We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistency in service each stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Tarrytown
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Tarrytown
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Smyrna, Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Consistency in service each stay”
Reviewed December 7, 2011

Return trip to hotel. Hotel now has a dedicated Hilton Honors check-in desk. Always a good stay here. Room requests are honored by this hotel and I have been happy to receive my specific suite. The hotel staff is helpful and really provides consistent service on each stay. I have reviewed this property previously and added this review as I stayed in another Doubletree property in Virginia with provide a stark difference in amenities.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladyinmaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    600
    395
    202
    102
    40
See reviews for
373
236
66
495
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2011

I am up at 4:00AM and writing this review to warn you: do NOT stay here. Decades ago this was a nice hotel. Not anymore. It's time to repurpose the building or rip it down. I think this mattress was purchased when the hotel opened. It actually creaks, and is the most uncomfortable mattress I've ever slept on in my life. My back is killing me and I don't usually have issues. I just called the desk and the gentleman said all the mattresses are the same age but he will speak to housekeeping to make sure and I will have to check back later.

This is one of those low buildings where you have to walk a mile to get to your room. It literally takes ten minutes to get from my room to the lobby. People were wandering the halls with their luggage between 5 and 6 last night. It's a total pain. I do not feel very safe because my room is so far from the main building. I could scream bloody murder and no one would hear me. Another guest and I walked outside and cut across the courtyard area as a shortcut but it's winter and who wants to do this? Outside you can see peeling paint everywhere and how shabby this place has gotten. Also, the bar is in a mail hallway and there were little kids running up and down while their parents were standing there drinking? I reaize that's more the parents fault but if this place had a proper lounge maybe someone could have said something.

Hilton needs to wake up and get out of this building. You can't make a silk purse out of a sow's ear. All the nice soaps, new sheets, flat screen TVs and cookies in the land do NOT make up for a horrendous night's sleep. The bad news is all the other hotels in the area are sold out - hmmmm, I wonder why the $300 a night hotels are sold out and this one was giving away rooms at $115???? Stay anywhere but here, but book early, or else you'll be stuck! I travel about 40 weeks out of the year and have stayed in some tiny towns that didn't even have a brand name hotel, and this is BY FAR the worst night I have spent in a long long time.

Room Tip: Terrible night's sleep. Old building not kept up. AVOID!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marty99x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed December 2, 2011

I stayed at this hotel on a weekly basis long term and wanted to compliment the staff on their great service. Every staff person was always helpful, warm, professional and courteous. The hotel was also conveniently located, clean, and safe. I will miss my second home. Want to thank the following staff for their wonderful service.

Melinda, Tracy, Zena, Dolly, Sunny, Shaquan, Jackie, Alicia, Karl, Sara, Ruth, Diane, Cheryl, Jason, Michelle, Ana, and Housekeeping.

Room Tip: Newly renovated so all rooms are in great shape.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 01google
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2011

Stayed here just for the one night wile interviewing with a company nearby. A great location and absolutely loved the hotel building layout. As opposed to the usual big building, this was almost like a lodge with just 2 stories and stoned payed floors in the reception etc.

Clean and simple rooms with really comfortable beds.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AKCTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Convenient location to Tappan Zee Bridge and train station to NYC. Nice sized room with large bathroom. Clean. HH member so we got free breakfast that was good.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank love2grdn2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyannis Port, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2011

Lobby is nice, convenient location right off highway and near Tarrytown restaurants, etc. Room was OK...the hotel seems to use rooms at the end of north wing as dorm rooms for local college.

We did have an issue with the climate control. Called the front desk when we arrived as we put the AC to 60 and hot air came out. The engineer let us know that it is a 2 pipe system, and was turned to heat only. Any setting below the room temperature would just circulate the warm air, and above our room temperature would heat it. We were there during 65 degree days, so room was 75 degrees with no option for cooling. Solution was to open window...

Refrigerators not present, but we rented one for $10 for the stay, which was well worth it for the kids.

Bathroom was very small, but functional, clean and nice. Beds seemed to be old mattress and sagged in middle.

Overall, the other hotel in town that we stayed last time we visited the area was a better value and generally better, which was less "stars". We definitely expected more.

Room Tip: Room towards lobby would be closer to pool and away from college kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john55c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman Oaks, CA
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

I stayed just one night and mostly because I had to be in Tarry town and I am a HH Diamond VIP – like the benefits and working to re-qualify for next year. My conference was at the Marriott nearby. Check-in was fast an efficient – although I don’t understand why the amenity water is not put in the room, and you have to juggle luggage, keys and two bottles of water up to the room. A number of Hiltons do this and I think they need to re-evaluate that. Enough other properties do it, so its clearly workable to put the water in the room. Particularly since there are steps even after you use the elevator to get to the upper floor at the back. The hotel was full, and a requested upgrade was declined. The hotel also has no executive lounge.

The room was a little stuffy and the A/C never really solved that over night. The room is a nicely renovated Hilton room, but the bathroom was definitely a relic the hotels vintage (built 1960). Its tiny and dated, but workable for one (two I don’t know – the counter space was pretty sparse for one).

My aunt, who doesn’t live far away, came to meet me for dinner. She had heard great things about the restaurant in the hotel, so we ate there. I was excited to see a fall Octoberfest like menu of German specials. I had the pork loin (“swinebrotten”) with red cabbage – which was tender and wonderful. Our waitress (although very nice) apparently had never seen the menu and had no idea what we were talking about when we ordered off of it, couldn’t really answer any questions about the menu, and had no idea what the free drink coupons given to us at check-in covered. Each question required an “I can find out” or a trip to visit with the manager. I understand being new, but being familiar (at least in passing) with the menu should probably a minimum requirement for dealing with paying guests. My aunt’s veal was really tough – which at the price was really not acceptable. Our waitress’ offered to bring her a steak knife instead of offering something else to replace it. It was only after some discussion that the manager came over, we sent the veal back, and received word that the chef also thought the recent batch of veal they got was tough (why its gets served to the customers, I don’t know). All in all, not a terrible experience, but just a modicum of training or interest in what she was doing would have gone a long way with the waitress and us. The breakfast buffet was complete forgettable – although being in the NYC area, the bagels were decent.

In the morning, I stupidly couldn’t find my rental car keys. With all the commotion and water juggling at check-in, I didn’t realize I slipped them in an outside pocket of my laptop bag which I never use. The staff was wonderful – even a front desk manager came to my room to help me look. I thought I might have left them at the restaurant, but nope – just completely spaced. I appreciated the concerned help I received.

All-in-all, not bad, but I might be tempted to try another property (hopefully Hilton) in the area on my next visit.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TransCon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tarrytown hotels
0.8 mi away
Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Tarrytown Greenburgh
1.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Tarrytown Greenburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Tarrytown Hotel
Sheraton Tarrytown Hotel
#7 of 7 in Tarrytown
491 reviews
0.9 mi away
Castle Hotel & Spa
Castle Hotel & Spa
#6 of 7 in Tarrytown
171 reviews
1.6 mi away
Westchester Marriott
Westchester Marriott
#5 of 7 in Tarrytown
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Tarrytown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Tarrytown

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Tarrytown
Address: 455 S Broadway, Tarrytown, NY 10591-6002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Westchester County > Tarrytown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Tarrytown
#3 Business Hotel in Tarrytown
#3 Family Hotel in Tarrytown
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tarrytown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Tarrytown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 11 acres of landscaped grounds in the heart of the Hudson Valley, the Doubletree by Hilton Tarrytown comprises 246 guest rooms, 24,000 square feet of meeting and pre-function space, the largest Grand Ballroom in Westchester County, a Business Center, indoor pool, day spa, sauna, and state-of-the-art fitness center, complimentary parking, complimentary WiFi access in guest rooms and Bistro Z restaurant—offering a country atmosphere and friendly service for both business guests and vacationers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Tarrytown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Tarrytown Hotel Tarrytown
Tarrytown Hilton
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Tarrytown NY - Westchester County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing