We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I attended a wedding, and plan to return for a weekend getaway soon!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Tarrytown
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Kingston, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“I attended a wedding, and plan to return for a weekend getaway soon!”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

From the moment I drove onto the property until the time I left, I felt like I was in paradise. The fountains, the gardens, the architecture, the staff, and the food were above my expectations. The room was quiet and comfortable. Every part of the facility was clean and manicured. I wish I had stayed longer so I could experience the other amenities.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THECC, Director of Sales at Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Hello Michelle R

Thank you for taking the time out to share your review after your most recent stay at our Estate for this wedding. We were thrilled to host you and this wedding and do hope to welcome you back to the Tarrytown House for a future event or getaway.

All the best in your summer travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    824
    317
    163
    73
    31
See reviews for
290
630
59
240
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Tarrytown house is good old america, pool boy, nice hotel with different buildings near to new york, outdoor pool, indoor pool, raquetball field, tennis and basketball court, everything wonderful.
Beautiful grounds, really friendly hotel staffers, Tavern location is not enough for a hotel like this. They should open the restaurant also in the summer time.
Nearby you have NYC and the westchester county with a lot of historical things to see.

Room Tip: Near the fitness
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dirk W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THECC, Director of Sales at Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dirk-

Thank you for taking the time out to share your review of the Tarrytown House Estate. We value the feedback you shared and are happy to hear you enjoyed all the amenties the Tarrytown House Estate has to offer.

We hope to see you again at the Estate in your future travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kew Gardens, NY, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2013

This is one gracious and lovely resort. Set in beautiful Hudson Valley, it has all things that make a resort successful: good swimming, fine food, excellent rooms (large ones), eager-to-please staffers. Area boasts historical sites to visit.
One especially pleasing feature: really friendly and efficient hotel staffers, from top person to the newest. Hard to find any fault with this resort.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the King Mansion; it is beautiful and stately but a long, long walk from the pool and r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THECC, Director of Sales at Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dave L-

Thank you for taking the time out to share your review after your most recent stay at the Tarrytown House Estate. Tarrytown was recently ranked Top 10 prettiest towns in America and happy that you were able to experience our surrounding area has to offer.

I invite you to continue to check our website for promotions and events in the area that may bring your travels back to Tarrytown sooner than you think!

All the best in your future travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2013

My wife and I have been going to Tarrytown House & Estate Conference Center since before we were married, and each time we went, they somehow made it an even more enjoyable experience than the last (which we hadn't thought possible). When it came time for us to select a place where we would get married, there was no contest. True to form, the staff at Tarrytown House & Estate went above and beyond to make sure that we were happy and that the event came off without a hitch.

We've gone back every year and this last time, we took our 4 year old. As usual, the accommodations were exceptional and the customer/guest service we experienced was outstanding. Miguel Rosario (Director of Rooms) is the epitome of professionalism and really went out of his way to make sure that we were comfortable and followed up during checkout to ensure that we enjoyed our stay. Carolann at the front desk was very cordial and friendly (even while taking care of a guest who had some sort of mix up through Expedia and was a little "difficult') during check in and check out. Nora at Cellar 49 is one of the best bartenders I've ever seen. Gracious, personable and always ready with a smile.

All in all, an incredible experience, which I've shared with my friends, family and now the internet. Tarrytown House & Estate has definitely become a family tradition, for obvious reasons.

Room Tip: For a romantic getaway, definitely opt for the King Mansion. For families, try the Putnam or Westche...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Astoria_NYR_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THECC, Director of Sales at Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Hello Astoria R,

It was such a pleasure reading your review after your most recent stay at the Tarrytown House Estate, and are truly honored to hold such a special place in you and your families memories.

We cherish hosting life events such as weddings and love welcoming our brides and grooms back to the Estate for anniversaries or getaways years later.

Please consider the Tarrytown House Estate a home away from home for you as we would love to continue to welcome you and your family back for years to come.

All the best in your future travels and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millburn, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Beautiful grounds complemented by great facilities that are well maintained. The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating going the extra distance for ourselves and over 30 of our guests who were here to celebrate a wedding. This is a "tough" group to please and everyone of them came away with a two thumbs up! The hotel went out of their way to make our stay as memorable as possible from setting up a special room for us to have breakfast to arranging transportation. I recommend them highly!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THECC, Director of Sales at Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Mark F-

Thank you for taking the time out to share your review after your most recent stay at the Tarrytown House Estate. We were thrilled to welcome you and the rest of the travelers for this wedding and hope to have the opportunity to host you again in your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed at the Tarrytown House last month, as it was very near Blue Hill at Stone Barns where we had dinner reservations (!!!). Upon arrival we were greeted warmly by the staff, made time to greet us personally and professionally, which we thought was super nice since there were something like four wedding groups staying at the hotel that weekend. The concierge, Sergio, was amazing - he booked our transportation to the restaurant and explained to us some details about the hotel and property (we were curious about some of the historical buildings on the property and he took the time to help us get to know the place). The location, pretty property, and service is what makes it worth staying here, as the rooms are just nice, clean, decently sized, standard hotel rooms. With the helpfulness of the concierge and ease of getting to BHSB, we'll definitely stay at the Tarrytown House next time we're in that neck of the woods.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HillHew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THECC, Director of Sales at Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out to share your review of the Tarrytown House Estate after your most recent visit to the area. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay and experienced great local attractions such as Stone Barns.

We are also happy to hear that Sergio at our Concierge desk gave you great service you have come to expect when staying at a property like the Tarrytown House. We appreciate this recognition as it is shared with our staff.

We hope to see you again at the Estate and please check out our website for future promotions and events in the area to make your visit to Tarrytown and the Lower Hudson Valley enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
703 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed for three nights over the Fourth of July weekend to attend a wedding. You drive in, and see the FABULOUS grounds and the beautiful historical buildings. And then you go in.

There is no valet parking available for hotel guests, and I happened to be in an orthopaedic boot at the moment -- it would have been nice. No one opened the door or asked us if we would like help with our luggage. (another guest we chatted with said they WERE asked if they'd like help, and when they replied "Yes, please," the staff walked into the building never to return.

The front desk staff was courteous, but as soon as they asked your name, they wanted to see your photo ID. Well .. . okay. The second thing they did was require us to sign a document that says we agree not to smoke on the premises. Really? Just saying it's a non-smoking facility isn't good enough? But we signed.

THEN . . . we are presented with a one-page document that they require all wedding party guests to sign about all the things you are not allowed to do while there. This included turning up the TV or radio too loud in your room, bringing any food or beverage onto the premises to eat while you are there, not wearing tank tops or bathing suits anywhere but in the pool area, etc. I was astounded. I have stayed in much nicer places for weddings and other events and have NEVER been asked to sign something like this

We are told that we have 15 minutes to move our car before it will be towed from the registration parking lot via sign, and given directions to our room -- either down a hill or down 4 separate levels of stairs. Again, in a boot. No elevators.

We make it to our room -- small but nice. A/C is provided via individual window unit, but works adequately (unlike other folks' rooms in our party).

It's 2 or so in the afternoon once we're parked in the room, and we haven't had lunch. So we head to the ONLY place on the premises to have some lunch (other than sitting at the pool). It's a small bar with minimum seating, dark and CROWDED (others were hungry too). We ask for a menu and the waitstaff tells us that it will take AT LEAST 30 minutes for us to get our orders . . . do we still want to order something? Yes, we do, but the front desk staff told us there was lovely outdoor seating available. Well, yes there is if you want to take your food to go and take it up to the terrace. So that's what we do. And it was beautiful there and we enjoyed our $100 to-go lunch.

The next evening we have a lovely rehearsal dinner on the grounds at Tarrytown House. The waitstaff was nice, but untrained (they took my unfinished plate while I was turned around -- still in my seat -- to talk to someone).

After the dinner, a group of us decided to head back over to the bar (it's about 10:15), order drinks, and find a cozy spot over in the corner. We are told that we have to leave by 11 PM because there is a private party starting at 11. Where else can we go? Nowhere -- nothing else is available on the premises. So we leave.

The next night it the wedding reception, again at Tarrytown House and again a fabulous affair. This time, WE are the private party at 11 -- until 1:30. Our host paid for this 2 1/2 hour event. The entire time we are there, two male "watchers" stand guard over our party, walking around "checking on us". It was creepy. What do they think we are going to do? At 1:15 they turn up the lights and ask us to leave. Again, a bit off-putting.

As I said before, they have a beautiful facility and an opportunity to have a wonderful venue. But their lack of polish, their ridiculous rules and "almost" fabulous venue have made this traveler determine that it is my last stay there. If we are ever invited to another event in the area, we'll be staying at the Marriott.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WednesdayNightGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tarrytown hotels
0.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Tarrytown
1.3 mi away
Castle Hotel & Spa
Castle Hotel & Spa
#5 of 7 in Tarrytown
170 reviews
1.4 mi away
Courtyard Tarrytown Greenburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Tarrytown Hotel
Sheraton Tarrytown Hotel
#7 of 7 in Tarrytown
478 reviews
1.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Tarrytown Greenburgh
1.5 mi away
Westchester Marriott
Westchester Marriott
#6 of 7 in Tarrytown
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson

Property: Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson
Address: 49 E Sunnyside Ln, Tarrytown, NY 10591-9500 (Formerly Tarrytown House Estate & Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Westchester County > Tarrytown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tarrytown
#1 Business Hotel in Tarrytown
#2 Family Hotel in Tarrytown
#2 Green Hotel in Tarrytown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson 3.5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 25 miles from Midtown Manhattan this estate blends historical charm with modern conveniences. Residing on 26-acres overlooking the Lower Hudson River Valley, well-appointed lodging is found at Tarrytown House Estate, featuring impressive 19th-century mansions - King Mansion and Biddle Mansion - a Carriage House and The Cottage. A Perfect getaway for a weekend adult escape from the city or a destination wedding. Tarrytown House Estate offers luxurious Hudson Valley lodging and amenities. This landmark hotel in Westchester, NY features extensive leisure and recreational facilities such as a fitness center, family friendly heated indoor pool and a seasonal adult only outdoor pool. The estate also offers seasonal/complimentary basketball, volleyball, bocce, horse-shoes and tennis courts. Historic Westchester County proves to enhance a visitor's Hudson Valley lodging experience with incredible opportunities for Hudson River Valley antiquing, boating, hiking and sightseeing. Enjoy any or all of these activities among the rich and historic atmosphere known as home to Westchester, New York's famous sites including the Washington Irving's Sunnyside, Philipsburg Manor and the spectacular Rockefeller estate, Kykuit. While staying at Tarrytown House Estate, guests can experience the many attractions that the Hudson Valley has to offer including the scenic Hudson Park, Neuberger Museum of Art, Grand Prix New York Racing, and the Cortlandt Heritage Museum. The hotel is also located only 5 miles away from Stone Barns Center for Food and Agriculture where guests can enjoy various dishes made from locally grown produce and ingredients at the center's restaurant, Blue Hill at Stone Barns. The hotel is also near the United States Military Academy at West Point, offering convenient accommodations during graduation or family events at the academy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Preferred Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarrytown House Estate On The Hudson Hotel Tarrytown
Tarrytown Hotel Estate
Tarrytown House Hotel
Dolce Tarrytown House
Tarrytown Dolce House
Tarrytown House Estate On The Hudson NY - Westchester County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing