We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and delicious!”
Review of Sweet Grass Grill

Sweet Grass Grill
Ranked #3 of 62 Restaurants in Tarrytown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Broadway
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Charming and delicious!”
Reviewed August 24, 2011

What a lovely addition to Tarrytown! The menu was innovative, the food delicious, the service pleasant and efficient, the ambience fun and welcoming.
I can't wait for our next visit!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stumpsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    113
    39
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orono, Maine
Level Contributor
89 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Fresh and tasty”
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Excellent food, quiet atmosphere. Mid week was a quiet time to dine. Waitress could have been more attentive but the bus person was very polite.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kathylena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
75 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Creative Cuisine.”
Reviewed July 31, 2011

The ambience of pale green/terra colors with original hard wood floors and interior wall shutters gave this eatery a simple, clean, farm like feel. On our Sat we were welcomed without a reservation but many of the tables clearly had reserved signs on them and it quickly filled up. A caraffe of lemon infused ice cold water was standard on our table which was a nice touch since we generally drink artesian water with our diner and not liquor. There appeared to be an extensive list of wines and specialty drinks you could order from the bar. I had the Burger Platter with fries which I truly appreciated. It was cooked to order, with a leaner,/sirlloin quality cut of beef. The burger was juicy and I ordered carmalized onions and goat cheese at an additional price. A fresh heirloom slice of tomato (looked like Cherokee Purple) with crisp/fresh baby greens topped the burger on a fresh sesame bun. There was a choice of fries or couscous as a side, the fries were simple and to the point. My husband had an entree of sliced duck with an orange flavored au jus which he said was quite tender.served with mashed parsnips and a vegetable medley. HIs only complaint was that the duck portion was too small considering the entree was $24.00 Ciabalti type pieces of rosemary bread with a honey type/mustard dipping sauce complemented our meal. The items were fresh and we especially appreciated the attention to detail in using local fresh grown and n season items.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JERSEYGROWN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Pleasant dining”
Reviewed July 14, 2011

We had the veggie burger which is made of mushrooms and beans and doesnt really resemble a burger. It was tasty but kind of oozed out of the bun. My son had a roasted chicken meal that was tasty. The couscous and fries, bread and salad were good. The service was fine and ambiance pleasant.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wtkorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarrytown, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great meal, in a lovely town.”
Reviewed September 13, 2010

Food was really good! Outside seating, relaxed setting, and no pressure even though it was busy!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BinTarrytown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweet Grass Grill also viewed

Tarrytown, Westchester County
Tarrytown, Westchester County
 
Tarrytown, Westchester County
Tarrytown, Westchester County
 

Been to Sweet Grass Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing