We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprise Engagement”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Tarrytown
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Surprise Engagement”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

I was looking for a nice place to getaway for the night for the setting of a surprise engagement for my girlfriend. I was very happy with the property, staff and room. Everything was great, as well as the delicious breakfast in the morning. The room was a standard room, very clean and had a decent amount of space. The grounds are beautiful and the views of the Hudson are amazing. Even at breakfast we sat at a huge window that overlooks the water which was nice. One staff member at breakfast surprised us with a complimentary plate of chocolate covered strawberries and some chocolates, which was very thoughtful. I really appreciated their effort. I won't hesitate to return for another weekend getaway since it's so close to NYC.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THECC, Guest Relations Manager at Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Adam A:

Congratulations and best wishes on your recent engagement. We were honored you and your fiancé chose our Estate for such a life marking event.

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about our incredible facilities and people with our fans on Trip Advisor. We pride ourselves on creating memorable stays and I am so glad we succeeded in your case.

We look forward to welcoming you back and as a reminder we also host fantastic weddings. We would love to tour you through the Mansions and Grand Ballroom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    819
    310
    159
    72
    29
See reviews for
290
624
57
232
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
167 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

I have stayed at Tarrytown House twice and have felt lukewarm both times. The hotel is in a great location, particularly in the fall when this part of Westchester is at its most beautiful. It is in very short driving distance to Kykuit and other historical sites as well as great places to eat and visit such as Blue Hill at Stone Farms. Perhaps the location justifies the outrageous price the hotel charges for its extremely average rooms. The rooms are clean and orderly but unremarkable. There is no effort to make anything interesting or exceptional.The extensive grounds of the hotel and the promised amenities are crumbling a bit. The hot tub in the pool area may be overchlorinated because we had to jump our immediately upon entering. The wood in the sauna gave us splinters. However, the fitness center is passable and the staff generally courteous.

Room Tip: Both times I have stayed there, the hotel gave me a room that was about three miles from the front d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marci B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THECC, Guest Relations Manager at Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Marci B:

Thank you for once again visiting our historic area in what many will say is the prettiest time period, the Fall. Although during October the area is at its' busiest and rates are reflective of the high season due to demand, one can still find a discounted package if travel dates are flexible.

Although all of our guest rooms were recently restored and fitted with new bedding, HDTV, safes and furniture the most interesting rooms are located inside the historic King Mansion, which celebrates its' 173 year. These special rooms can only be booked on the Estate's website or by calling the property directly.

Our apologies that you did not enjoy the new hot tub. We hope you will return when your travels take you back through our historic area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
49 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

This hotel just outside of Tarrytown is a great place for a night when exploring the Hudson River Valley. The original buildings are beautiful, as are the grounds, and the staff is welcoming. Our room was in one of the newer buildings and was a typical hotel room, but very comfortable and clean; plus, we received a great Thanksgiving-weekend rate. The distance from parking to the room in cold weather and navigating the many stairs isn't likely ideal for many people, but overall, we were pleasantly surprised and enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank trvlgirl2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THECC, Guest Relations Manager at Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Trvlgirl2020:

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with our Trip Advisor community.

I am so glad you enjoyed your Thanksgiving weekend escape. Our staff prides themselves on creating memorable stays.

We look forward to your speedy return and wish you all the best for the holidays and New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadsworth, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

In all our travels over the past 80+ years, -- both here and abroad -- we have never received the QUALITY of personalized care and attention as we did at Tarrytown House Estate and Conference Center. We were completely disarmed when the concierge -- Sergio Fuentes -- and other staff members actually saw us to the door and wished us a safe trip. It was almost as if we were leaving family. Despite their having scores of guests, all the service people knew our names and called us by them from the first moment we arrived until the last miinute we departed. Even the maintenance people knew our names, despite our never having been there before. One of our sons an dhis family live near Tarrytown, and we took a room at the hotel since his house was filled with other family members who were celebrating our 50th wedding anniversary with us. Intuitigvely, the concierge gave us two complelemntary tickets for drinks. We would certainly recommend this hotel to any of our friends. Just the ambience would have been enough, but the cordiality was overwhelmingly an added feature. The grounds are magnificent.-- truly an estate of major significance. Caesar and Lynda Carrino

Room Tip: All the rooms are equally well appointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Caesar C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THECC, Guest Relations Manager at Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Caesar C:

Congratulations on your 50th anniversary! We were honored to be selected to host you and your wife as your home away from home.

On behalf of Sergio and his dedicated service colleagues we were delighted that you took the time to note their attention to detail and focus on Lynda and yourself.

We look forward to welcoming you back the Estate in the near future and wish you both as well as your family and friends a Happy Holiday and New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

I took my girlfriend to this hotel based off a deal I found on sniqueaway.com, which included 10 percent off the restaurant and 2 free bar drinks.

We both live in Manhattan so I drove to the property, which is about 35 minutes away from the city depending on traffic. The check in was simple and easy. The property itself is spacious and very pleasant. The room we stayed in was located one building from the check in building. I would suggest this property to couples, families and friends. Certainly the outdoor activities were unavailable due to the weather. I would love to come back when the weather is at least 65 and sunny and check out the pool, tennis courts, etc. We ate in the restaurant at night. I had a steak, which was tasty, maybe a tad salty. Great service and very romantic place. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travellingbuddy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THECC, Guest Relations Manager at Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Travellingbuddy 1:

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your kind words and review our Estate. I am so glad you and your girlfriend had a nice holiday stay.

Although only a short drive from Manhattan our historic area offers so much to see and do. We are glad you had a chance to visit our new Cellar 49 restaurant in the basement of the Biddle Mansion. It is a truly unique venue and we will also ask the chefs to go a little easy on the sea salt.

Wishing you all the best for the upcoming holidays and new year. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleburg, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

My friend and I went up for a post-Thanksgiving girl's weekend away. We were amazed when we drove into the compound, there was a flock of deer sitting on the ground resting - did not even get up when we stopped to take pictures! Upon driving up the main drive we saw the beautiful castle-like main building. The staff the entire weekend was extremely polite, offering us suggestions on local restaurants and things to do. It was a problem-free experience, we will return if ever heading to that area of New York again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THECC, Guest Relations Manager at Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Mary L:

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts with our Trip Advisor fans.

We were delighted to host you and your friend for a holiday escape. Our team prides themselves on creating memorable stays and we are happy to have succeeded in your eyes.

Wishing you a Happy Holiday and New Year and speedy return to our Estate on the Hudson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

Tarrytown House Estate and Conference Center
We were looking for a quick post Thanksgiving getaway to the Hudson River Valley. We landed here and would NOT come again. This is a SPRAWLING conference center NOT A HOTEL-with a labyrinth of connecting buildings, outside treks to dining, numerous staircases and inaccessible and overcrowded parking lots.
We had a deluxe king room in the Putnam building. Comfortable bed and pillows, table and chair, arm chair- NOTHING special- but okay. Standard bath w/ tub. Single sink and way low water pressure in shower. Housekeeping and front desk staffs were cordial. No maps, concierge or local info was available except for a kiosk. Had an okay late night snack in the Cellar 49 w/ very personable waitress. Breakfast buffet was $25/pp- again NOTHING special like a Holiday Inn but $$$- in fact we had a much better breakfast at the Eldorado Diner on day two!
This place advertises rates at $200-$300 a night. If we hadn’t had the Sniqueaway $99 a night deal- we would have checked out and gone elsewhere.
Indoor pool, fitness center open this time of year.Note it was chilly so all this walking outside was not like it might be at 75 degrees.
Can't say what rooms in other bldgings are like.TWO MILES from Tarrytown town center.

Room Tip: Hard to say- there are soo many bldgs- for a deluxe king- don't expect anything BIG
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shirley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THECC, Guest Relations Manager at Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear LuLu Valentine:

Thank you for taking the time to share your Thanksgiving Holiday with us as well as noting both the positive and constructive areas of your stay.

Tarrytown House is the former Estate of Mary Duke Biddle and is comprised of 12 buildings dating from 1840 spread across 26 manicured acres in the Lower Hudson Valley. Although most of the guest areas are accessible by new indoor corridors this includes but is not limited to the 7,000 Square foot sports facility with indoor pool, jacuzzi, sauna, racquetball cardio and strength training as well as business, conference center and all guest wings. As you noted the outside sports amenities including our large outdoor pool, tennis, volleyball and basketball are all seasonal.

For guests looking for a unique and historic place to stay which involves walking through gardens, pathways and staircases then the Estate will be to your liking. For those looking for smaller more modern single building hotels with limited services and amenities then the Estate will not be to your liking.

Breakfast in the Mansion is a sumptuous buffet with eggs, waffle and pancake stations all made to order as well as a large variety of chilled and hot specials. The Bed & Breakfast package offers the most value and can save each guest 40% from the full buffet charge. For those looking for a quick more budget conscious meal, there are specially discounted to go options as well.

Wishing you all the best as your travels take you throughout the world and hopefully back to the Lower Hudson Valley in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tarrytown hotels
1.3 mi away
Castle Hotel & Spa
Castle Hotel & Spa
#5 of 7 in Tarrytown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Tarrytown
1.4 mi away
Courtyard Tarrytown Greenburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Westchester Marriott
Westchester Marriott
#4 of 7 in Tarrytown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
1.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Tarrytown Greenburgh
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Tarrytown Hotel
Sheraton Tarrytown Hotel
#7 of 7 in Tarrytown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson

Property: Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson
Address: 49 E Sunnyside Ln, Tarrytown, NY 10591-9500 (Formerly Tarrytown House Estate & Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Westchester County > Tarrytown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Tarrytown
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tarrytown
#2 Family Hotel in Tarrytown
#2 Green Hotel in Tarrytown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson 3.5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 25 miles from Midtown Manhattan this estate blends historical charm with modern conveniences. Residing on 26-acres overlooking the Lower Hudson River Valley, well-appointed lodging is found at Tarrytown House Estate, featuring impressive 19th-century mansions - King Mansion and Biddle Mansion - a Carriage House and The Cottage. A Perfect getaway for a weekend adult escape from the city or a destination wedding. Tarrytown House Estate offers luxurious Hudson Valley lodging and amenities. This landmark hotel in Westchester, NY features extensive leisure and recreational facilities such as a fitness center, family friendly heated indoor pool and a seasonal adult only outdoor pool. The estate also offers seasonal/complimentary basketball, volleyball, bocce, horse-shoes and tennis courts. Historic Westchester County proves to enhance a visitor's Hudson Valley lodging experience with incredible opportunities for Hudson River Valley antiquing, boating, hiking and sightseeing. Enjoy any or all of these activities among the rich and historic atmosphere known as home to Westchester, New York's famous sites including the Washington Irving's Sunnyside, Philipsburg Manor and the spectacular Rockefeller estate, Kykuit. While staying at Tarrytown House Estate, guests can experience the many attractions that the Hudson Valley has to offer including the scenic Hudson Park, Neuberger Museum of Art, Grand Prix New York Racing, and the Cortlandt Heritage Museum. The hotel is also located only 5 miles away from Stone Barns Center for Food and Agriculture where guests can enjoy various dishes made from locally grown produce and ingredients at the center's restaurant, Blue Hill at Stone Barns. The hotel is also near the United States Military Academy at West Point, offering convenient accommodations during graduation or family events at the academy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarrytown House Estate On The Hudson Hotel Tarrytown
Tarrytown Hotel Estate
Tarrytown House Hotel
Tarrytown Dolce House
Dolce Tarrytown House
Tarrytown House Estate On The Hudson NY - Westchester County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing