We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great Birthday getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Tarrytown
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Queensbury, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A great Birthday getaway”
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Booked the room through Snique away last December for a surprise birthday getaway in March. Hoped to visit the historical estates in the area during our stay..as we live about 3 hours north. However, we found that they were still closed for the winter! The grounds and buildings on the property are lovely however , the staff very attentive to our needs, holding doors and willing to make our stay as pleasant as possible. The room we had was lovely, in King House..an old estate on the grounds. Not your run of the mill hotel room, it had the character of an estate room. The 4 course Cellars dinner was excellent, as was the service, thank you Nora!. A game room off Wine Cellar Bar, had shuffle board, a pool table and Foos Ball to round out your evening entertainment! A workout room and indoor pool and spa were also available in another building. Breakfast was delicious ( although early for a Monday morning( 7-9 AM) when we would have liked to sleep in a bit more., Breakfast was beautifully layout with omlets, pancakes, and waffles made to order as well as anything else you could possibly want to eat. The breakfast room in the Biddle House has quite the view of the Hudson..a lovely way to begin your day! I would reccomend getting the package for breakfast and dinner..a $ savings for sure!
Our only complaint would to have had a more appealing view from our room..but due to a little mixup at registration time they gave us this room as a "I'm sorry" and we did not want to seem ungrateful..they were so pleasant about everything else!!
Tarrytown is close to NYC for those who care to travel there..we traveled north to Hyde park on our way home to visit FDR and Elenor's home..a great visit!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bala4748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THECC, Guest Relations Manager at Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
Dear Bala4748:

Thank you so much for taking the time in sharing your thoughts about your recent Birthday Get-Away with our Trip Advisor community. I am so glad you enjoyed the Estate and its various historic buildings and grounds.

Nora and the Cellar 49 team send their Birthday regards and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Our Chef has just put the finishing touches on some very nice Spring additions to the menu.

Unfortunately all of the area's historic attractions close during the Winter but will soon re-open in April. I am glad you enjoyed the King Mansion and when you return we will be sure to secure a room with a nice view.

Best wishes until we can once again welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    821
    312
    161
    73
    30
See reviews for
290
626
59
235
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Tarrytown House Estates for four days while work was being done on our home. It looked great on the website, and, unlike other local hotels I researched, who throw in a bottle of champagne, call it a "Romance Package," and charge you an extra $250, the Tarrytown House special package offers were actually very good deals Their special rates were surprisingly competitive with the mid-range hotels in the area, but you definitely get more for your money. Since it is mid-winter, we did not see the grounds at their best, but we had a lovely room, exactly as it appeared on the website, and because there were no leaves on the trees, we had a spectacular view of the Hudson. I have to say that from the moment we arrived, checked in, went to our room, and took our meals, from beginning to end, the service and care we received from the staff was impeccable. Sergio at check-in, and Carlos, who carried our bags to our room, both made us feel welcome giving us information about the hotel's amenities and the local attractions. We had two dinners at Cellar 49, the restaurant in the Biddle Mansion. Because it is only open to hotel guests, we were able to walk in without a reservation for dinner, and had truly lovely dining experiences. Paul, our server, was genuinely friendly and informative, and attentive without hovering. The menu was seasonal, locally sourced, and prepared on par with any of Manhattan's finer restaurants. The chef, Chris Hettinger, used relatively simple ingredients to create very sophisticated, flavorful offerings. The restaurant's atmosphere was intimate and relaxing, and, even when there was a large dinner function going on in the next room, we were undisturbed by noise.

My only complaint would be that I found the pillows to be really uncomfortable, so I did not sleep particularly well, but, of course, that's highly subjective - my husband slept like a rock. And, like other reviewers have stated, I, also, would like to see a lighter alternative to the massive breakfast buffet. The buffet is well worth the price, and, believe me, I happily indulged, but sometimes lighter fare is preferable. A la carte items are available on the room service menu, but after service and delivery charges, gratuity and NYS taxes, breakfast can be a bit pricey.

But - all in all, what was meant to be no more than a convenient escape from home renovations, turned out to feel like a totally unexpected mini-vacation. They did a great job, and we plan to return in the summer so we can better appreciate the grounds, and have another great dinner at Cellar 49.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Hudson - the Atrium building was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank vmgnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THECC, Guest Relations Manager at Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson, responded to this review, March 7, 2012
Dear Vmgnyc:

Thank you so much for your incredible review of our Estate. Sergio, Carlos, Paul and of course Chef Hettinger were both delighted and honored for your kind note.

Our incredible team strives to create memories and I am so glad you enjoyed your winter retreat with us. As you stated soon our 26 acres will be first in bloom with thousands of daffodils and tulips and then by early May with our summer plantings. I hope we may soon welcome you back as we are the only Estate in our area with an incredible outdoor pool, sports facilities and even bocce which all will open by Memorial Day.

We are also researching additional pillow options for our guests to ensure all can "sleep like a rock".

All the best, we look forward to welcoming you back to your country estate soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2012

Traveling on business, it often seems like you are staying in the same room night after night. While I know that this is somewhat unavoidable, it's nice to spend an evening at a unique lodge like the Tarrytown House. It's not like this place is remarkably different, it offers pretty much the same amenities as other local hotels, it just does it with a bit of style and "old-world charm".
It was also nice to walk across the grounds and visit the pub, instead of getting in my car again, although the restaurant prices are a little steep. As i travel to NYC often, i"ll use this place again as a way of avoiding staying in the city, as it's just a short train ride to Grand Central from here.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OrangeFan_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THECC, Guest Relations Manager at Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Dear Orangefan_11:

Go Cuse!

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your first stay thoughts with our myriad of fans on Trip Advisor. The Lower Hudson Valley has so much to offer and it is hard to believe we sit only 24 miles north of Grand Central Station in Manhattan.

With 12 distinct buildings dating from 1840 - 2001 and 26 acres of gardens and wooded areas, the Estate offers so much to both business and pleasure travelers. As the nation's First Executive Conference Center we are proud to host meetings and conferences for attendees from all points on the globe.

Our team specializes in trying to create memorable stays and we hope we may soon welcome you back. All the best as your travels take you throughout the world and hopefully back to our area in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New City
Level Contributor
99 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2012

If you are planning a wedding this is THE place. Outstanding food, service and facilities.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THECC, Guest Relations Manager at Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Dear Roy K:

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts with our Trip Advisor community. On behalf of our entire team we wish the Bride, Groom, Family & Friends a lifetime of health, happiness and prosperity.

Wishing you all the best and we hope we may soon welcome you back to the Estate!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2012

Dinner, wine and great romance. We love it even more every time we come here. Future wedding plans are in discussion and this place is the high in the running! Thanks again for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcwaste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THECC, Guest Relations Manager at Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Dear jcwaste:

Welcome Back! On behalf of our 200 team members we were delighted to welcome you both back to the Estate for our Valentines 2012 package. The estate has a fantastic romantic setting and we are delighted that wedding bells may be ringing in your near future. We would be honored to host such an event for your family, friends and loved ones.

I hope we may soon welcome you back as summer is just around the corner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Booked a one night stay to get away from the city in the middle of the week. Purchased a bed and breakfast package (229 plus taxes), as I thought that might be nice.
The good:
1. Beautiful grounds (although we didn't get to explore much due to the weather);
2. Very clean, well maintained room, nice bathroom amenities, 42 inch flat-screen TV albeit with only 15 channels;
3. Equus restaurant (both the food and the service were excellent);
4. The gym;
The not so good:
1. Breakfast buffet is only served from 7am to 9am during the week, which was not stated in the package details. Not wanting to wake up so early I asked upon arrival if it were possible to apply the breakfast charge towards the room service, but was told that since I already paid for the room there was nothing they could do. We ended up ordering room service anyway, and frankly that was a big disappointment -- a burnt bagel and a big bowl of plain oatmeal, with some toast, juice, coffee and fruit should not equal 60 dollars.
2. We asked for a river view room upon check-in (they did show us the King's Mansion room but we preferred one of the modern wings), instead we were given a pool view room in the Atrium building. Not a big deal, but given the overall emptiness of the hotel (midweek in February and we didn't see a soul around other than a few people in the restaurant) I feel that our request should've been accommodated.
3. The parking lot is a bit away and there are a lot of stairs involved. However, we were asked if we needed help with our luggage.
If there is a deal on the rooms then this place is definitely worth checking out. However, I feel that for the amount of money it should've been more than just ok.
P.S. the reason internet directions send everyone to the wrong place (as they state on their website and as stated in some reviews) is because the hotel is actually in Irvington and not in Tarrytown itself.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THECC, Guest Relations Manager at Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Dear NYC_Traveller 02:

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your opinions with our Trip Advisor community for your recent mid-week stay.

We are so glad you enjoyed the guest room, health club and our beautiful grounds and although the gardens are not yet in bloom they soon will be with thousands of flowers.

A few points to clarify. Based on your request the desk offered to upgrade you to the historic King Mansion as it sits on the highest point of our 26 acre estate and has tremendous River views. The more modern wings sit lower and due to the large amount of old growth trees the river views are obstructed. Also our highly acclaimed restaurant is Cellar 49; the Equus restaurant you noted is in another hotel in Tarrytown with no affiliation to our Estate.

Apologies that you missed the sumptuous daily breakfast buffet, on weekends we do serve until 10:30AM for those looking to sleep in on Saturdays and Sundays.

Thank you once again and we hope when your travels take you back through the Historic Hudson Valley we may welcome you once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
Level Contributor
113 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

We stayed at the Tarrytown House Feb 18/19 and took advantage of their Valentine's Day special. It included a one night's stay, a fabulous dinner at their Cellar 49 restaurant, unlimited red and white wine during dinner, and a late check out of 1pm – all for $299.

The hotel is just gorgeous. The grounds are so pretty, and there's a great view of the Hudson River almost everywhere. Finding your room can be a bit of a challenge because the hotel is a bit of a maze. It's fun, but be prepared to walk!

When we checked in they even let us check in early, which gave us time to go "play" in Tarrytown. There's a cute little town and several other interesting things to do in the vicinity. The rooms are nicely appointed, nothing out of the ordinary, but decent. Generous bathroom items like soap, swabs, shower cap, etc – things you don't often see in hotels anymore. And they let you have full control of your thermostat! It's nice to be able to come back to a warm room after a chilly day running around outside.

As is typical with most hotels these days, the water pressure in the shower was a trickle. It got nice and warm, but it was very light. It could take a while to rinse long, thick hair.

The dinner in Cellar 49 was AMAZING! This mushroom bisque soup with truffle oil was out of this world delicious! The food was super, the service was outstanding, the ambiance was wonderful. We loved the restaurant and it was a great deal with our Valentine's Day package.

Here comes the one small complaint I have: the walls are paper-thin. At one point I could hear the people in the next room discussing how hungry they were, where they should eat, and the woman was talking about how she needed to "get her eyebrows done." They were not yelling, just speaking in normal voices. When they had their TV on, it was LOUD in our room (231 Putnam). When their alarm went off in the morning (must have been the same phone we have because the ring was just like ours) we thought it was OUR alarm, before we realized we hadn't set an alarm. So if you must have total quiet, don't go to this hotel unless you're guaranteed an empty room between you and the next guest. Which is a shame because everything else about this hotel was awesome.

Check out was easy. This was our second stay at the Tarrytown House. (The first time we went we didn't notice any noise from other rooms.) Next time we'll probably go during the summer months to take advantage of their outdoor pool.

Room Tip: See if you can get a room next to an empty room, the walls are THIN! And if you don't want to wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jensearch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THECC, Guest Relations Manager at Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Dear Jensearch:

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent weekend stay. Our team strives to create memories for our guests and we were so glad to welcome you back.

The Cellar 49 restaurant is unique yet warm and inviting and our Chef takes great pride in his creations. Soon we will be launching our Spring menu.

Our apologies for the noise you encountered as well as the low water pressure. Believe it or not our older wings tend to be quieter than the newer buildings built in the 1990's as they used more stone, concrete and brick which tend to be better sound insulators. When you return we will endeavor to place you in a more secluded area of the estate.

Thank you again for all your kind comments, we look forward to welcoming you back once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tarrytown hotels
1.3 mi away
Castle Hotel & Spa
Castle Hotel & Spa
#6 of 7 in Tarrytown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Tarrytown
1.4 mi away
Courtyard Tarrytown Greenburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Westchester Marriott
Westchester Marriott
#5 of 7 in Tarrytown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
1.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Tarrytown Greenburgh
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Tarrytown Hotel
Sheraton Tarrytown Hotel
#7 of 7 in Tarrytown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson

Property: Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson
Address: 49 E Sunnyside Ln, Tarrytown, NY 10591-9500 (Formerly Tarrytown House Estate & Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Westchester County > Tarrytown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tarrytown
#1 Business Hotel in Tarrytown
#2 Green Hotel in Tarrytown
#2 Family Hotel in Tarrytown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson 3.5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 25 miles from Midtown Manhattan this estate blends historical charm with modern conveniences. Residing on 26-acres overlooking the Lower Hudson River Valley, well-appointed lodging is found at Tarrytown House Estate, featuring impressive 19th-century mansions - King Mansion and Biddle Mansion - a Carriage House and The Cottage. A Perfect getaway for a weekend adult escape from the city or a destination wedding. Tarrytown House Estate offers luxurious Hudson Valley lodging and amenities. This landmark hotel in Westchester, NY features extensive leisure and recreational facilities such as a fitness center, family friendly heated indoor pool and a seasonal adult only outdoor pool. The estate also offers seasonal/complimentary basketball, volleyball, bocce, horse-shoes and tennis courts. Historic Westchester County proves to enhance a visitor's Hudson Valley lodging experience with incredible opportunities for Hudson River Valley antiquing, boating, hiking and sightseeing. Enjoy any or all of these activities among the rich and historic atmosphere known as home to Westchester, New York's famous sites including the Washington Irving's Sunnyside, Philipsburg Manor and the spectacular Rockefeller estate, Kykuit. While staying at Tarrytown House Estate, guests can experience the many attractions that the Hudson Valley has to offer including the scenic Hudson Park, Neuberger Museum of Art, Grand Prix New York Racing, and the Cortlandt Heritage Museum. The hotel is also located only 5 miles away from Stone Barns Center for Food and Agriculture where guests can enjoy various dishes made from locally grown produce and ingredients at the center's restaurant, Blue Hill at Stone Barns. The hotel is also near the United States Military Academy at West Point, offering convenient accommodations during graduation or family events at the academy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Preferred Hotels, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarrytown House Estate On The Hudson Hotel Tarrytown
Tarrytown Hotel Estate
Tarrytown House Hotel
Dolce Tarrytown House
Tarrytown Dolce House
Tarrytown House Estate On The Hudson NY - Westchester County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing