We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I would come here again” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Tarrytown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sheraton Tarrytown Hotel
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Tarrytown
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“I would come here again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2008

This hotel is a great option for those who want to avoid the $350+ a night hotel rooms in the city. That said, Sheraton will soon be unveiling some new Four Points hotels in Soho and Brooklyn that will be closer to/in the city and more affordable. Provided the pricing is right on those new places, I would prefer to stay there, simply because the location will be closer to the subway and the city itself.

With that said, I enjoyed my stay at this hotel. There is a free shuttle service to a commuter train (very comfortable, $7 each way) that takes you directly to Grand Central Station. The train ride itself is very enjoyable- a good portion of it travels along the Hudson and you get to glimpse the stately homes built into the riverbanks, and see a side of NYC life that we don't normally get to see (charming, green suburbs!), and before you know it you're in Manhattan- well, in about 40 minutes. Seriously, it's not bad!
To return to the hotel, simply call them from a phone (they give you a card w/ the number) and they will pick you up.

The hotel itself is clean and new, with a big wooden bar area, and Italian restaurant - more on that later- a truly charming outdor patio area, and a fitness center.

Some points worth mentioning:

1) The staff were outstanding. Truly. The front desk people who helped me were gracious, kind, and very knowledgable.

2) The shuttle driver who picked me up from the train station after a long day in the city drove past me 3 times without stopping...grrrr. The hotel apologized profusely. This was a fluke incident, so don't decide to skip this place solely on that.

3) I ordered take-out from the restaurant and ate it in my room (to avoid the room service charges). It was so disappointing. After a long hot day trudging around in the city alone, I was really looking forward to a shower and a good dinner in bed. I ordered a shrimp, garlic, tomato, olive oil pasta dish. Not hard to mess that up, right? Wrong. It tasted like it had been drenched in butter, I could hardly see the tomato, and the shrimp tasted like they had been deep fried (why were they fried??) in day-old bacon grease. UGH. That said, the glass of wine I had at the bar while waiting for my food was delicious!

4) The restaurant and bar staff are also VERY friendly and accomodating. I ate my breakfast on the patio outside with my newspaper and the waiter who helped me was very friendly and patient. Also, the waiter who served me my terrible dinner was also outstanding. Same goes for the friendly bartender.

5) The fitness room was small but had a selection of cardio machines and free weights. It looks out over the very tiny, 3'8'' swimming pool. Seriously, it's pretty small and not at all deep. They do have a hot tub, but I didn't use it.

6) I am not sure what the latest train back to Tarrytown is from Grand Central Station. If it is very late, this is great, because it means you can eat dinner or go to a show in the city and then return home. If the last train back is around 6 or 7pm, this is NOT good for those who want a night out on the town, unless you drive in and park in a Manhattan lot, or pay loads for a taxi ride back.

7) My room was super clean and modern. The bed was perfect. The bed that dreams are made of. Also, lots of tv channels and a clean bathroom. No fridge of minibar snacks though.

8) The hotel itself is located in a 'corporate' section of Tarrytown. It's in a big parking lot and there are other big suburban office buildings nearby. If you want a hotel that is in a pedestrian fiendly neighborhood, this isn't it. That said, once you are inside, you don't even notice. I normally avoid locations like this, but this particular hotel isn't bad. The super charming outdoor patio area was very tastefully designed and is very green, so you can sit out there and feel like you're in a backyard.

To sum it up, I think it makes sense to stay here if you are:

a) on a tight budget
b) are here on business only
c) are in NYC or White Plains/Tarrytown for some reason other than to spend late nights out partying downtown (this was my case)

  • Liked — Clean, big,
  • Disliked — Dinner was bad
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SouthAfricaCharley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    170
    97
    25
    25
See reviews for
123
116
38
145
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake George, NY.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2008

We have been staying here for the last couple of years on our annual NYC trip. It is always a pleasure. Economical, clean, good vibe, great service. Free shuttle to the train station, awesome beds, flat screen TV's, great location. I will be staying there again next year, no doubt.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Curbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dracut, MA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2008

Very pleased with hotel, room, and dining. The staff was pleasant and professional. Really enjoyed our stay. No complaints at all.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobinWyman75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
194 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2008

Stayed here for a wedding at the Castle on the Hudson. We got the wedding block rate of $149 which is the price I would expect to pay for this type of hotel. The website had rates of $249 which would be more than the hotel is worth.

I would call this a 3 1/2 star hotel. The rooms are new and modern with a flat screen tv, just nothing extraordinary about them. The bathroom was nice size however there was no bathtub in ours.

Doubt I'll make it out to Tarrytown again - but if I did I may stay here again, may not.

  • Liked — Location to the wedding, price
  • Disliked — just an average hotel
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Bessca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIVERDALE,NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2008

I stayed at the Sheraton Tarrytown for over a week and in general was very pleased with the hotel itself as well as the friendly and warm staff. The lobby is inviting and the cookies,cupcakes,water, and free magazines are an appreciated surprise. The room was comfortable and clean and contained all the little things that help to make any stay a pleasure. I was a bit disappointed in the 10 dollar charge for internet as most other hotels i've frequented do not charge for wireless access, but that is a small matter compared to most good points. The bed and the bath were both very comfortable and I have no complaints in that area. The nice flat screen television was added great aesthetic appeal to an already nice room.

However, my biggest compliment has to go to the girls at the front desk, especially Jaimy and Michelle. They are very sweet and dedicated to helping guests have a pleasant experience. The room service staff is very nice as well.

Sadly, the night staff leaves much to be desired. Oswaldo is an absolute horror to deal with, and the manager Josh is no better. They were unwilling to assist when i had an emergency when i lost my purse and therefore cancelled my credit cards. The two informed me that I would not be able to enter my room or even remove my possessions until the balance was paid off. This is after I had already been there for 1 week. And although I am a frequent guests and a Starwood Preferred Guest they refused to simply send me a bill for 3 days of my stay. I was told by a Starwood supervisor that this is easily and frequently done.

Another sore point is the fact that everyday upon my return my room keys would not work. Every single day I was forced to have the front desk reprogram the keys to give me access to the room that was already paid for. Finally, on the second to last day of my stay a woman walked into our room without knocking and to both their horror found my bf in the buff. I was a bit disappointed at that bit of unprofessionalism.

They are lucky to have the ladies at the front desk. It is because of them that i would return to this hotel.

  • Liked — The Day Time Front Desk Staff Especially Michelle and Jaimy
  • Disliked — OSWALDO AND JOSH!!!!!!
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank KARITEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2008

We were extremely disappointed with the service this time around at the Sheraton Tarrytown. When we arrived at 10:30PM, there was a queue at the front desk, so we decided to use the new fancy kiosk in the lobby that invitingly displayed, "Why wait in line?" Well why indeed? The touchscreen performance was sluggish and it took a very looong time for the keys to come out of the slot. When they did, the kiosk failed to inform us of our room number, so we had to get back in line anyway! I was checking in with my partner, and the receptionist asked four times, very loudly, if we were staying in the same room with a single king bed, something I would expect if we were in Mississippi, but not Westchester County, NY.

The room was clean and spacious as we remembered from when we stayed here shortly after the hotel opened. Remembering the fruit bowl and and abundant selection of freshly-brewed-throughout-the-day coffees in the lounge on the Club Floor, I specifically requested a Club Floor room. This time, there was no fruit, no coffee, no continental breakfast, nothing. I had to scavenge the Club Pantry for bananas. Do not be deceived by the marketing of the Club Floor, friends: there are no hors d'ouvres and no cocktails. I was lucky to find a decaf tea bag and a packet of Equal.

The following criticism is for most hotel chains, but please hear me: WIRELESS BROADBAND ACCESS SHOULD BE COMPLIMENTARY FOR PREFERRED GUESTS. SERIOUSLY. This $15/day charge for a slow wireless connection has got to stop.

The hot water in the shower was probably the most maddening annoyance of all. It cycled from freezing cold to genital-scalding hot every 15 seconds and never stabilized. Very unfortunate.

Since there was nothing in the Club Lounge, we went down for breakfast in the lobby--granted, at 10:30, just before the end of breakfast--where we were charged another $15 each for stale bagels and whatever else was leftover in the squeaky warming pots; a smattering of rubbery eggs and some shriveled sausages. Crumbs were strewn everywhere. There was no orange juice. The wait staff made it clear that he was irritated with our patronage.

On the upside: the fitness room and pool in this hotel is great.

Clearly when we stayed at the Sheraton the first time, just after the opening last year, the corporate staff was running the place, doing their darndest to establish a fine reputation. We had a fantastic stay. It is amazing to me how quickly this lovely hotel has fallen into disarray. Next time we take a long weekend to visit our friends in Tarrytown, we'll take our business to the newly-renovated Doubletree.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2008

After a number of stays at this property, there were enough annoyances during my last visit to merit comment. My club-level, presumably non smoking room had a strong smell of cleaning spray that may have been used to mask smoke odor. The roll-down black out window shade would neither roll all the way up or all the way down. The bedside clock radio was set at the wrong time, with no way to adjust. Nothing fatal really but given the price and supposed quality of the property, not good. I'll look for an alternative, most likely the new White Plains RItz Carlton which has been highly recommended by colleagues from work.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
Thank SoFLGringo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tarrytown hotels
1.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Tarrytown
0.2 mi away
Westchester Marriott
Westchester Marriott
#4 of 7 in Tarrytown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Tarrytown Greenburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson
0.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Tarrytown Greenburgh
0.8 mi away
Castle Hotel & Spa
Castle Hotel & Spa
#5 of 7 in Tarrytown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Tarrytown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Tarrytown Hotel

Property: Sheraton Tarrytown Hotel
Address: 600 White Plains Rd, Tarrytown, NY 10591-5104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Westchester County > Tarrytown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Tarrytown
#5 Business Hotel in Tarrytown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Tarrytown Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at the Sheraton Tarrytown Hotel. Our full-service hotel brings you to the heart of the charm and beauty of Westchester County's historic Hudson Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Sheraton Tarrytown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Tarrytown Hotel NY - Westchester County
Tarrytown Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing