We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent Food mediocre Service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Swagat

Swagat
Ranked #42 of 62 Restaurants in Tarrytown
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ardsley on Hudson, NY
Level Contributor
279 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Decent Food mediocre Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Food is promoted as Halal Indian. good lunch specials- all you can eat but food is just fair not great and ditto with dinner (naan .e different herbed flat bread- is an exception better than many) We didn't fid the waiter particularly good- he didn't listen to our order properly and served it in a less than courteous way reaching across table, etc not particularly endearing way to treat customers Also real negative- they have a website to ostensibly make reservations via e-mail but they do't apparently read it or confirm reservations via e-mail we called to question thattand they were dismissive - then why bother to have a website with -email it actually hurts rather than helps. have the website but delete e-mail at the very least

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AlanONYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    16
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tarrytown, New York
Level Contributor
76 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Outstanding Indian Food Right in the Heart of Tarrytown”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Excellent food, outstanding service, where the people make you feel like you are dining in their home. They will prepare your food exactly to your liking!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Leesa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
106 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good food - parking can be a problem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

A friend of mine has been telling me that they had a great buffet lunch. Now that Bollywood is closed, this is going to be a really good alternative only IF we can park easily.

We only had takeout, and it was very good! Will try the lunch buffet next time.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cattledogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
110 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Strange hours and weird staff, but I return often because the food is delicious.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

The food is delicious but be prepared for quirkiness from this restaurant. Swagat is closed between lunch and dinner. They do not deliver during lunch as they only employ one delivery person, even though I called at 2 PM and the menu clearly states, "Free Delivery". The staff is so loud and impatient on the telephone that you have to repeat and confirm your requests several times. To have brown rice instead of the processed white rice, I have to be quite assertive. I once walked in to submit a catering order to find staff fast asleep in booths. The place is so bizzare, I often wish there was another Indian Restaurant in the area that serves food that's as tasty as Swagat. So, even though the prices are a bit steep, I return humbly to Swagat because the food is just that good.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JKCHAMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
90 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“good inexpensive lunch buffet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2011

It was hard to tear ourselves away from our favorite Lefteris just a few doors away, but Swagat's $10 lunch buffet price and welcoming staff drew us in. The buffet includes many vegetarian dishes as well as many meat dishes. The salad ingredients are a bit sparse. Flavored tea and chai are free, and hot bread, with or without garlic, is brought to your table. The condiments include onions and sweet pickles, but no lentils. We really enjoyed our meal, filling our plates twice and wishing we had room for more. We had a table by the window so we could watch the world go by. We felt they should remove all the notices from the window so diners could look out without obstruction. A very good value.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank arleneNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swagat also viewed

Tarrytown, Westchester County
Tarrytown, Westchester County
 
Tarrytown, Westchester County
Tarrytown, Westchester County
 

Been to Swagat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing