We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great NY city weekend getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Tarrytown
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Tarrytown
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great NY city weekend getaway”
Reviewed February 5, 2010

I have been staying here for years, since it was the Hilton. It's a great place to go in the winter if you live in the NY city area. Relax, take a swim, take a hike nearby or a walk at Rockefeller State Park, hit City Limits diner (or Eldorado West across the street). I definitely miss the hot tub the Hilton used to have and their well-appointed swimming pool area. The current pool area is just functional, but still a pretty good pool for kids. I haven't eaten at the cafe, but the lobby is really very nice with the high-beamed roof and fireplace seating areas. There are always weekend weddings or parties there but we were not bothered by anyone from the party. The price is right too. And really the cookies are great!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MitchellNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    601
    396
    202
    102
    40
See reviews for
373
236
66
497
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kitty Hawk, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2010

This Doubletree is a beautifully maintained and manicured property. It gives you the feeling of staying in a log cabin - huge ceilings and spacious walkways. The rooms were too very spacious and not confining. The location was very easy right off the interstate. Had a nicely equipped fitness center and indoor pool. However the elevators were extremely small for such a large property - we were on the second floor and just chose to use the stairs instead as it was faster. The breakfast (not the buffet) was extremely busy, but fast service. Good working high speed internet that was free. The attitude from the staff overall was indifferent - nobody went out of their way to make us feel welcome. But overall a good experience. Warm cookies at check in always a plus.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missj727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 20, 2010

I got a room for two nights on Priceline, for $80 per night and I was very happy with this property. It's not new, but it has been renovated recently to modern Hilton standards, most importantly the rooms. Mine was very fresh looking, clean, quiet, and comfortable. Connecting to the internet was free. Other positives are a lobby redone in grand rustic style, and a nice swimming pool big enough for laps, with adjacent dressing rooms equipped with steam rooms. The rest of the fitness center is small, but adequate for a quick workout. I didn't try the hotel restaurant; there are many nice restaurants nearby, particularly the Red Hat on the waterfront in nearby Irvington.

With its long and rather dreary corridors (with no elevator to the second floor) the hotel retains some of the flavor of the big motel that it was originally, but everything else about it has been upgraded very nicely.

Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank LilOldLadyFrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 19, 2010

Nice hotel. Friendly service. Makes the trip more pleasant.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swiftriver4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
1 review
Reviewed December 19, 2009

I have stayed at the Doubletree in Tarrytown twice so far. I will definitely stay there again. Wonderful location for visiting NYC via Metro North or driving up to Dutchess County or CT. Very close to the White Plains airport. Quiet, clean, courteous staff. If you want to visit the the NY metro area, but you don't want the high prices of hotels in the city or the crowds, you should highly consider this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shopgirl007indiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed November 17, 2009

Spacious room in well maintained hotel. Comfortable bed. A good all around experience.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MudgysP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2009

We were up in Westchester to see the Great Holloween Blaze at Van Cortlandt Manor - an awesome sight that everyone should make an effort to see - and to attend a family party the following day. Booked the Doubletree because we had been to the restuarant the previous year and the food was great. The hotel looks brand-new, and has an impressive, Adirondack-style lobby. The rooms are small, but nicely furnished. My kids used the pool and said it was clean and warm. The staff was very helpful, efficient and responsive. We had a slight problem with the room, and they immediately comped all four of us for the breakfast buffet and they usually charge $17 pp. The buffet was really nice, good food, good service in a beautiful setting. My big complaint: The Mattresses! Like sleeping in quicksand.... mushy and too soft. They gave no support, and forced you to roll with gravity into the center. I woke up multiple times, and finally woke up way early with a sore back. Just awful.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HistoryMom02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tarrytown hotels
0.8 mi away
Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Tarrytown Greenburgh
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Tarrytown Hotel
Sheraton Tarrytown Hotel
#7 of 7 in Tarrytown
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Tarrytown Greenburgh
0.9 mi away
Castle Hotel & Spa
Castle Hotel & Spa
#6 of 7 in Tarrytown
171 reviews
1.6 mi away
Westchester Marriott
Westchester Marriott
#5 of 7 in Tarrytown
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Tarrytown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Tarrytown

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Tarrytown
Address: 455 S Broadway, Tarrytown, NY 10591-6002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Westchester County > Tarrytown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Tarrytown
#3 Business Hotel in Tarrytown
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tarrytown
#3 Family Hotel in Tarrytown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Tarrytown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 11 acres of landscaped grounds in the heart of the Hudson Valley, the Doubletree by Hilton Tarrytown comprises 246 guest rooms, 24,000 square feet of meeting and pre-function space, the largest Grand Ballroom in Westchester County, a Business Center, indoor pool, day spa, sauna, and state-of-the-art fitness center, complimentary parking, complimentary WiFi access in guest rooms and Bistro Z restaurant—offering a country atmosphere and friendly service for both business guests and vacationers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Tarrytown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Tarrytown Hotel Tarrytown
Tarrytown Hilton
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Tarrytown NY - Westchester County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing