We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tarrytown delight”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Tarrytown
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
“Tarrytown delight”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

The location of Tarrytown house is ideal if you have planned to visit the many wonderful sites around this section of the Hudson Valley. It is close enough to the Storm king Museum and the DIA Beacon museum if you like art. The Culinary Institute of America is another great experience and we enjoyed a wonderful lunch at one of their restaurants. The hotel has beautifully landscaped grounds and is in general very well maintained. The staff was always friendly an attentive and the rooms comfortable and clean. The restaurant and bar were fantastic and there is a wonderful buffet breakfast available too. I will reccomend to friends and family and wiould come back if visiting that part of the country again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marylande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THECC, Director of Sales at Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Hello Marylande

Thank you for taking the time out to share your review with our Trip Advisor community. We are very excited to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us as well some of what our lower Hudson Valley area has to offer. With plenty more to do in the area we do hope you come back and visit us again real soon.

All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    834
    320
    165
    76
    33
See reviews for
294
643
61
241
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hauppauge, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Very nice hotel, grounds were very beautiful. Very good location from all the activities in Sleepy Hollow. I was given a tip to ask for a room in the platinum wing because it was newer than the other rooms and my husband and I were very pleased, very comfortable bed.

A special thank-you to our bell-hop Steven C.-very sweet and helpful!

Room Tip: Platinum wing had some of the newer rooms, and we were very satisfied. Very comfortable bed and clea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kcastain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THECC, Director of Sales at Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Hello Kastain C-

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with our Trip Advisor community. We are extremely happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and the area in which we reside. We are also very happy to hear Steven was able to take such good care of you!

We hope to welcome you back to our property real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood Lake, New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Beautiful and serene environment. It had a European feel. The landscaping was amazing. Great food, service, and amenities. The gym and pool were wonderful. Was there for business but would also return with my family. Would definitely recommend this location for anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank April K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THECC, Director of Sales at Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Hello April K

Thank you for taking the time to share your most review with our Trip Advisor community. It is reviews like yours that have made us #1 in Westchester county!

I am happy to hear you enjoyed our conference facilities and wether here for a meeting, wedding, or a leisure getaway, Tarrytown House Estate can offer just what you need!

Please bring your family back to the property as we would love to welcome you back real soon!

All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fitchburg, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 25, 2013

My wife and I left on a trip not knowing where we would stay. I remembered seeing something about this place on Jersetter so we decided to try it. Wow it was great. Very clean, inside and out. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The food in the restaurant was fantastic. No complaints. A definite winner.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 0704Mokeski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THECC, Director of Sales at Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Hello 0704Mokeski,

Thank you for taking the time out to share your review with our Trip Advisor community! We are thrilled you were able to enjoy your stay with us and you enjoyed our breautiful grounds and Cellar 49 restaurant!

We hope to have the change to welcome you back to our property in the near future.

All the best in your future travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed at the Tarrytown House during a friend's wedding. The grounds were gorgeous, a great place for a wedding. The room, however, was a very basic and straightforward hotel room - nothing special. Everything was very clean and good quality (the bedding, the shampoo brands, the little details) but we still felt it was overpriced. You're paying for the venue essentially, so it depends on what's important to you. If we were in Tarrytown again, we'd choose a more affordable hotel such as the Marriott next time, where the rooms were just as good if not better - but significantly cheaper.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Libbiebess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THECC, Director of Sales at Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Hello Libbiebess,

Thank you taking the time out to share your review after your recent stay with us for this wedding. We are thrilled to host such life events and were happy to have you as our guest.

I appreciate your feedback on our beautiful grounds. We take much pride in this up keep and is often a deciding factor when couples choose us for their wedding.

I am sorry to hear you did not find value in our sleeping rooms. We continue to invest in our property to enhance such features and do hope you visit us again with the expectation of providing such value.

All the best in your future travels,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I stay here often and absolutely love it. I'll stay nowhere else in Tarrytown (or surrounding towns) and love the Cellar. New fall/winter menu is perfect for the weather. I've never had a bad meal in the Cellar. Great respite for NYC dwellers. A short drive or train ride from the city and you get treated like royalty. Highly recommend!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CorkandKerry65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THECC, Director of Sales at Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Hello CorkandKerry65,

We are thrilled to have hosted you again and thank you for taking the time to share your review with our Trip Advisor community!

I am happy to hear you enjoyed our new seasonal menu in our Cellar 49! As we do update our menu seasonally, please plan a return visit to experience!

All the best in your future travels and thank you for making Tarrytown House your choice to stay in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blakeslee, PA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

My friend and I wanted to do all things Halloween in Tarrytown, Sleepy Hollow, and the Pumpkin Blaze at Croton-on-the-Hudson. We booked a double luxury room at this hotel and everything was perfection from the moment we viewed the gorgeous grounds driving up the hill to this estate. The staff is beyond friendly and accommodating - the general manager John was so helpful. We are two high school friends that do travel trips for fun and this one tops the list! We are already planning a return stay here. The Tarrytown House is just off the Tappan Zee Bridge - it is absolutely the best location for doing this area of the Hudson. We stayed two nights and on our last day thought we would check out the Castle on the Hudson for breakfast. Don't even bother; the staff there was beyond chilly and not friendly at all! This is truly a beautiful place to stay - and I would imagine a perfect spot for a business conference!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rasscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THECC, Director of Sales at Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Hello Rasscat,

Thank you for selecting the Tarrytown House as your choice to stay during your visit to the home of Halloween! This is such a beautiful time of year in this area with many activities to celebrate the season. We know you have many options and happy to have had the chance to host you and your friend.

We hope to welcome you back to our Estate in the future and wish you all the best in your continued travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarrytown
0.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Tarrytown
1.3 mi away
Castle Hotel & Spa
Castle Hotel & Spa
#6 of 7 in Tarrytown
169 reviews
1.4 mi away
Courtyard Tarrytown Greenburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Tarrytown Greenburgh
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Tarrytown Hotel
Sheraton Tarrytown Hotel
#7 of 7 in Tarrytown
485 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Westchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson

Property: Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson
Address: 49 E Sunnyside Ln, Tarrytown, NY 10591-9500 (Formerly Tarrytown House Estate & Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Westchester County > Tarrytown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tarrytown
#1 Business Hotel in Tarrytown
#2 Family Hotel in Tarrytown
#2 Green Hotel in Tarrytown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson 3.5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 25 miles from Midtown Manhattan this estate blends historical charm with modern conveniences. Residing on 26-acres overlooking the Lower Hudson River Valley, well-appointed lodging is found at Tarrytown House Estate, featuring impressive 19th-century mansions - King Mansion and Biddle Mansion - a Carriage House and The Cottage. A Perfect getaway for a weekend adult escape from the city or a destination wedding. Tarrytown House Estate offers luxurious Hudson Valley lodging and amenities. This landmark hotel in Westchester, NY features extensive leisure and recreational facilities such as a fitness center, family friendly heated indoor pool and a seasonal adult only outdoor pool. The estate also offers seasonal/complimentary basketball, volleyball, bocce, horse-shoes and tennis courts. Historic Westchester County proves to enhance a visitor's Hudson Valley lodging experience with incredible opportunities for Hudson River Valley antiquing, boating, hiking and sightseeing. Enjoy any or all of these activities among the rich and historic atmosphere known as home to Westchester, New York's famous sites including the Washington Irving's Sunnyside, Philipsburg Manor and the spectacular Rockefeller estate, Kykuit. While staying at Tarrytown House Estate, guests can experience the many attractions that the Hudson Valley has to offer including the scenic Hudson Park, Neuberger Museum of Art, Grand Prix New York Racing, and the Cortlandt Heritage Museum. The hotel is also located only 5 miles away from Stone Barns Center for Food and Agriculture where guests can enjoy various dishes made from locally grown produce and ingredients at the center's restaurant, Blue Hill at Stone Barns. The hotel is also near the United States Military Academy at West Point, offering convenient accommodations during graduation or family events at the academy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarrytown House Estate On The Hudson Hotel Tarrytown
Tarrytown Hotel Estate
Tarrytown House Hotel
Dolce Tarrytown House
Tarrytown Dolce House
Tarrytown House Estate On The Hudson NY - Westchester County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing