We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pricey for what you get”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Tarrytown Hotel
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Tarrytown
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Pricey for what you get”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Beautiful room with white bedding and french doors on the bathroom. Curiously, the bathroom doors don't lock! Fitness room was open 24 hours and had enough free weights and cardio equipment for a good workout. The wifi costs $10/night OR you can log on free in the lobby. That's just a money-grab for the business travelers who don't mind spending their company's money, but a lousy experience for the leisure traveler who is more price sensitive. Right next door to a Stop and Shop if you want to grab fresh fruit, pastries and such.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill40, Manager at Sheraton Tarrytown Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Bruce G.

Thank you for staying at The Sheraton Tarrytown! We are happy to hear that your stay was memorable.
We hope to see you soon.

Thank you
Lou Gaudio
Assistant General Manager
Sheraton Tarrytown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    172
    98
    25
    26
See reviews for
123
116
38
150
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

My family, i.e., my wife and two young boys, and I stayed here for one night on our way from Boston to New Jersey to attend a wedding. We got a good rate via Hotwire. The hotel is right off of the Exit 1 from Route 287, a short distance from the Tappan Zee Bridge.

Smack in the middle of a parking lot for a large grocery store and adjacent to many offices, the immediate surroundings are not of much interest for tourists. If you have local business, this is a good, clean and safe place to stay. If you want to travel to NY by train and avoid the high costs of staying in New York City, the Metro North Station in Tarrytown is a short car ride away. I was told by the front desk staff that a shuttle from the hotel to the Tarrytown train station runs every weekday, but not on weekends.

Cons:
We stayed on a Friday night. When we arrived, we saw a large bus parked in the lot in front of the main entrance to the hotel. A large group was staying at the hotel. One problem we encountered was a broken elevator. That is, with only one elevator working and a lot of guests, it took a long time to get to and from our room. Also, the ice machine on our floor was empty, so we had to take a trip to another floor for ice. Those were the only bad points of our stay.

Pros
The front desk staff were both efficient and friendly, i.e., easy check-in. Our room was large, clean and quiet. The nearby, i.e., a short walk across the parking lot, grocery store was an added bonus if you needed a inexpensive snack or drink.

When I was asked by the front desk staff to sign a form stating that I would reimburse the hotel for damages and that I was aware of the quiet time, I thought I made a mistake by reserving a room at this hotel. That is, they must have had problems in the past because I have NEVER (I am a frequent traveller) been asked to sign this type of form. Fortunately, we did not encounter any loud or unruly crowds during our stay.

All in all, with a good rate from Hotwire, our stay was pleasant.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the end of the hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BostonSuburb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill40, Manager at Sheraton Tarrytown Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear BostonSuburb

Thank you for staying at The Sheraton Tarrytown! We have addressed the technical issues and they have been resolved. We are happy to hear that our home is convenient for your travel compared to New York City. Our surrounding area of Tarrytown and Sleepy Hollow has a lot to offer for tourist and will find our quaint town to be memorable.
We hope to see you soon.

Thank you
Lou Gaudio
Assistant General Manager
Sheraton Tarrytown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

The room was fine but the elevators had a lot of problems - as did the restaurant. The room upgrade included extras we couldn't access and a breakfast that wasn't worth it. However the upgrade room included a nice bathroom for a Sheraton and the front desk help was pleasant.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cad1098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill40, Manager at Sheraton Tarrytown Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Cad 1098

Thank you for staying at The Sheraton Tarrytown! We have addressed the technical issues and they have been resolved. Thank you for your feedback regarding services you encountered, and to assure you they have been addressed.
We hope to see you soon.

Thank you
Lou Gaudio
Assistant General Manager
Sheraton Tarrytown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this property because of the great rate on Hotwire. It was worth the price, nice hotel, very helpful staff. Kevin was very helpful in organizing a shuttle to a family event. I hope that if the GM reads the review, that he will reward or recognize that he gave us a great experience at the hotel. Thanks.

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mtlnative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill40, Manager at Sheraton Tarrytown Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Mtlnative

Thank you for staying at The Sheraton Tarrytown! We are so happy that our amazing staff made such an impact! We will recognize Kevin for his great leadership and guest experience.
We hope to see you soon.

Thank you
Lou Gaudio
Assistant General Manager
Sheraton Tarrytown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Location is set next to a highway and in the parking lot of an enormous supermarket (quite depressing). The staff from front desk to waiters and even mangement are generally unfriendly and not helpful. The elevator cannot hold more than 3 people without failing. Food in the restaurant comes out extremely slowly and is subpar. The heating unit in my room was blowing cold air; took 3 phone calls from morning to afternoon to get someone to address it. Despite having booked a king bed room was stuck in a double bed room- this made for an uncomfortable and poor night's sleep. No apologies or compensations were offered for this mistake on hotel's part.
I've seen other reviews that say this and have to agree that I would avoid the Sheraton Tarrytown and stay at the Marriott down the street-- better location, better staff/ service and superior restaurant (Ruth's Chris steakhouse).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill40, Manager at Sheraton Tarrytown Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Alex S.

Thank you for staying at The Sheraton Tarrytown I would like to apologize for the inconveniences you had in our home. We strive to deliver the best guest experience, but I can see that we failed and the technical issues that happened have been resolved.
Our home is very cozy, and has modified our training to services to make sure this does not happen again.

We are very proud that the Trip Advisor community has recognized our excellent services in more positive responses then negative.

Thank you
Lou Gaudio
Assistant general Manager
Sheraton Tarrytown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

i spent a weekend here with three 14 yr old boys for a soccer weekend. the hotel itself was in a great location and the room was ok...i was just disappointed by the size of the beds. i guess i never really knew how narrow a "double" was !! It didn't look like they had an option for 2 queen beds which is usually what i find at other hotels, a king and a pull out couch may have been a better way to go. we did have a fire alarm on the 2nd night, but found a letter under the door the next morning offering up a free breakfast as a way to say "sorry". We slept in and did not take advantage of the offer, but after seeing the letter it did explain why the restaurant staff was so frazzled when i did go down and ask for a cup of coffee and a couple spoons. can't beat the location and value for a clean, modern place so close to NYC, so i can't really complain.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill40, Manager at Sheraton Tarrytown Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Tim K,

Thank you for choosing the Sheraton Tarrytown to spend with your family, I apologize for the inconvenience of the fire alarm going off. Our family strives to make sure that our visitors are safe from any issues or fire. Unfortunately a guest decided to place an item (metallic) in a microwave to heat up.

We understand the main reason you stay in our home is to get a good nights rest, so if there is a disturbance in your sleep we still would like to make it up to everyone.

Be safe on your future travels.

Lou Gaudio
Assistant General Manager
Sheraton Tarrytown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
1,829 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 960 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I found this hotel ok. My king bed on the exective level was small. The room seems like the same as any other room (as far as amenities) but being on that floor there is a small "grab and go" type area that has drinks/snacks... not a real lounge where you can sit. Service is ok, but not distinguished. Like the location, theres a supermarket next door. Free parking is nice but standard for the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WINEandTRAVEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tarrytown hotels
1.4 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Tarrytown
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Tarrytown Greenburgh
1.4 mi away
Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Westchester Marriott
Westchester Marriott
#5 of 7 in Tarrytown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Tarrytown Greenburgh
0.8 mi away
Castle Hotel & Spa
Castle Hotel & Spa
#6 of 7 in Tarrytown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Tarrytown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Tarrytown Hotel

Property: Sheraton Tarrytown Hotel
Address: 600 White Plains Rd, Tarrytown, NY 10591-5104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Westchester County > Tarrytown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Tarrytown
#5 Business Hotel in Tarrytown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Tarrytown Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at the Sheraton Tarrytown Hotel. Our full-service hotel brings you to the heart of the charm and beauty of Westchester County's historic Hudson Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sheraton Tarrytown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Tarrytown Hotel NY - Westchester County
Tarrytown Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing