We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff Made Us Feel Like The Lord & Lady of the Manor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Tarrytown
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Northeast PA
Level Contributor
88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Staff Made Us Feel Like The Lord & Lady of the Manor”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

My husband and I celebrated our 46th wedding anniversary weekend at the Tarrytown House. From the moment we stepped onto the property until the time we checked out we were treated like royalty by the entire staff.

We were immediately greeted with a smile and "happy anniversary" by the front desk clerk. She presented us with 2 tickets for complimentary drinks in Cellar 49. Our room was tastefully appointed and very clean. The bed was firm yet comfortable although the pillows were not to my liking. I am fussy when it comes to bed pillows so next time I will bring my own. I also thought the bathroom was a bit small and the lighting could have been better. But these things did not detract from the ambiance and comfort of this lovely room. We requested a bottle of wine to be waiting in our room when we checked in. However, for some reason, it arrived much later while we were out. My husband called the front desk to say we no longer wanted the wine. He was told it was no problem someone would come to pick it up. A few minutes later the phone rang and the voice on the other end said :"Happy anniversary.....enjoy the wine at no charge compliments of the hotel"! This spoke volumes about the "guest first" attitude of this superior hotel.

The Cellar 49 bar is a great place to have a cocktail before and/or after dinner. Nora, the bartender, made us feel so welcome as she engaged us and other guests in pleasant conversation. And, this lady certainly knows how to make one fantastic ice cold Gray Goose martini!! Although we did not have a full meal in the Cellar 49 dining room we did enjoy the most delicious cauliflower soup along with some outstanding and carefully prepared small plates consisting of a crab cake with a caper citrus sauce and the most amazing Duck Liver and grilled figs. Another reviewer called the decor "odd". I completely disagree. The decor is rustic with beautiful wood and fine leather in keeping with the era of this beautiful old Mansion.

The buffet breakfast was fit for a King! In addition to lox and bagels (a personal favorite) there is a wide variety of other breakfast items including made to order waffles plus an omelette station, bacon, sausage, potatoes, cereal, breads, pastries and fresh fruit. Our coffee cups and water glasses were always filled and used dishes disappeared while we made a return trip to the buffet.

If all this wasn't impressive enough, I received a personal email from the hotel manager when I return home. I don't know when but we will definitely be returning to the Tarrytown House for another weekend get away in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: Our room in the Fairfield building was convenient to the pool, Biddle Mason restaurant and Cellar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roni J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THECC, Director of Sales at Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Rozeroni-

Happy 46th Anniversary! We are so thrilled you selected our historic Estate to celebrate such a special occasion!

Thank you for sharing your review with our Trip Advisor community. The feedback you share is used to continually exceed our guests expecations and from your review it sounds like we did not dissapoint.

Please visit us again for an anniversary, getaway weekend, or any special occasion.

We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    821
    312
    161
    73
    30
See reviews for
290
626
59
235
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2013

As you make that first turn onto the property, one word comes to mind, and that is IMPRESSIVE. From the moment that we checked in, and until we checked out , the staff could not have been more pleasant or accommodating. It proved to be a lovely get-away for a long weekend. Our room included the breakfast buffet which was excellent. The selection of the breakfast foods and service was excellent. Sergio (concierge) provided
a high level of hospitality and professionalism in familiarizing us with the area. The grounds are maintained beautifully and on a cool night, sitting around the fire pit was delightful.

Room Tip: The Westchester wing was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THECC, Director of Sales at Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Barbara-

Thank you for taking the time out to share your review of your most recent stay at our estate. We are thrilled you were able to enjoy your time with us and all our historic property has to offer. We are also extremley thrilled to hear Sergio took such great care of you during your time with us. Our associates continue to be our greatest asset.

We invite you to visit us again soon and please check our website for promotions and packages which may entice you to return sooner than expected!

All the best in your future travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelton, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed August 21, 2013

My best friend & I just stayed at the Tarrytown House this past weekend. We went for a relaxing weekend away & we certainly got what we wanted! The online photos made it look like the perfect getaway. Make no mistake - it was! Superior service far exceeded our already high expectations. Absolutely everyone was pleasant!

There were a few events going on but the estate is set up as such that you find your sanctuary. Very well spread out. We never had to wait to be seated for breakfast or dinner either. They were prepared & organized for the amount of guests they had.

The food was great & everything was spotless. Truly, I can't say enough nor can I get back there soon enough!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THECC, Director of Sales at Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Cynthia -

Thank you for taking the time out to share your review after your most recent stay with your friend at our Estate. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your time with us and all our historic property has to offer.

I invite you to visit us again in the fall and please continue to check our website for promotions and packages suited for your travel needs.

Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guilderland, New York
Level Contributor
157 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The room had a window unit which of course was very noisy. The restaurant was ok but the decor was really odd. On the plus side the service was excellent and the breakfast buffet was top rate. They have a nice pool.

Room Tip: I do not know if they have room without split unit but if they do insist on it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globewarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THECC, Director of Sales at Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out to share your review after your most recent stay at our Estate. We value this feedback as we continually use to upgrade our amenities and service levels to exceed our guests expectations.

We hope to see you back at the Estate in the future and all the best in your future travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2013

wonderful property. beautiful grounds. peaceful atmosphere. very friendly and helpful staff. rob at the front desk was eager to help with any request. rooms are nice and comfortable with plenty of space. bathrooms are small and could use a bit of an upgrade

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank y f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THECC, Director of Sales at Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out to share your review after your most recent stay at our Estate! We value this feedback and are happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us.

We are also thrilled to hear Rob took great care of you as our associates continue to be our #1 asset.

We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The Tarrytown House is a great resort except for a few minor and major problems.

After reading recent reviews I was preparing myself for just an ordinary hotel on some nice grounds and my exceptions were exceeded in that regard. Upon driving in your see the truly beautiful grounds. The hotel lobby is lovely with classical music playing, complimentary coffee, cookies and spa water. The front desk staff are exceptional and the entire staff here are what makes the difference between a nice and exceptional stay.

The first major problem is the distance between things and the numerous staircases. Registation is technically on the 5th floor, regular guest rooms are on floors 1-4. No matter where your room is you will encounter a great deal of walking and stairs when trying to navigate from your room to other locations on the property. Sacrificing some rooms to put in an elevator would eliminate a great deal of the walking and make things less confusing.

The rooms were nicely appointed, although the bathroom was a claustrophobic closet and the light did not come on without the noisy fan. The separate vanity area was nice and it was great that the closet was located there. The biggest problem with my stay was the air conditioning, it was incredibly loud and sounded like an idling truck all night long. I really should have requested to move, but didn't want to go through all that in the middle of the night. Instead I had to sleep with earplugs and a pillow over my head. I really wish I had time at check out to request a discount due to this issue as it was truly loud and was not on par with the rest of the experience.

The pool areas were great, the indoor pool was well heated and whirlpool had two jet level settings. The outdoor pool area is nice if you can get a spot on a chair. The cabana is lovely and they grill food and prepared frozen drinks there on the weekends (for a cost.) The only problem with the pool area is that there is not an adequate area to change in. There is just a bathroom with a shower in it. It was a very hot changing place.

I was also disappointed that the fire pit was not active during my stay and the terrible DJ music coming from a cookie cutter wedding reception in the Biddle Mansion was loud and could be heard throughout the property. The brunch was very good with excellent service. However 10:30am is very early to end a weekend brunch. The bar and pool also close at 10pm, even on the weekends. This is far too early. Even crazier, the outdoor pool area closes at 6pm! It sort of kills the nice experience it offers. This is an inclusive resort and you are not really near any bars, restaurants or things to do, so come with a bottle of wine for your room after "curfew."

I like the property, but if I stayed in the area again I would see if there was comparable property with reasonable closing times for the pool and bar. Also, if your AC makes noise when you turn it on it will not likely quiet down after while. Ask for a different room before you are stuck in the middle of the night.

Room Tip: Check your AC noise level before going to bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yyyzzz111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THECC, Director of Sales at Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your extensive review after your recent stay at our Estate.

We are happy to hear of all that you enjoyed during your stay with us and will be sure to share your reviews regarding our staff as they are our #1 asset.

Thank you also for taking the time to share some areas that did not meet your expecations. As a historic 170 year old Estate there are some natural challenges built however we continue to look for ways to improve and appreciate you sharing this.

We do hope to have the opportunity to see you again at our Estate and wish you all the best in your future travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The service was impeccable: Always friendly and helpful. The grounds and to a lesser extend the building(s) are very nice. The swimming pool and other amenities are of a high quality. We stayed in the "Westchester" wing and, as others already commented, the walls are very thin. The room looked a bit "tired". Anyway, there were three (!) weddings on Friday evening and three on Saturday evening, and wedding guests were talking in the hall way and adjacent rooms at 2-3 am. Needless to say it woke us up. I am happy that our 10-month old is a good sleeper, but be aware that these thin walls can keep you awake for a while! Also there are a lot of stairs to go up and down.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CollTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THECC, Director of Sales at Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear ColTom-

Thank you for your review after your most recent stay at our Estate. We appreciate you sharing your stay with our Trip Advisor community and am happy to hear you enjoyed the Estate and our associates who are our best asset.

I am sorry to hear you had challenges with neighboring guests and do hope you take the opportunity to visit us again.

All the best in your future travels and hope to welcome you and your family back to the Estate in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tarrytown hotels
1.3 mi away
Castle Hotel & Spa
Castle Hotel & Spa
#6 of 7 in Tarrytown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Tarrytown
1.4 mi away
Courtyard Tarrytown Greenburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Westchester Marriott
Westchester Marriott
#5 of 7 in Tarrytown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
1.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Tarrytown Greenburgh
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Tarrytown Hotel
Sheraton Tarrytown Hotel
#7 of 7 in Tarrytown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson

Property: Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson
Address: 49 E Sunnyside Ln, Tarrytown, NY 10591-9500 (Formerly Tarrytown House Estate & Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Westchester County > Tarrytown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tarrytown
#1 Business Hotel in Tarrytown
#2 Green Hotel in Tarrytown
#2 Family Hotel in Tarrytown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson 3.5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 25 miles from Midtown Manhattan this estate blends historical charm with modern conveniences. Residing on 26-acres overlooking the Lower Hudson River Valley, well-appointed lodging is found at Tarrytown House Estate, featuring impressive 19th-century mansions - King Mansion and Biddle Mansion - a Carriage House and The Cottage. A Perfect getaway for a weekend adult escape from the city or a destination wedding. Tarrytown House Estate offers luxurious Hudson Valley lodging and amenities. This landmark hotel in Westchester, NY features extensive leisure and recreational facilities such as a fitness center, family friendly heated indoor pool and a seasonal adult only outdoor pool. The estate also offers seasonal/complimentary basketball, volleyball, bocce, horse-shoes and tennis courts. Historic Westchester County proves to enhance a visitor's Hudson Valley lodging experience with incredible opportunities for Hudson River Valley antiquing, boating, hiking and sightseeing. Enjoy any or all of these activities among the rich and historic atmosphere known as home to Westchester, New York's famous sites including the Washington Irving's Sunnyside, Philipsburg Manor and the spectacular Rockefeller estate, Kykuit. While staying at Tarrytown House Estate, guests can experience the many attractions that the Hudson Valley has to offer including the scenic Hudson Park, Neuberger Museum of Art, Grand Prix New York Racing, and the Cortlandt Heritage Museum. The hotel is also located only 5 miles away from Stone Barns Center for Food and Agriculture where guests can enjoy various dishes made from locally grown produce and ingredients at the center's restaurant, Blue Hill at Stone Barns. The hotel is also near the United States Military Academy at West Point, offering convenient accommodations during graduation or family events at the academy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Preferred Hotels, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarrytown House Estate On The Hudson Hotel Tarrytown
Tarrytown Hotel Estate
Tarrytown House Hotel
Dolce Tarrytown House
Tarrytown Dolce House
Tarrytown House Estate On The Hudson NY - Westchester County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing