is made in such a way thay you will never forget your stay.
The views are incredible. We had an upgrade to the King Mansion, and we loved it. It is so different from what we are accustomed to, the victorian style is so lovely and romantic.
Definitely coming back.
Thank you for all the special attentions and for making my husband's birthday just perfect!!!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andres A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THECC, Director of Sales at Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Hello Andres A-

Thank you for taking the time out to share your review of your recent stay at our Estate. We were thrilled to host you and your husband on this birthday weekend and happy to hear we did not dissapoint.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Estate in the very near future and wish you all the best in your future travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    819
    310
    159
    72
    29
See reviews for
290
624
57
232
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

Spacious, lovely, quiet, unique. Unlike a chain hotel. Staff at front desk, dining room and housekeeping went out of their way to insure a memorable stay and meeting every need in a generous and friendly manner. Rooms were modest size and finish level, beds were good quality. Bathrooms clean, clean , clean. Selected not to stay in King House Mansion because of limited bed size and age of building.
Food quality in regular dining area was WAY ABOVE expectation. Grounds were beautiful.
Special pricing of Bed and Breakfast offer made cost very, very reasonable.
We left a Kindle in the room on checkout and were contacted by staff within hours when hotel made arrangements to ship home via FedEx.
Hospitality of staff shined.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CAM_GH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THECC, Director of Sales at Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Hello CAM_GH

Thank you for taking the time to share your review after your recent stay at our Estate. We were very happy to host you and happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us.

I am especially happy to hear we were able to return your Kindle in short notice, as we take great pride in our efforts to return our guests items left behind.

We hope to welcome you back to our property in the near future and wish you all the best in your future travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
Level Contributor
143 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

Beautiful property. The front desk service is efficient, friendly, and courteous. Our room was nice, but a bit of a walk from the main lobby. Not complaining, but be aware that you will be walking. Free parking and Wifi. Pool, workout room, Sports court and tennis court available. Surrounded by beautiful trees and lawns.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank C T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THECC, Director of Sales at Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Hello CT

Thank you for taking the time to sharre your review after your most recent stay at our Estate. We value your feedback.

I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and our grounds. Our travelers continue to enjoy our property layout although we are not structured as a traditional hotel. Although this does create more walking, I am happy to hear you enjoyed this.

I hope to welcome you back to our property in the near future and wish you all the best in your future travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, MD
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

From the pictures, this looked like the perfect place to relax and enjoy our brief vacation. The drive through the grounds were encouraging, however, the accommodations were exceptionally disappointing. We rejected the first room we were shown in the King House Mansion. Everything was outdated and unappealing. Fortunately the staff was extremely helpful and willingly showed us other available rooms. We chose the room that was pictured on the web site. The bed was comfortable, but the room otherwise was sorely in need of renovation. The bathroom was very small and looked as if last updated about 30 years ago. To get hot water required fully opening the tap at least 3 to 5 minutes before desired use. The shower water pressure was barely adequate and became nonexistent when the sink was turned on. Our package included breakfast. Again the accommodating staff outshone the quality of the food. Beside the perfectly made omelets, the offerings were mediocre. The bread choices were particularly disappointing and no better than ordinary grocery store quality.

I sincerely regret the need to post such a negative review, but we settled on this hotel because of the overall Tripadvisor rating, which we are at a loss to explain based on our experience. Overall I would have rated this hotel below average, if we hadn't appreciated the extraordinarily accommodating and friendly staff.

Room Tip: The web site information on the King House Mansion gives the impression that, other than the balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LovetoGo45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THECC, General Manager at Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear LovetoGo45:

It was a pleasure to speak with you and thank you once again for sharing your feedback. Although I appreciate your kind comments about our Estate's beauty and service I am sorry the Mansion was not to your liking. Rest assured although the plumbing and overall mansion's eccentricites are part of its' 174 year charm, wherever possible we will continue to focus on ensuring it is both comfortable and enjoyable. As discussed, I believe one of our newer suites in our more modern hotel wings might be more to your liking. I hope I can soon welcome you back to the historic Hudson Valley, as a reminder Fall and the overall Harvest/Halloween season is one of my personal favorities. All the best to you and your husband, I look forward to welcoming you back!

-Joe Santore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haymarket, Virginia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

quiet and relaxing on business trip stayed here before. some rooms have limited view of river which mine did. room clean and good night sleep. 1 con is hard to locate ice machine appears to be one for the whole hotel? easy to get to GPS takes you right to the property.Would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GTBAKER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THECC, Director of Sales at Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Hello GTBAKER

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent review of our Estate after your stay with us. We were thrilled to host your group and value your feedback.

We hope to welcome you back again to our property in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelham, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

Just spent a weekend away with my wife for our anniversary at the Tarrytown House and had a perfectly lovely experience. The grounds are beautiful, the buildings well-maintained and the staff extremely helpful and friendly. We had cocktails and dinner both nights at their Cellar 49 and were very pleased with the fare and the service (John is a fabulous raconteur and runs a tight ship). The location was a perfect home base for touring several of the famous Hudson River Valley estates, though we couldn't make it to all the sites. Even though there were weddings both days of the weekend we stayed we never felt rushed or overlooked. Overall we had a great and relaxing time and are looking forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aascharf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THECC, Director of Sales at Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Hello aascharf

Congratulations on your anniversary. We are thrilled to have had the opportunity to host you during this special weekend and thank you for sharing your review of our Estate with our Trip Advisor community.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Estate and visiting our Cellar 49 again!

All the best in your future travels and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Quite nice but not a very warm place, henceforth the Business Hotel classification description. A bit confusing layout of the rooms and other amenities. Breakfast is quite expensive ($20 to $25 per person). Indoor pool and hot tub very clean.

Room Tip: Our room was to have a river view, however it was blocked by the trees - a summer issue so be aware
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HOIMAGING
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THECC, Director of Sales at Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your review of our Estate. We appreciate the feedback you shared with our Trip Advisor community.

I am sorry to hear you found the Estate to be be too business in nature. Although we do host many conferences, we also host many social affairs such as weddings as well as many Leisure travelers who enjoy the grounds and amenities of what we provide.

We wish you all the best in your future travels and do hope to welcome you back to the Estate, whether for business or pleasure!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tarrytown hotels
1.3 mi away
Castle Hotel & Spa
Castle Hotel & Spa
#5 of 7 in Tarrytown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Tarrytown
1.4 mi away
Courtyard Tarrytown Greenburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Westchester Marriott
Westchester Marriott
#4 of 7 in Tarrytown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
1.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Tarrytown Greenburgh
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Tarrytown Hotel
Sheraton Tarrytown Hotel
#7 of 7 in Tarrytown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson

Property: Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson
Address: 49 E Sunnyside Ln, Tarrytown, NY 10591-9500 (Formerly Tarrytown House Estate & Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Westchester County > Tarrytown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tarrytown
#1 Business Hotel in Tarrytown
#2 Green Hotel in Tarrytown
#2 Family Hotel in Tarrytown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson 3.5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 25 miles from Midtown Manhattan this estate blends historical charm with modern conveniences. Residing on 26-acres overlooking the Lower Hudson River Valley, well-appointed lodging is found at Tarrytown House Estate, featuring impressive 19th-century mansions - King Mansion and Biddle Mansion - a Carriage House and The Cottage. A Perfect getaway for a weekend adult escape from the city or a destination wedding. Tarrytown House Estate offers luxurious Hudson Valley lodging and amenities. This landmark hotel in Westchester, NY features extensive leisure and recreational facilities such as a fitness center, family friendly heated indoor pool and a seasonal adult only outdoor pool. The estate also offers seasonal/complimentary basketball, volleyball, bocce, horse-shoes and tennis courts. Historic Westchester County proves to enhance a visitor's Hudson Valley lodging experience with incredible opportunities for Hudson River Valley antiquing, boating, hiking and sightseeing. Enjoy any or all of these activities among the rich and historic atmosphere known as home to Westchester, New York's famous sites including the Washington Irving's Sunnyside, Philipsburg Manor and the spectacular Rockefeller estate, Kykuit. While staying at Tarrytown House Estate, guests can experience the many attractions that the Hudson Valley has to offer including the scenic Hudson Park, Neuberger Museum of Art, Grand Prix New York Racing, and the Cortlandt Heritage Museum. The hotel is also located only 5 miles away from Stone Barns Center for Food and Agriculture where guests can enjoy various dishes made from locally grown produce and ingredients at the center's restaurant, Blue Hill at Stone Barns. The hotel is also near the United States Military Academy at West Point, offering convenient accommodations during graduation or family events at the academy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarrytown House Estate On The Hudson Hotel Tarrytown
Tarrytown Hotel Estate
Tarrytown House Hotel
Tarrytown Dolce House
Dolce Tarrytown House
Tarrytown House Estate On The Hudson NY - Westchester County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing