We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep moving past this one”
Review of Horsefeathers

Horsefeathers
Ranked #16 of 63 Restaurants in Tarrytown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Tarrytown, New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Keep moving past this one”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Service is terrible.

The hostess was rude to us. We only saw our waitress to take our order and give us the check. Our food was delivered by kitchen staff and he was rude.

Party of 6 ordering 6 burgers... and we had a bill of over $110, that was shocking.

I will not eat here again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sammy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    84
    39
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Just Okay”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Smallish sized pub with a bar with some seating on one side and restaurant seating on the other and on the patio. Nice menu with not your typical pub fare.

The food was good and tasty.
The portions were at best average and the prices were anything but.
(For those who can't read between the lines, you'll pay a lot but you won't get a lot.)

For atmosphere, they dimmed the lights--too low, I strained to read the menu even with my reading glasses.

Service was just okay. Waitress was not all that friendly, seemed to do us a favor to take orders. She did not return to refill drinks. Food did come out promptly.
I asked the waitress if the Rueben was a big portion, and she responded "You won't be hungry afterwards." If I was twiggy maybe. Unfortunately I was still hungry.

On a positive note, we were a party of 7, we were not rushed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HowieW W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Cozy little place, great service!”
Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

We went to Tarrytown for the Great Jack O Lantern Blaze and needed a casual spot to grab a bite with friends. This was the perfect spot. It's very cozy inside and the service was quick and attentive. The food was good, nothing fancy, the kind of place you get soup or a burger.
Glad we took a friends recommendation so that's why I'm recommending it here.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great place for burgers and BBQ”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

burgers and Wraps - excellent.

I had a burger and she had a wrap.

Burger was a tad over cooked,. wrap was grand


Come early, they close at 9pm during the week.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LastSecondTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, NY
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“No wonder it's been around so long!”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We've been living in Tarrytown for more than 30 years and Horsefeathers was a legend when we moved in. While we frequented Horsefeathers often when we first arrived, we haven't visited the place for a few years. The other evening we stopped by just looking for a casual meal and were delighted with the food and the service. The burger I ordered was perfectly cooked and succulent, the cole slaw was home-made (it definitely did not come from a plastic container and it had no sugary taste at all - tasting sugar in cole slaw is one of my pet peeves) and the onion rings were top notch. My husband's steak sandwich was also perfectly cooked and served with well caramelized onions. There is an excellent choice of beers served in well-frozen glasses, something you don't find too often nowadays. The service was professional and unobtrusive. Our only complaint was the level of noise - by all means keep the quirky and delightful murals and such, but please do something to lessen the din.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank happytraveller914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Horsefeathers also viewed

Sleepy Hollow, Westchester County
Tarrytown, Westchester County
 
Tarrytown, Westchester County
Tarrytown, Westchester County
 

Been to Horsefeathers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing