We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre. It is a conference center.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Tarrytown
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Disappointed upon arrival with a large wedding crowd filling the small lobby area. Three wedding parties with gift bags on large tables. Chaos, no ambiance for our anniversary getaway. Room equivalent to a Days Inn or the like. If we were paying half the price, maybe ok....

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CTLuxuryseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THECC, Guest Relations Manager at Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Dear CTLuxurySeeker:

Thank you for sharing your opinions and we are sorry you did not enjoy the Estate to its' fullest advantage.

Although we are recognized as the Nation's First Executive Conference Center, the Estate formerly owned by Mary Duke of the Duke Tobacco family of Durham North Carolina offers so much for weekend life events like weddings and bar mitzvahs as well as romantic weekend escapes.

For future reference the oldest Mansion at the Estate is our King Mansion and dates to 1840, this incredible Georgian Colonial has 10 period bedrooms all furnished with original antiques and some have large private verandahs overlooking the Hudson River. This may be the room type and suite you were looking for.

Although every weekend tends to be busy with both weddings and conferences, we do hope you reconsider when your travels take you back to the Lower Hudson Valley.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,479)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,048 - 1,054 of 1,479 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2012

My wife & I stayed at Tarrytown House for a night during a quick trip to Westchester County. Our room was on the 3rd Floor of Putnam. We were very happy with all aspects of our visit. No surprise, since we had stayed here 2 or 3 times years ago & had similar experience.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gramps55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THECC, Guest Relations Manager at Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Dear Gramps55:

Welcome back and thank you once again for not only making Tarrytown House your home away from home but also taking the time to share your thoughts with our fans on Trip Advisor.

I am so glad you and your wife enjoyed your guest room in the new Putnam wing. I hope we may soon welcome you back for a nice Fall or Winter weekend escape package.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Stayed here during the summer of 2011. The grounds are impeccable, staff is wonderful. Rooms are a good size and well-appointed. The pool was very empty as we were there during the week. Close to many good restaurants. We didn't eat in the hotel restaurant as the prices were too high (in my opinion).

Our only 2 complaints is that one of the beds in our room was VERY, VERY squeaky and the air conditioning was a window unit that was very hard to control.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lancasterdar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THECC, Guest Relations Manager at Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Dear Lancasterdar:

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your kind thoughts with our TA community.

Our staff prides themselves on creating memorable events and I am so glad you enjoyed the grounds, our amenities and services.

Our new air conditioners do have remote controls but can be a challenge; we just added new direction cards to hopefully assist.

I hope we may soon welcome you back to our historic area and estate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

The grounds of the estate are quite beautifully landscaped. It is indeed a lovely getaway location. The front desk staff were super helpful and kind.

However, the decor is a bit tacky, with mismatched over-patterned carpets with patterns that literally made me dizzy and mismatched 80's style drapery that verged on tacky. The merging of modern with the old was a big ol' fail. The rooms are mostly in the 'newer' parts of the buildings, which are functional and lacking in charm. The motel style air conditioning units were beneath an estate of this quality and made the room feel low end. The maintenance details in the bathroom like really sloppy caulking in the shower, low-grade light switches, noisy vent fans, and cheap toilet paper that felt like disintegrating newspaper should have been better.

On the plus side, the room was very clean, and the TV had "real" cable TV with HDTV and not the aweful low-definition television with few channels at the big chain hotels. This made up for the decor. Also the complementary toiletries were very good quality and not overly perfumed. The free wifi was a big plus and made the stay more welcoming.

After having plenty of delicious cocktails at their lovely on-site restaurant, I really didn't care about most of these drawbacks, except for the dizzying mismatched carpets which made me even dizzier.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DandyAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THECC, Guest Relations Manager at Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Dear DandyAndy:

Thank you so much for not only being our guest but taking the time to share your thoughts with our TA community.

I am so glad you enjoyed our 26 acres of period gardens and our staff which is renowned for their service.

Our 12 distinct buildings span over 173 years from 19th century mansions to newly constructed guest room wings. In 2007 when our comprehensive restoration was completed the designers intended to ensure the color palates and furniture were all indicative of the architecture of each particular building and its' place in time.

For those guests looking for Mansion bedrooms, the King Estate offers 10 period bedrooms each decorated individually with original family antique furnishings, perhaps on your next visit this may prove more to your liking.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Very clean and attractive double queen bed room and bath area in the Rockland building overlooking the front garden. Everything worked and the room amenities enjoyed/appreciated. A/C slightly noisy but the weather was so nice that we were able to forgo the A/C at night and slept with open windows. Even though there was a large wedding on Saturday, there was no noticeable noise from the guests outside the windows or corridors. My older son and his girlfriend were in the Westchester building with a slightly larger,just as lovely room with a king bed. There A/C system was much quieter. The staff are superb and the restaurant/food service excellent. We look forward to returning.

Room Tip: request a first floor room if stairs are a problem and some rooms have quieter A/C units
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank texasamericanmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THECC, Guest Relations Manager at Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Dear TexasAmericanMom:

It was our pleasure to host you and your family and thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts with our fans on Trip Advisor.

With 12 buildings spread across 26 acres we can host numerous events yet still give the feeling of quiet and solitude.

I hope we may soon welcome you and your family back as the Fall is a particularly beautiful time in the Lower Hudson Valley.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

My husband and I got married here September of 2012. This was the first and last venue we visited while looking for a place to get married. We were sold after meeting with their event coordinator Dave Smith and seeing their goregous grounds. I really wanted to have our ceremony outside and they provided a stunning stone patio for that with an amazing view of their garden and partial view of the Hudson River. Our ceremony was so beautiful and perfect. Their mansions are very special and the insides are breathtaking. Excellent for photos. The Biddle Mansion (where our ceremony/cocktail and reception were) has an upper class historic feel. Not only was our ceremony and reception just beautiful but the organization of their staff is unparalelled. Everything went off without a glitch because the staff at Tarrytown House is on their A game. Right down to the set up and dismanteling of our candy bar. Which I took extremely seriously. The service was amazing. They really thought of everything and did all the thinking for you. I can't say enough about Dave Smith. He takes his job extremely seriously and genuinely wants your event to be perfect. He put so much care into our wedding I will never forget it. I realized I forgot to put my veil on seconds before walking outside for our ceremony and Dave ran to my room to get it in a flash. And made sure it was safely delivered back to my room after the cocktail hour. I knew our wedding would be perfect thanks to him and it was. They served so much food and it was extremely tasty. Our guests raved about it. One thing that surprised us, pleasantly, was Dave ushering us into a private room directly after our ceremony so we could take a breath and eat some food before stepping out into the crowd, where we surely would not have eaten a thing because we were too busy greeting our guests. I could go on and on about this amazing place. We very much look forward to visiting again and again to relive our unforgettable day.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ariel2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THECC, Guest Relations Manager at Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Dear Ariel2525:

Again, congratulations to you and your husband, on behalf of Dave your host and our entire team we wish you a lifetime of peace, happiness and eternal love.

We take great honor in that you selected our Estate for this incredible life marking event and I am so glad you as well as your guests thoroughly enjoyed themselves.

I hope we may soon welcome you back before your first anniversary as the Foliage is just starting to turn and we just completed planting over 2,500 mums.

Sincerely,

Joe Santore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

My wife and I wanted to get away for a few nights, and we chose Tarrytown House Estate for it's relatively close proximity to our home, and the great reviews it had received. We had an excellent time there, and the staff was very courteous and helpful. Our room was clean, a good size, and even had a view of the Hudson River and the Tappan Zee bridge. The on-site restaurant, Cellar 49, was very good, as well. It's a great place for a short getaway, or to host an event, such as a wedding or a business conference. Tarrytown, and its surrounding areas, are full of history, adventure, and beauty.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view, and go in May or June, if you're looking for a more peaceful stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lend56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THECC, Guest Relations Manager at Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Dear Lend56:

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts with our TA community. Our staff prides themselves on creating memorable stays and I am so glad you and your wife enjoyed your weekend.

I hope we may soon welcome you back for either a Fall Halloween weekend or even quiet winter escape.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tarrytown hotels
0.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Tarrytown
1.3 mi away
Castle Hotel & Spa
Castle Hotel & Spa
#6 of 7 in Tarrytown
175 reviews
1.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Tarrytown Westchester County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Tarrytown Hotel
Sheraton Tarrytown Hotel
#7 of 7 in Tarrytown
502 reviews
1.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Tarrytown Greenburgh
1.5 mi away
Westchester Marriott
Westchester Marriott
#5 of 7 in Tarrytown
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson

Address: 49 E Sunnyside Ln, Tarrytown, NY 10591-9500 (Formerly Tarrytown House Estate & Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Westchester County > Tarrytown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tarrytown
#1 Business Hotel in Tarrytown
#2 Family Hotel in Tarrytown
#2 Green Hotel in Tarrytown
Price Range: $158 - $345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson 3.5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 25 miles from Midtown Manhattan this estate blends historical charm with modern conveniences. Residing on 26-acres overlooking the Lower Hudson River Valley, well-appointed lodging is found at Tarrytown House Estate, featuring impressive 19th-century mansions - King Mansion and Biddle Mansion - a Carriage House and The Cottage. A Perfect getaway for a weekend adult escape from the city or a destination wedding. Tarrytown House Estate offers luxurious Hudson Valley lodging and amenities. This landmark hotel in Westchester, NY features extensive leisure and recreational facilities such as a fitness center, family friendly heated indoor pool and a seasonal adult only outdoor pool. The estate also offers seasonal/complimentary basketball, volleyball, bocce, horse-shoes and tennis courts. Historic Westchester County proves to enhance a visitor's Hudson Valley lodging experience with incredible opportunities for Hudson River Valley antiquing, boating, hiking and sightseeing. Enjoy any or all of these activities among the rich and historic atmosphere known as home to Westchester, New York's famous sites including the Washington Irving's Sunnyside, Philipsburg Manor and the spectacular Rockefeller estate, Kykuit. While staying at Tarrytown House Estate, guests can experience the many attractions that the Hudson Valley has to offer including the scenic Hudson Park, Neuberger Museum of Art, Grand Prix New York Racing, and the Cortlandt Heritage Museum. The hotel is also located only 5 miles away from Stone Barns Center for Food and Agriculture where guests can enjoy various dishes made from locally grown produce and ingredients at the center's restaurant, Blue Hill at Stone Barns. The hotel is also near the United States Military Academy at West Point, offering convenient accommodations during graduation or family events at the academy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarrytown House Estate On The Hudson Hotel Tarrytown
Tarrytown Hotel Estate
Tarrytown House Hotel
Dolce Tarrytown House
Tarrytown Dolce House
Tarrytown House Estate On The Hudson NY - Westchester County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing