We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Italian food with a view”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sunset Cove

Sunset Cove
Reserve with OpenTable
Sunset Cove is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #27 of 62 Restaurants in Tarrytown
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Scenic view, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Main Street
Transit: Tarrytown train station
Central NYS
Level Contributor
106 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian food with a view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We visited Sunset Cove on the recommendation of a fellow traveler, in a quest for a good seafood restaurant within the 3-mile shuttle distance from the Double Tree Hotel. When we arrived, the waiter handed us the paper menu and told us there was a change and this was now an Italian Restaurant. He was difficult to understand, but we gathered they were in a crossover period from seafood to Italian cuisine.
The menu was quite varied and included some seafood items, so we decided to stay. My companion had Capellini Angelina, a blend of shrimp, tomatoes, spinach and garlic over whole wheat pasta. I had one of the specials, a linguine with shrimp, mushrooms and basil in a light but tasty white sauce. The shrimp were fresh and the food was tasty. We ate while looking out the large glass windows onto the Hudson River. It was a pleasant experience, and we would definitely return.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sgcruise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    67
    58
    11
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Food and View”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

We caught one of the last weekends when it was still warm enough to sit outside... and enjoyed the great view of the Hudson.

We shared calamari that was very good. The woman had an interesting flat bread (prosciutto, fig jam, brie & gorgonzola), and I had a traditional Italian dish - they were both excellent.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Monty1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great views and decent food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

We enjoyed coming here on a sunny Sunday afternoon, sitting on the patio. Views were great. The food choices and quality was very good for brunch. Place was packed but we got seated right away. We will definitely return.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MoondogNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnaminson, NJ
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“I liked this restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Had a delightful evening celebrating our anniversary at this restaurant on the Hudson River. It was a beautiful warm September night so we ate on the deck. Really lovely. The menu is Italian with a good selection of fish dishes. I thought the food was good. I had Pescatore and my partner had Chicken Francaise. Service was attentive and the view of the Tappan Zee Bridge all lite up was beautiful.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarrytown, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“So Disappointed!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

My husband and I have been to Sunset Cove during the summer months, sat outside, and enjoyed the view and the food. However, we went to the restaurant with another couple on Sept. 15, and it seems like we were at an entirely different place. We had reservations for 8:00. When we arrived, we were told that the restaurant was crowded, so we'd have to wait 10-15 minutes. By 8:50, we had still not been seated (and we had checked twice before that, only to be told that we would be seated soon). I complained to the manager about respect for one's time etc. etc. He apologized and told us that he'd do what he could to make it up to us. We were finally seated. We had a bread basket delivered to our table; the bread wasn't tasty at all, and one piece of it looked like someone had taken a bite out of it. We, of course, turned back the basket. When we told the manager about it later in the evening, he doubted us and said it was hard to believe - incredible that he would say that! The food took forever to be served and was virtually tasteless. The wait staff was inattentive; it took a long time to have water glasses refilled. The way the manager made up for the 50 minute wait was complimentary dessert and coffee. Even the desserts weren't good. One person in our party had key lime pie, which was mostly crust. The ice cream brownie sundaes were mediocre at best. I'm so sorry to write this review, because up until this time, we had enjoyed the restaurant. Perhaps there's been a change in management or chef, but this experience was horrible. We will never return.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gail S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunset Cove also viewed

Tarrytown, Westchester County
Tarrytown, Westchester County
 
Tarrytown, Westchester County
Tarrytown, Westchester County
 
Sleepy Hollow, Westchester County
Tarrytown, Westchester County
 

Been to Sunset Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing