We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“trip with small kids” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Tarrytown
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
great neck, ny
2 reviews
“trip with small kids”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2008

i stayed here labor day weekend with my husband and our two children who are 4 and 7.

the outdoor pool was very nice and the flat screen tv was nice as well. but there were no good channels (i.e. mtv, vh1, disney, etc) we had to change our room three times until we found one that was close enough to the pool. with small kids you dont want to hike to the pool/breakfast each day.

the breakfast buffet was also good and service was okay. the indoor pool was very small and the gym needs to be updated as well. the rooms were spacious and clean but i felt the bathrooms could be updated too.

we asked the front desk for a nice italian restaurant and the best they could do was recommend a pizza shop that was a dive. i guess this place is good for business but not really for families. we enjoyed the outdoor pool more than anything.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank evenjesse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    816
    307
    155
    70
    28
See reviews for
287
623
56
227
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2008

Everything was absolutely perfect from start to finish. Check in was efficient and friendly. First impressions of our room was it was large, large beds, nice tv (bathrooms kind of a let down but do not reconsider because of this) pool area was really nice. Sports center was great, played a game of racquetball then jumped in the pool, then got in some sun. Went walking later on around the property and saw some interesting antiques and pictures.

The property was just so perfect. Green grasses, flower gardens, everything was ideal for a day to relax. Didn't try the on site restaurant, we decided to break our cheesecake factory virginity (20 mins away).

Everything was just perfect here. Can't wait to return

  • Liked — Location and amenities provided for quiet much needed relaxation
  • Disliked — nothing, it seriously was perfect
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank pon555512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2008

I recently was a guest at the Tarrytown House Estate & Conference Center and the only word I can use to describe the property and the experience is...WOW.

From the moment I stepped into their newly renovated lobby I felt right at home. The service was top notch beginning with my check-in experience, overall the staff truly made me feel like family.

After check-in into my renovated guestroom I headed to the pool area. I was pleasantly surprised to see that they had added to their once mediocre pool grill. The menu boosts both hot and cold items that were available at the drop of a hat. It also offers cold beverages, both alcoholic and non-alcoholic, which is just what I needed on a scorching summer day.

We had planned to dine offsite for dinner but then wandered into "Cellar 49", a new addition to the estate. Once a sub par dining establishment, this space had been 100% transformed into a "true dining experience." Resembling a trendy NY steakhouse this restaurant is only available for hotel guests, which is most likely the only reason I got a table. With it's upscale, yet casual menu, there is something for every palate.

I had been a guest at the conference center in the past for business purposes and was always pleased. The weekends at this estate is a whole new world! I would highly recommend the Tarrytown House for a planned trip or simply to get away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life.

Can't wait to return,

Megan Skelly

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
Thank mskelly11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2008

Came up with GF from NYC for quick romantic get-away. A friend I work with was there for a meeting in June. Raved about place.

We called and got a great Bed & Breakfast deal. Rate was $189 and they upgraded us at check in.

Grounds were real nice, old. Layout like most write was crazy! Very difficult at first. Service from desk clerks were great.

Room was real plush, ask for Rockway wing. These upgraded rooms overlook gardens and have granite dry bar, fridge, etc.
Bed was real nice and comfortable. AC was noisy but cranked cold.

We ate at pool which was great, drinks were reasonable for the place. Breakfast was great. We did not eat at restaurant but had drinks there, very nice.

Only complaint was they did not supervise kids too well at pool, splashing all over and oblivious parents. Other than that great, we will be back!

  • Liked — Grounds, Room and Pool
  • Disliked — Splashing Brats in Pool
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Surftel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2008

My boyfriend surprised me with a weekend away at Tarrytown House Estate this past weekend. Due to traffic, I beat him there, however, he had called ahead to assure I would be able to check in without him (they made no mention of me giving a credit card or needing to sign anything, only ID was needed). I explained to the woman who checked me in that this trip/stay was a special gift, still she insisted on using my credit card number to hold everything until we checked out. This I was fine with, not OK was her handing me over a paper to sign indicating the total that my boyfriend had paid for everything!...I told her that I thought he may have wanted this to be a secret and perhaps she could be a bit more discrete. She shrugged and said "it's policy". When he arrived he went to the front desk to switch our cards and also told her he wished too that she would have waited (as he requested on the phone) for HIS credit card as (again) this was a gift. She said that it was policy...he said that he undertstands policy, but how about a bit of hospitality (mind you he arrived only 30minutes after me). She literally said, "I guess we are not hospitable"?!.
The room was fine, we had a nice time laying out at the pool.
This was all basically negated in the end though, as they charged my card for the whole weekend. Again, despite him checking out in the end and giving them HIS CARD.
This is the first negative review I have EVER written about a hotel...I was just shocked that what was meant to be a romantic surprise weekend was handled so carelessy and callously by the staff. I would not have a wedding or other event here based on the interaction I had.

  • Liked — The pool
  • Disliked — The service and staff at the front desk.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank kcm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2008

Immaculate, spacious room on beautifully landscaped grounds in quiet setting. Friendly staff. Upon arriving home, I received a follow-up survey from the hotel via e-mail. The only fault I could come up with concerning our Sunday night stay was an overly loud ac unit that kicked in at 3 a.m. The hotel manager sent me back a personal e-mail saying the matter would be addressed right away. Fitness center seemed a bit outdated and small compared to the rest of the well-designed property, but was adequate for a morning workout/swim. We booked the room with a AAA discount, and received what I considered a competitive rate for the area. Overall, a very pleasant experience.

  • Liked — beautiful interior design of room and cleanliness
  • Disliked — air conditioner unit
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LakelandMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, CT
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2008

I was looking for a quiet elegant weekend get away for my husband and I that was close to CT (due to gas prices). This was perfect. Because it is a conference center the prices are cheaper on weekends and the place is quiet with no overcrowding. The indoor pool and jacuzzi were great and the sports center had both weights and cardio machines. They also have tennis courts, bocci ball, and basketball available. The new Cellar 49 Tavern was a nice place to hang out and eat a nice dinner. The food was very good but nothing major to write home about. I had the filet and my husband had the salmon. The rooms are nice and pretty basic. We were on the lower level of Rockland House which made me think there was a musty smell to the room. But the grounds and mansions are BEAUTIFUL. I would definitely come here again! Also a great place for a wedding.

  • Liked — Resort like hotel with everything onsite
  • Disliked — Musty room on lower level
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sjtaylor444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tarrytown hotels
1.4 mi away
Castle Hotel & Spa
Castle Hotel & Spa
#5 of 7 in Tarrytown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.9 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Tarrytown
1.4 mi away
Courtyard Tarrytown Greenburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Westchester Marriott
Westchester Marriott
#4 of 7 in Tarrytown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
1.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Tarrytown Greenburgh
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Tarrytown Hotel
Sheraton Tarrytown Hotel
#7 of 7 in Tarrytown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson

Property: Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson
Address: 49 E Sunnyside Ln, Tarrytown, NY 10591-9500 (Formerly Tarrytown House Estate & Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Westchester County > Tarrytown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Tarrytown
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tarrytown
#2 Green Hotel in Tarrytown
#2 Family Hotel in Tarrytown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson 3.5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 25 miles from Midtown Manhattan this estate blends historical charm with modern conveniences. Residing on 26-acres overlooking the Lower Hudson River Valley, well-appointed lodging is found at Tarrytown House Estate, featuring impressive 19th-century mansions - King Mansion and Biddle Mansion - a Carriage House and The Cottage. A Perfect getaway for a weekend adult escape from the city or a destination wedding. Tarrytown House Estate offers luxurious Hudson Valley lodging and amenities. This landmark hotel in Westchester, NY features extensive leisure and recreational facilities such as a fitness center, family friendly heated indoor pool and a seasonal adult only outdoor pool. The estate also offers seasonal/complimentary basketball, volleyball, bocce, horse-shoes and tennis courts. Historic Westchester County proves to enhance a visitor's Hudson Valley lodging experience with incredible opportunities for Hudson River Valley antiquing, boating, hiking and sightseeing. Enjoy any or all of these activities among the rich and historic atmosphere known as home to Westchester, New York's famous sites including the Washington Irving's Sunnyside, Philipsburg Manor and the spectacular Rockefeller estate, Kykuit. While staying at Tarrytown House Estate, guests can experience the many attractions that the Hudson Valley has to offer including the scenic Hudson Park, Neuberger Museum of Art, Grand Prix New York Racing, and the Cortlandt Heritage Museum. The hotel is also located only 5 miles away from Stone Barns Center for Food and Agriculture where guests can enjoy various dishes made from locally grown produce and ingredients at the center's restaurant, Blue Hill at Stone Barns. The hotel is also near the United States Military Academy at West Point, offering convenient accommodations during graduation or family events at the academy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarrytown House Estate On The Hudson Hotel Tarrytown
Tarrytown Hotel Estate
Tarrytown House Hotel
Tarrytown Dolce House
Dolce Tarrytown House
Tarrytown House Estate On The Hudson NY - Westchester County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing