We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel for Historic Hudson”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Tarrytown Greenburgh
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Tarrytown
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Great Hotel for Historic Hudson”
Reviewed July 5, 2006

My fiancé and I stayed for two nights over the Memorial Day Weekend as a base for seeing the many historic houses in the area. We were in a standard King room, which is described as a “studio suite”. The total square footage is not large, but the space is very well used.

There was a livingroom area with a sofa, chair and two tables that combine as a coffee table. Adjoining the livingroom was a work area with a desk and office chair and a kitchenette with a sink, refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. The bedroom area was separated from the living room by a small partition. It should be noted that, both my fiancé and I thought the bed was extremely comfortable. The television did double duty; it was placed on stand with a pivot between the livingroom and bedroom was it could be watched in either. The bathroom was a nice size and the sink was outside. None of the areas were large, but they were big enough to suit their purposes and nicely decorated. The room also included free wireless internet. While the design is “cookie-cutter”, anyone looking for a comfortable place to sleep and relax with many amenities for a reasonable price should look no further.

A complimentary “extended-continental” breakfast is included, which in addition to the usual bagels and English muffins, included the fixings for egg and sausage sandwiches and a two machines to make-your-own waffle.

A word of advise about the peculiarities of this particular hotel. The hotel is built on a hillside, with the lobby and street level on the third floor. The swimming pool, hot tub and fitness center were on the second floor along with a lower level lot for additional parking. I would recommend asking for a room above the third floor.

The location of the hotel is perfect for exploring the area. Lyndhurst, Sunnyside, Philipsburg Manor, Kykuit (Rockefeller Estate) and Union Church are no more than ten minutes away. Driving to the center of Tarrytown took no longer than five minutes and there was plenty of parking in the municipal lot that comes up after you cross Main Street on Broadway (Route 9). In Tarrytown, there are plenty of terrific restaurants at which to eat and antique shops along Main Street and Broadway . Please note on the way back to the hotel from Tarrytown, you need to jug-handle on the right to make the left back onto White Plains Road for the hotel.

In short, should we need a hotel in the area again, we would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank esqknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    130
    47
    21
    15
See reviews for
136
86
20
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 21, 2006

My husband and I stayed at this hotel after our daughter's wedding and our stay was a home away from home. The bed was so comfortable, it was the next best thing from our own beds.We like having breakfast buffet style it was wonderful and the fruits, that was certainly a plus.Our check in was short and to the point.The rooms was so clean we could not ask for anything more.The staff was pleasantand helpful.We would definately stay at this hotel the next time we are in White plains.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
185 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2006

We drove to the Hudson Valley to visit an old friend and to shop the outlets. We stayed 3 nights at Springhill Suites Tarrytown - an ideal, centrally situated homebase. Tarrytown is in a beautiful area full of history, and only a short train ride along the Hudson River to Manhattan.
The studio suite had 2 double beds and a pullout sofabed, just right for the 4 of us - my mother, daughter, her friend and me. There was a microwave, and mini fridge in the suite as well as complimentary wireless internet access. Best of all was their amazing complimentary breakfast. There were the usual bagels, English muffins, oatmeal and assorted cold cereals. The crowning glory were the fixings for sausage and egg sandwiches AND the make-your-own waffles!!! They thought of everything!! What a veritable smorgasbord - definitely the best complimentary "continental" breakfast I've ever had.
If you're lucky, William at the front desk will not be on vacation when you visit. He is a walking encyclopedia of local history and is more than happy to share his knowledge. For the price, this hotel just cannot be beat - whether you judge by decor, service, location or quality of food!

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank elycee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 23, 2005

We loved the place! My family and I recently stayed in this hotel over a four day spand in April. We were really wanting to visit in New York City but we wanted an inexpensive hotel room that was big and comfortable, so we gave this a try. Well, we certainly enjoyed Spring Hill Suites, Tarrytown. The rooms were quite nice, very clean, and new. The pool and hot tub was exactly what we needed at the end of the day. The continental breakfast was delicious, with lots to choose from. Every morning, a worker from the hotel drove us in a shuttle to the train station, and every night, they picked us up. It was a 30-45 minute ride into Grand Central Station. It was quite a convenient and easy way to get into the city. All of the staff were very friendly and courteous, as well as helpful. There are also many sights to see and visit around Tarrytown and the surrounding towns. We really enjoyed our stay and will definately come back here when we visit New York City!

Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2005

We have stayed here twice since it opened. Of course, it is very clean and modern looking. Very good facilities for the money. Won't break the bank. We stay here as a much cheaper alternative to staying in NYC. The Metro-North station is a couple of miles from the property. You can either drive there yourself or get a cab. Getting to Grand Central takes 45 minutes. Then you are in the middle of everything. There is a grocery store about a mile away. Also a pretty good diner. Will continue to stay here in the future.

  • Stayed November 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gil1018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2005

I have stayed here on several occasions as my company's main office is just down the street. I travel 100+ nights a year and stay almost exclusively in Marriott-brand properties.

The hotel is brand new and is very fresh and clean. It opened in mid-2004. The rooms are standard issue for a new SpringHill, fairly spacious and divided into several areas with a kitchenette, sitting area and bedroom.

The building is odd, built into the side of a hill and the lobby is actually on the third floor. I have found cellphone reception spotty on the lower floors.

Hotel has a nice, standard Springhill breakfast and a little shop in the lobby where you can pick up snacks as there is very little close by in the way of restaurants or convenience stores.

I was stuck in a handicapped room on one occasion and found the shower terrible. It soaked the entire bathroom every time I used it because of the wheelchair roll in, roll out design. I recommend you ask for a standard room.

A nice property and one I enjoy visiting regularly.

Helpful?
7 Thank PHXroadwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tarrytown hotels
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Tarrytown Greenburgh
1.2 mi away
Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson
1.0 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Tarrytown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Tarrytown Hotel
Sheraton Tarrytown Hotel
#7 of 7 in Tarrytown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.6 mi away
Westchester Marriott
Westchester Marriott
#5 of 7 in Tarrytown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
0.4 mi away
Castle Hotel & Spa
Castle Hotel & Spa
#6 of 7 in Tarrytown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Tarrytown Greenburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Tarrytown Greenburgh

Property: SpringHill Suites Tarrytown Greenburgh
Address: 480 White Plains Rd, Tarrytown, NY 10591-4905
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Westchester County > Tarrytown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Tarrytown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Tarrytown Greenburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated all suite hotel in Westchester County. Relax in one of our new fresh suites and enjoy a cocktail in our new Lobby Bar. We offer free high speed internet (WI-FI), Indoor heated pool, shuttle service within 5 mile radius and complimentary full hot breakfast buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your SpringHill Suites Tarrytown Greenburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites By Marriott Tarrytown Greenburgh Hotel Tarrytown
SpringHill Suites Tarrytown Greenburgh NY - Westchester County
Tarrytown Springhill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing