We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful grounds, excellent food, comfy bed and linens” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Tarrytown
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful grounds, excellent food, comfy bed and linens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

I stay here often and absolutely love it. I'll stay nowhere else in Tarrytown (or surrounding towns) and love the Cellar. New fall/winter menu is perfect for the weather. I've never had a bad meal in the Cellar. Great respite for NYC dwellers. A short drive or train ride from the city and you get treated like royalty. Highly recommend!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CorkandKerry65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THECC, Director of Sales at Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Hello CorkandKerry65,

We are thrilled to have hosted you again and thank you for taking the time to share your review with our Trip Advisor community!

I am happy to hear you enjoyed our new seasonal menu in our Cellar 49! As we do update our menu seasonally, please plan a return visit to experience!

All the best in your future travels and thank you for making Tarrytown House your choice to stay in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    817
    307
    155
    70
    28
See reviews for
287
623
56
227
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blakeslee, PA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

My friend and I wanted to do all things Halloween in Tarrytown, Sleepy Hollow, and the Pumpkin Blaze at Croton-on-the-Hudson. We booked a double luxury room at this hotel and everything was perfection from the moment we viewed the gorgeous grounds driving up the hill to this estate. The staff is beyond friendly and accommodating - the general manager John was so helpful. We are two high school friends that do travel trips for fun and this one tops the list! We are already planning a return stay here. The Tarrytown House is just off the Tappan Zee Bridge - it is absolutely the best location for doing this area of the Hudson. We stayed two nights and on our last day thought we would check out the Castle on the Hudson for breakfast. Don't even bother; the staff there was beyond chilly and not friendly at all! This is truly a beautiful place to stay - and I would imagine a perfect spot for a business conference!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rasscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THECC, Director of Sales at Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Hello Rasscat,

Thank you for selecting the Tarrytown House as your choice to stay during your visit to the home of Halloween! This is such a beautiful time of year in this area with many activities to celebrate the season. We know you have many options and happy to have had the chance to host you and your friend.

We hope to welcome you back to our Estate in the future and wish you all the best in your continued travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronkonkoma, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

My husband and I wanted to just go away for the weekend to celebrate our 10 year wedding anniversary. I googled around and found Tarrytown House. I coildnt have been happier with my choice. The grounds are gorgeous! The staff were super friendly! The rooms and entire estate was clean and decorated beautifully for October. The breakfast at the Biddle Mansion was delicious. They even offered complimentary apple cider donuts with little bags to put them in on our way out of the breakfast buffet. The grounds are gorgeous and we enjoyed looking around and taking pictures. Overall we will be coming back for sure.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeanineD4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THECC, Director of Sales at Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Hello JeanineD4,

Congratulations on your recent 10 year anniversary! We are thrilled that you selected the Tarrytown House to spend this special occasion and delighted that we did not dissapoint. We take much pride in hosting life events, such as weddings and anniversaries, and do hope we can host you again!

All the best in your future travels and hope to see you soon at the Tarrytown House!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

As we entered the grounds leading to the hotel, we were charmed by the beautifully manicured lawns, the gorgeous flowers and the specimen trees dotting the entryway.The staff were pleasant, but we were surprised that there would be a hold on our credit card of $80 each day of the stay in case we were to use any of the incidentals, something we had not been aware of when we booked the hotel. We had fully paid for the hotel, and did not use any incidentals, but were informed the hold would be removed once we checked out. For those of you wanting to stay for more than a few days, this is something you need to be aware of.
Our room was a bit disappointing. Small and neat, but dimly lit at any time of the day and our room was very far away from the entrance. Only one part of the hotel has an elevator, and if you do have a lot of luggage, then walking the distance after a long trip is not ideal. Although we do not have health issues, if you have joint/heart/medical issues, you may want to consider this when making a reservation.
There is no fan in the washroom, and one can hear people snore in the adjacent room, even if you are a deep sleeper like I am.
It is located approximately a mile and a half from downtown Tarrytown, but the traffic from the hotel to downtown Tarrytown can cause several delays, especially in rush hour, so you may need to give yourself some leeway ( extra time ) to reach your destination.
Overall, it's a great spot if you are a part of a wedding or conference, but if one expects the interior of the hotel room to be as magnificent as the outdoors, then it is disappointing.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveld0c123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THECC, Director of Sales at Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Hello Traveld0c123,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with our Trip Advisor community. We were delighted to have you as our guest during your recent visit.

We appreciate the positve comments you shared in relation to the beauty of our grounds. As a historic Estate, we take much pride in this up keep and are happy to hear you enjoyed this.

I also want to thank you for some areas where you feel we could improve. Unfortunately as a historic property, we are limited with elevators much like a traditional hotel, and will continue to make sure our guests are aware that there may be some walking involved during your stay.

However, much like all hotels, we do require a hold on a credit card for incidentals. I apologize if you were not aware of this prior and will ensure our reservations team continues to disclose this information to all our geusts when making reservations.

We would love to have you back to our property in the future and hope we will visit us again.

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there just one night. The grounds are beautiful, so that's the big draw here. The hotel itself is fine, but you need to do a lot of walking and climbing to get from place to place. If you're traveling without a car the location is not very convenient. I think it's a great spot for business meetings.



grounds are beautiful, so that's the big

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Debbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THECC, Director of Sales at Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Hello Debbie L,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with our Trip Advisor community.

I am happy to hear you enjoyed our beautiful grounds here at the property. As a historic estate with 12 buildings on 26 rolling acres, we receive many accolodes on the environment that has been created . Unfortunately some walking is required to experience, however happy to hear you enjoyed the beauty that we are known for.

We welcome you back in the future and wish you all the best in your future travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

I wanted to share the wonderful experience that my family had at the Tarrytown House this past weekend. The hotel and setting are beautiful. The food in the restaurant Cellar 49 and the breakfast buffet was delicious. What made this stay so special though was the outstanding service that we received. In particular, Arkys Fernandez the Rooms Manager went above and beyond what would be expected in order to ensure that our stay was terrific. We initially had the bad luck to be next to some very loud people who kept our kids up the entire night. The next day when we asked to change rooms, Arkys spent a huge amount of effort finding us a different, even nicer option, despite the fact that the hotel was completely booked. His efforts made what could have been an unpleasant trip into a wonderful weekend away. In addition to Arkys, all of the staff that we encountered were among the friendliest and most helpful that I have met in any hotel. We will definitely be back soon!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EMS358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THECC, Director of Sales at Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Hello EMS358,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with our Trip Advisor community. We are very happy to hear you had a pleasant stay with us!

We do receive consistent accolades for our Cellar 49, great breakfasts, and beautiful grounds. However our #1 asset are our people, like Arkys, who consistently go above and beyond for our guests. I am very happy to hear Arkys took such care of you during your vists with us and you were able to experience our level of service.

We will welcome you back to our Estate as we look forward to exceeding your expecations for your next stay.

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

My wife and I recently visited the Tarrytown/Sleep Hollow area to tour some mansions and enjoy the fall activities. We booked Tarrytown House because of the VIP Blaze tickets they included in our reservations. Upon arrival, the front desk was very welcoming and in the spirit of October, they had free apple cider and candy bags in the lobby. The layout of the hotel is a bit tricky, but not impossible. We were able to easily navigate to our room in no time. Our room was very clean, spacious and quiet. Three of the most important things you could ask for. The day we were there it was slightly raining and the hotel graciously offered complimentary umbrellas for their guests. Our package also came with free breakfast buffet. Most free buffets at hotels consist of luke warm eggs and bagels. Not here. They had two staff members making waffles, omelets and french toast. All the food was excellent as well as the staff.

I would highly recommend the Tarrytown House Estate if you are planning a visit to the area. The grounds are beautiful and you feel secluded while just being a few seconds away from everything. Plus the staff and management really know how to treat their guests and make them feel comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THECC, Director of Sales at Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Hello David S,

Thank you for taking the time out to share your review of your most recent stay at our Estate. We were thrilled to have you as our guest and extremley delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

Please visit us again next season as we will continue to run our Blaze package and make sure you are well fed during those lavish breakfasts that come with.

All the best in your futyre travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tarrytown hotels
1.4 mi away
Castle Hotel & Spa
Castle Hotel & Spa
#6 of 7 in Tarrytown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.9 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Tarrytown
1.4 mi away
Courtyard Tarrytown Greenburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Westchester Marriott
Westchester Marriott
#4 of 7 in Tarrytown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
1.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Tarrytown Greenburgh
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Tarrytown Hotel
Sheraton Tarrytown Hotel
#7 of 7 in Tarrytown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson

Property: Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson
Address: 49 E Sunnyside Ln, Tarrytown, NY 10591-9500 (Formerly Tarrytown House Estate & Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Westchester County > Tarrytown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tarrytown
#1 Business Hotel in Tarrytown
#2 Family Hotel in Tarrytown
#2 Green Hotel in Tarrytown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson 3.5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 25 miles from Midtown Manhattan this estate blends historical charm with modern conveniences. Residing on 26-acres overlooking the Lower Hudson River Valley, well-appointed lodging is found at Tarrytown House Estate, featuring impressive 19th-century mansions - King Mansion and Biddle Mansion - a Carriage House and The Cottage. A Perfect getaway for a weekend adult escape from the city or a destination wedding. Tarrytown House Estate offers luxurious Hudson Valley lodging and amenities. This landmark hotel in Westchester, NY features extensive leisure and recreational facilities such as a fitness center, family friendly heated indoor pool and a seasonal adult only outdoor pool. The estate also offers seasonal/complimentary basketball, volleyball, bocce, horse-shoes and tennis courts. Historic Westchester County proves to enhance a visitor's Hudson Valley lodging experience with incredible opportunities for Hudson River Valley antiquing, boating, hiking and sightseeing. Enjoy any or all of these activities among the rich and historic atmosphere known as home to Westchester, New York's famous sites including the Washington Irving's Sunnyside, Philipsburg Manor and the spectacular Rockefeller estate, Kykuit. While staying at Tarrytown House Estate, guests can experience the many attractions that the Hudson Valley has to offer including the scenic Hudson Park, Neuberger Museum of Art, Grand Prix New York Racing, and the Cortlandt Heritage Museum. The hotel is also located only 5 miles away from Stone Barns Center for Food and Agriculture where guests can enjoy various dishes made from locally grown produce and ingredients at the center's restaurant, Blue Hill at Stone Barns. The hotel is also near the United States Military Academy at West Point, offering convenient accommodations during graduation or family events at the academy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Jetsetter and Reservation Counter so you can book your Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarrytown House Estate On The Hudson Hotel Tarrytown
Tarrytown Hotel Estate
Tarrytown House Hotel
Tarrytown Dolce House
Dolce Tarrytown House
Tarrytown House Estate On The Hudson NY - Westchester County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing