We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Tarrytown
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Tarrytown
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Falls Church, VA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Helpful, friendly staff”
Reviewed September 26, 2011

We recently had a two-night weekend stay for a family memorial service. We didn't spend a lot of time at the hotel and so I normally wouldn't write a review, but I just couldn't let the quality service go unmentioned. We were there on a busy weekend, too--if the gift bags at the front desk were any indication, there were at least three wedding parties booked. All service was prompt, the front desk staff was efficient and professional, and the restaurant staff was particularly friendly and accommodating. Kudos to the hotel management for the culture of customer service!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LalaFallsChurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    594
    382
    198
    102
    38
See reviews for
366
233
64
488
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

There are many hotels in this area such as the 2 Marriots and a Hampton Inn. Most are business hotels which means that it is nice and clean but not luxurious.
Hotel from outside was alright but when you walked in, it was surprisingly nice in there. The rooms were even better. The furniture was stylish and sheek while the beds were very comfortable. And the room was LARGE. It had two beds, a table, leather armchairs, and still a lot of room left. If there is any problems, call maintenance, they will come check it out immediately. The cookie when you check in is delicious and you can go back for seconds.
The breakfast is nice and varied and the restaurant, for a business hotel restaurant was very good. Tons of higher end menu items to go with the standard bar menu as well. Steak au Poive was good.
Overall, what a perfect little stay,

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Purplehaze925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, NY
2 reviews
Reviewed September 21, 2011

On a recent trip to Tarrytown, NY I had the pleasure of staying at the Doubletree. From Check-in to departure everything was wonderful. The staff was very accommodating. We had drinks and appetizers at the bar which were all delicious!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mame N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2011

Nice place, good breakfast (included with some rates), easy location. We found the hotel to be very clean, only problem was a leaky ceiling in one of the hallways - but this was right after the recent hurricane and so much rain - and it was being repaired the next day. They also need some supervision and more-specific rules at the pool, like "no unattended children" and "bathing suits required"

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mickelson2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

We had good service from the hotel staff and the warm cookie on arrival was a really nice touch. Room was very spacious and the bed was really comfortable. The hotel was in a good location, close to the major routes and other hotels in the area (although not in a complex of hotels which was a nice touch) as we were there for a friend's wedding.

We liked the nice homely feel of the hotel without it seeming like a large corporate faceless chain. One of the downsides was the wireless internet access as we had to pay a connection fee per device which we found quite inconvenient.

Overall it was a well presented hotel, nice and clean.

The restaurant was nice with a good selection for the buffet breakfast and some really delicious main courses for the dinner menu. It was nice that they were promoting some wine offers and were happy to suggest which wine to chose.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XFNutty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
94 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights which happened to be right through the weekend of Hurricane Irene. (of course we didn't schedule it around the hurricane - we had booked before the whole thing became big news...) We were pretty excited and looking forward to this "staycation" as we live in the city - and we usually love Doubletree Hotels. I was really looking forward to swimming in the pool and relaxing a bit but that wasn't to be..

Pros: convenient location, right off of I-87. nice lodge-like entrance/lobby, good sized pool and gym (though they closed them during Hurricane Irene so we couldn't use them at all.. no alternatives were offered), Crabtree & Evelyn toiletries, decent hotel restaurant (we had dinner there - was pretty good)

Cons: As someone else said - dirty/stained rug. Pretty surprised at how there were so many stains on our hotel room floor. The bathroom was pretty small (a la NYC boutique hotel style) There was water leaking from the 2nd floor in one of the stairwells. Not the best customer service - when we asked if we could delay the check out by an hour or so because we were concerned the roads closures due to the hurricane, the front office said we need to leave by noon because they were expecting a group to come in (and they hadn't cancelled). So it's okay for paying guests to be stranded without a place to go - no gym/no pool, just hang out in the crowded hotel lobby? Tripadvisor's website showed that they have free wifi-but they actually charge $4.95 per day to use it - even in the business center! They need to fix that in their hilton/doubletree website too because the room detail page actually says free wifi where as the main hotel page says they charge $4.95 - very inconsistent info!


I would have given this a 4 or a 5 if it weren't for the hasty response from the reception when we asked for late check out option. What special "group" was going to rush out to Tarrytown in the middle of the hurricane to make it to this hotel when there flood all over the place including northern westchester and closed roads and Sprainbrook/BronxRiver Parkways..!?? it's okay for this 'group' to come in late but they were more than willing to kick out paying guests who stayed for 2 nights exactly at 12pm when the roads are closed... found that treatment to be very inconsiderate. At check-in, I was also surprised they didn't offer cookies until i actually asked (I asked because I saw someone next to me being offered one) isn't this one of the first things they do at the Doubletree?
my husband is not a picky traveler but even he felt it was kind of average hotel..
Next time - when we go to Tarrytown, we probably will not be booking at the Doubletree...

Dining Options: The restaurant there was pretty good with good service/staff. For breakfast, there is a diner across the street, their prices were very reasonable and breakfast was good/tasty. Main Street Tarrytown is just a 5 min drive up Broadway and there are a few restaurants there as well. We ate at the Tarrytown Tavern which was good (they seemed to specialize in ingredients from local producers)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank myxz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

I stayed at this hotel Aug 24th on business travel. I did not see any bed bugs but the next day, I was eaten alive by them. I now have welts all over my body. I am totally skeeved out. My only hope is I did not bring them home with me.

Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
8 Thank mikefizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeTarrytown, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Tarrytown, responded to this review, September 1, 2011
This is absolutely not true. We had the room inspected by a certified pest control company. They didn't find any bugs in the room. You are welcome to call the hotel and ask to review the certification that no bugs were found in the room. We take our cleanliness very serious.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tarrytown hotels
0.8 mi away
Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Tarrytown Greenburgh
0.9 mi away
Castle Hotel & Spa
Castle Hotel & Spa
#5 of 7 in Tarrytown
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Tarrytown Greenburgh
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Tarrytown Hotel
Sheraton Tarrytown Hotel
#7 of 7 in Tarrytown
478 reviews
1.6 mi away
Westchester Marriott
Westchester Marriott
#6 of 7 in Tarrytown
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Tarrytown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Tarrytown

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Tarrytown
Address: 455 S Broadway, Tarrytown, NY 10591-6002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Westchester County > Tarrytown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Tarrytown
#3 Family Hotel in Tarrytown
#3 Business Hotel in Tarrytown
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tarrytown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Tarrytown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TripAdvisor of Excellence Award Winner 2013 and 2012 Doubletree by Hilton Tarrytown offers visitors the perfect location to explore history, dining, shopping, nature and entertainment and do business in between. Located in Westchester County, 25 minutes north of New York City just off I-87 and I-287, the hotel is easily accessible by air, car or train. Once you arrive, this unique hotel offers comfort and convenience in a relaxed atmosphere. The indoor pool, 24 hour fitness center, Day Spa, Restaurant and Lounge, Women's sauna and men's steam room complements a perfect travel experience. Since it re-opened, the hotel has been satisfying one customer at a time. Come and see it for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Tarrytown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Tarrytown Hotel Tarrytown
Tarrytown Hilton
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Tarrytown NY - Westchester County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing