We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Weekend Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Tarrytown
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Unfortunately, my repeated phone calls, emails, text messages and voice mails to the Bed and Breakfast that I booked in the city yielded no response. We found ourselves at 11:30 at night without a place to stay on our 9 year anniversay. We searched online for a romantic place to stay around the city and the Tarrytown House came up. We called, and although it was last minute, they made arrangements for us. What a beautiful place to spend an anniversary. Their breakfast is amazing. The food at Cellar 49 restaurant on their property is delicious. Fine staff and Great service. We are looking forward to going again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,503)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,017 - 1,023 of 1,503 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2013

We were here for two nights for my son's wedding, and from start to finish we were 100 percent pleased with outcome! Excellent service, fabulous food elegantly served, staff was so friendly and couldn't do enough to please! There was a great breakfast buffet the next morning that we all enjoyed. We plan to return this summer for a weekend relaxing by the pool.......you truly never have to leave the beautiful grounds!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happytraveler620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed here after booking this on Snique Away. We spent two nights here for a getaway for my husband's birthday. We were pleased with the accommodations. I was prepared for the hotel feel after reading the other reviews. And also for getting lost trying to get around the building looking for the restaurant on the property. By the time we left, we had gotten the hang of it.
Our bellman, Steven, was very helpful and gave us some good recommendations for dining--off the property.
Our room was at the end of the hall and did not have a great view. Next time, I would ask for a river view or for a room in the King Mansion. I do agree the walls were thin--the baby in the room next door woke me up early our first morning. But the second night all was very quiet.
The hotel staff was very nice--from check in to check out.
We did visit off season so did not spend a lot of time outdoors-it was cold. If we come back in the summer-- we would take advantage of the outdoor pool and patio--they sure look inviting.
This was a nice getaway.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view or pay extra and stay in King Mansion. Keep the map with you at all times so y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sansid521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

My GF and I love spur of the moment trips, and when this place was offered as a destination from one of our favorite travel websites, we decided to try it....and we are glad we did! The service from check in to check out was wonderful....the daily breakfast is wonderful, the Cellar pub was fun, and surrounding area (pubs, restaurants, and of course the Sleepy Hollow Cemetery) is well worth exploring....we had a great time!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cobi_LongIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I was here for three days at a conference. I never left the grounds and never felt the need to leave.

The conference staff was friendly and very accommodating. The rooms are good to very good but do have some lighting issue if you are using powerpoint. Either you will be in the dark or your slides will be washed out from too much lighting. There are not enough plugs for computers in many of the rooms and they charge for extension cords, so bring your own. The break area was great and always replenished.

The hotel room I was in was very comfortable and a nice size. Be warned--you have to walk down a massive amount of steps if you are in the Atrium section!

The restaurant was good to very good and comfortable. Service was excellent.

I would welcome the chance to stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maxly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

My boyfriend and I were looking for a place where we could getaway for the weekend without traveling too far from the city (we live in Brooklyn, NY) and came across Tarrytown House Estate as we were doing our research.

We drove up there in the evening and were charmed immediately by the estate and the winding road that led to the grounds of the estate. It was perfect. Check-in was smooth and easy and everyone including the bell hop was more than helpful in making our stay the best.

We did go to the hotel in the off season and were glad we did. There was really no one in the hotel (or at least it felt that way). Our room was spacious and comfortable and overlooked the Hudson River. It sure was a beauty waking up to that outside your window (we stood in the Putnam Wing). We made sure to make us of all the amenities the estate had to offer. It was great swimming in the indoor pool as you look out and see the whole estate covered in snow.

Also, the buffet breakfast served at the Biddle Mansion was A-mazing. The food was simply delicious and our patrons provided us with the best service.

For dinner we dined at Cellar 49. The ambiance and décor gave the illusion that you traveled back in time. The food was well prepared and scrumptious. My boyfriend and I also downed a couple of drinks (that were done to perfection!) as we played a game of pool and foosball in the billiards/play room that is adjacent to the restaurant.

Overall, we had such a wonderful time. It couldn't have gotten any better.

Ewan & Ashlee

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank delvalar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

While photos of Tarrytown may give the impression of grandeur, the rooms are in a newly constructed wing that looks like a Hilton, Hyatt, or any other business hotel. They aren't really anything special. There are some beautiful parts to the grounds, though, and a few conference rooms in the old buildings. The gym is also very good. Food was above average, but any fine points were outweighed by the ridiculous prices such as $11 oatmeal and $28 macaroni and cheese. And be warned that Tarrytown House is quite a distance from any other restaurants. Service was overall good except for a few rookie errors by housekeeping. Saturday morning we were awakened at 8am by the housekeeper talking loudly on her cell phone in the hall. Sunday morning it was a different housekeeper yelling to his coworker. The walls were thin and the room was loud.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THECC, Guest Relations Manager at Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Deorr:

Thank you for not only being our guest but sharing your opinions with our fans on TA.

On our website you will find an interactive aerial map which details all 12 buildings on our 26 acre estate. Our oldest the King Mansion was built in 1840, followed by the larger Biddle Mansion built in granite in 1895. The remaining 10 buildings range from 1890 - 2001, which is where you stayed in our newest wing. In addition we have a download version of our Estate History as well as an MP-3 of our verbal history tour.

Although all rooms were recently restored with new HDTV, furnishings, bathrooms, beds, etc. it sounds like a world traveler like yourself may have preferred to book one of our 10 period rooms in the King Mansion. These rooms are furnished with antiques from the King family and offer a unique "B&B" experience from the newer guest houses.

We also suggest our "Breakfast" packages which include an incredible buffet for a nominal fee as opposed to the more expensive rooms service options you referenced.

Although we are not a national chain, we try to ensure our newer business level rooms have all of the furnishings and amenities of a modern full service hotel, while our mansions and grounds remain true to their 19th century history.

All the best and we look forward to welcoming you back to our historic area in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarrytown
1.3 mi away
Castle Hotel & Spa
Castle Hotel & Spa
#5 of 7 in Tarrytown
189 reviews
0.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Tarrytown
1.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Tarrytown Westchester County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Tarrytown Hotel
Sheraton Tarrytown Hotel
#7 of 7 in Tarrytown
515 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Westchester
1.5 mi away
Westchester Marriott
Westchester Marriott
#6 of 7 in Tarrytown
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson

Address: 49 E Sunnyside Ln, Tarrytown, NY 10591-9500 (Formerly Tarrytown House Estate & Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Westchester County > Tarrytown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Tarrytown
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tarrytown
#2 Green Hotel in Tarrytown
#2 Family Hotel in Tarrytown
Price Range: $114 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson 3.5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 25 miles from Midtown Manhattan this estate blends historical charm with modern conveniences. Residing on 26-acres overlooking the Lower Hudson River Valley, well-appointed lodging is found at Tarrytown House Estate, featuring impressive 19th-century mansions - King Mansion and Biddle Mansion - a Carriage House and The Cottage. A Perfect getaway for a weekend adult escape from the city or a destination wedding. Tarrytown House Estate offers luxurious Hudson Valley lodging and amenities. This landmark hotel in Westchester, NY features extensive leisure and recreational facilities such as a fitness center, family friendly heated indoor pool and a seasonal adult only outdoor pool. The estate also offers seasonal/complimentary basketball, volleyball, bocce, horse-shoes and tennis courts. Historic Westchester County proves to enhance a visitor's Hudson Valley lodging experience with incredible opportunities for Hudson River Valley antiquing, boating, hiking and sightseeing. Enjoy any or all of these activities among the rich and historic atmosphere known as home to Westchester, New York's famous sites including the Washington Irving's Sunnyside, Philipsburg Manor and the spectacular Rockefeller estate, Kykuit. While staying at Tarrytown House Estate, guests can experience the many attractions that the Hudson Valley has to offer including the scenic Hudson Park, Neuberger Museum of Art, Grand Prix New York Racing, and the Cortlandt Heritage Museum. The hotel is also located only 5 miles away from Stone Barns Center for Food and Agriculture where guests can enjoy various dishes made from locally grown produce and ingredients at the center's restaurant, Blue Hill at Stone Barns. The hotel is also near the United States Military Academy at West Point, offering convenient accommodations during graduation or family events at the academy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarrytown House Estate On The Hudson Hotel Tarrytown
Tarrytown Hotel Estate
Tarrytown House Hotel
Dolce Tarrytown House
Tarrytown Dolce House
Tarrytown House Estate On The Hudson NY - Westchester County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing