We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Weekend<3”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Tarrytown
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Woodstock
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wedding Weekend<3”
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Beautiful setting.....Wonderful food....excellent staff.....clean and lovely rooms.....
Excellent breakfast buffet.....totally enjoyed the weekend! I did not find it to be noisy.....
If you're looking to have your Wedding in a Beautiful setting..... I would say, it is here!
The Wedding we attended was Perfectly Beautiful!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Woodstockrach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THECC, Guest Relations Manager at Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
Dear Woodstockranch:

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your wedding weekend with us. On behalf of our dedicated team we strive to create memorable events and I am so glad we succeeded in your eyes.

I hope that you will soon return whether for an escape weekend or another event as the Estate is now in full bloom and in 3 weeks our incredible new outdoor pool pavilion will open.

Best to you and your family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    833
    320
    165
    76
    33
See reviews for
294
642
61
241
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

We went back to Westchester County , NY ( the first county north of New York City)
to visit family and I stumbled across an internet listing for this hotel. We've been visiting in this area for years and never heard of this palce before. It is a very modern update hotel and conference center built on the grounds of an old robber baron's mansion. It is tucked away between Irvington and Tarrytown and right off Route 9. The rooms were very large and nice and the price was great by normal standards and incredible compared to the normally sky-high New York rates. We had a king room on Easter weekend for $111.00 per night.

I read a review afterwards about how noisy and crowded it was. We didn't experience any of that. I think this is a big conference/convention place and , of course, one Easter weekend there was not a conventioneer in sight.

We enjoyed and plan to stay there again.

Room Tip: There are rooms in the older historical buildings which may be just fine, but I would expect the pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dutchydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THECC, Guest Relations Manager at Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Dear Dutchydog:

Thank you for taking the time to share your Easter weekend experience with our Trip Advisor community. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and were able to get a fantastic bargain as we always have several weekend promotions on sale.

Soon our incredible outdoor pool and pavilion will be open and we plan to offer several fantastic summer get-aways. The local area historic attractions are now all open and with the advent of an early Spring the gardens and parks and waterfront restaurants are incredible.

On behalf of our dedicated team we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville Centre, New York
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2012

Nice place,pretty grounds. And very friendly staff.!Only problem was finding the hotel .there was no sign coming from one possible direction

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THECC, Guest Relations Manager at Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Dear Peterf1954:

Thank you for your kind comments about your recent stay. Our staff prides themselves on creating memorable experiences for our guests and we are so happy we succeeded with your particular stay.

Apologies for the small roadside signs, since we sit in the historic section of the village our signage is highly regulated.

I hope we may soon welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2012

We recently stayed at Tarrytown House Estate for the 2nd time; the grounds are beautiful. We went last year to the Pumpkin Blaze and this hotel had a package, it was a great experience all around. We got back late from the Pumpkin Blaze and the restaurant was very close to closing but they still let all 6 of us in our party order. This time my husband and I went for just an overnight getaway, the hotel staff very friendly and accommodating. When I was not able to sleep in the middle of the night and decided to watch T.V. the cable would not work so I called the front desk and they had a security guard come to our room at 3am, he was able to get it working, they explained that they just switched to a new cable system. We did not eat at the hotel this time, we wanted to venture out a bit and the font desk was more than helpful, they suggested restaurants and even made phone calls to them to see if there were reservations available. They did make a reservation for us at a nearby place, great food and experience.

I read the review from MelissaPF but honestly we did not have an experience even close to that either time we stayed there. Maybe we just didn't have people staying around us but we did not have any trouble with noise....or cleanliness at all. Truthfully, my husband and I both wonder how the rates are so reasonable for such a lovely place!!

Room Tip: Nice to stay in the rooms closest to the Bidle Mansion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovemybella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THECC, Guest Relations Manager at Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Dear lovemybella:

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your weekend experience with our fans on Trip Advisor. We were delighted to welcome you and your husband back. The Blaze is a fantastic Fall experience and has become our most popular package.

Sergio and the rest of the team were delighted to welcome you back and I am glad you had a great experience with our fantastic local restaurants.

We hope to soon welcome you back once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I are the easiest travelers...and travel a LOT for both business and pleasure. We wanted to get away for a weekend and I based staying here on the reviews I read. I can't figure them out. We had the WORST stay ever. You should know before staying here that you can hear everything in every room. The walls are paper thin. After being up all night by next door neighbors' conversations, we asked to move. Also our shower handle was broken in our shower and there were hairs all over the bath towels. Yuck. We moved rooms and were told no one was next to us. Wrong! Up again the next night...and we aren't light sleepers. When we finally got to sleep, the jack hammers out front started working on the walk way at 7:30-8 am. Two housekeepers also decided to have loud conversations outside our door so we asked them to move. This stay was anything but relaxing or a quiet getaway. There were also many incoveniences, like a broken coffee machine in the lobby and having to park forever away due to an event there (aren't WE guests?). It needs much TLC in the guest satisfaction dept for sure. I saw a few noise comments before ths one, but trust me, do not dismiss or minimize this if you are looking for a quiet resort. This is only an average property aesthetically, but it's very poor for an overall getaway. I wish more people had made the effort to review this place properly because we came with another couple who had the same experience as we did. I'm sure many others have too!

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MelissaPF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THECC, Guest Relations Manager at Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Dear MelissaPF:

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and opinions about our estate. We are so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay and wanted to apologize for the noise you encountered. Our new lobby entrance required much more cement work than anticipated but thankfully it is now complete. This of course affected your guest room comfort along with the parking issue, again our apologies.

I hope that as your travels take you back through the Historic Hudson Valley we may one day have the opportunity to serve you in the manner in which our guests expect and deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

The Tarrytown House has two different classes of accommodations. As best I could tell, the majority of rooms are in a typical business hotel style (the place is really a conference center). But there are a few rooms in the old King Mansion that retain some of the character of the mansions that used to dot this side of the Hudson River. The first room we were given was relatively small and dark so we upgraded to one of three rooms with access to a porch facing the river. Room 293 and 295 on the second floor have French doors onto a very wide covered porch with comfortable rocking chairs and a rattan couch. A very good brunch buffet is served in yet another mansion on the property, which used to belong to Doris Biddle Duke, If you want a place with character within an easy drive of most of the Hudson Valley attractions, you won't be disappointed in Tarrytown House. And if you want to taste life in the Gilded Age, ask for a room in the King Mansion. Two words of warning, however. There is no elevator in the King Mansion so you'll need help if you have heavy luggage. And the management asks you to wait a few minutes for the water in the shower to get hot. In my experience, it took a good 10 minutes. So turn the water on before you start brushing your teeth.

Room Tip: In the King Mansion, rooms on the river side have a view. Two rooms on the second floor -- 293 and 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THECC, Guest Relations Manager at Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Dear TravelDick:

A senior contributor we were honored to have you as our guest and very appreciative of the time you took to share your experience with our Trip Advisor community.

The King Mansion is a special and unique focal point of our Estate as it is the oldest of our 12 distinct buildings and dates to 1840. The two balcony rooms you noted are the only 2 in the mansion but one day we hope to add a roof top balcony on the third floor.

I hope as your travels take you throughout the world they will soon bring you back to our little Village and the historic Lower Hudson Valley. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Excellent hotel set on a hill overlooking the Hudson River. The grounds are peaceful and serene, yet there are lots of facilities here (fitness room, conference center, etc.). You have the advantage of being quietly tucked away on a hill behind the town, yet not far by car to town, the train, etc.

Room Tip: Helpful to have a western facing room: you get the view of the Hudson, and it is easier to walk from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYAlice_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THECC, Guest Relations Manager at Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Dear NYAlice_12:

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience with our Trip Advisor community. We were delighted to see you enjoyed the early Spring gardens and of course our location is both close to Manhattan and to all of the historic attractions in the Lower Hudson Valley.

As summer approaches we have just begun work on expanding our 80 year old beautiful outdoor pool deck and this new enhancement will be ready by Memorial Day.

I hope we may soon welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarrytown
0.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Tarrytown
1.3 mi away
Castle Hotel & Spa
Castle Hotel & Spa
#6 of 7 in Tarrytown
169 reviews
1.4 mi away
Courtyard Tarrytown Greenburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Tarrytown Greenburgh
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Tarrytown Hotel
Sheraton Tarrytown Hotel
#7 of 7 in Tarrytown
484 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Westchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson

Property: Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson
Address: 49 E Sunnyside Ln, Tarrytown, NY 10591-9500 (Formerly Tarrytown House Estate & Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Westchester County > Tarrytown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tarrytown
#1 Business Hotel in Tarrytown
#2 Green Hotel in Tarrytown
#2 Family Hotel in Tarrytown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson 3.5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 25 miles from Midtown Manhattan this estate blends historical charm with modern conveniences. Residing on 26-acres overlooking the Lower Hudson River Valley, well-appointed lodging is found at Tarrytown House Estate, featuring impressive 19th-century mansions - King Mansion and Biddle Mansion - a Carriage House and The Cottage. A Perfect getaway for a weekend adult escape from the city or a destination wedding. Tarrytown House Estate offers luxurious Hudson Valley lodging and amenities. This landmark hotel in Westchester, NY features extensive leisure and recreational facilities such as a fitness center, family friendly heated indoor pool and a seasonal adult only outdoor pool. The estate also offers seasonal/complimentary basketball, volleyball, bocce, horse-shoes and tennis courts. Historic Westchester County proves to enhance a visitor's Hudson Valley lodging experience with incredible opportunities for Hudson River Valley antiquing, boating, hiking and sightseeing. Enjoy any or all of these activities among the rich and historic atmosphere known as home to Westchester, New York's famous sites including the Washington Irving's Sunnyside, Philipsburg Manor and the spectacular Rockefeller estate, Kykuit. While staying at Tarrytown House Estate, guests can experience the many attractions that the Hudson Valley has to offer including the scenic Hudson Park, Neuberger Museum of Art, Grand Prix New York Racing, and the Cortlandt Heritage Museum. The hotel is also located only 5 miles away from Stone Barns Center for Food and Agriculture where guests can enjoy various dishes made from locally grown produce and ingredients at the center's restaurant, Blue Hill at Stone Barns. The hotel is also near the United States Military Academy at West Point, offering convenient accommodations during graduation or family events at the academy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarrytown House Estate On The Hudson Hotel Tarrytown
Tarrytown Hotel Estate
Tarrytown House Hotel
Dolce Tarrytown House
Tarrytown Dolce House
Tarrytown House Estate On The Hudson NY - Westchester County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing