We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sublime!!!”
Review of Castle Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Castle Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Tarrytown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 11, 2013

My husband and I planned on staying one night here. It was so wonderful we spent another. We had two different suites, both beautiful. The staff was amazing, we never opened a door for ourselves. We were given champagne upon arrival. The grounds are immaculate. There was a wedding going on in the afternoon that looked amazing. The staff gave us a tour of this lovely place. We had dinner both nights in the dining room. Dinner and the buffet breakfast was perfect. I can't say enough about how great this place is. The staff went above and beyond to please. I will definitely be coming back. It's a very special place, a must do.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pandl0906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (174)
There are newer reviews for Castle Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

161 - 167 of 174 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2013

The Castle is absolutely beautiful - from the glowing, immaculate interior to the manicured grounds with exquisite flowers, trees and shrubs! The food is superb - omg did we eat - one night we had the tasting menu and another night we ordered ala carte. The staff is professional, helpful, friendly and courteous - they can't seem to do enough for you. We just got back from 3 nights (June 4, 5 and 6) in one of their junior suites (their bed had to be the most comfortable we have had during a hotel stay), and we feel thoroughly pampered. We were able to see many of the sites around Tarrytown and Sleep Hollow. The tours are organized and very well done - tour guides are able to answer any questions - a perfect spot for a "quick vacation" steeped in history in lovely settings. We HIGHLY recommend the Castle on the Hudson.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LovemyAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

The hotel is beautiful. There was so many staff that they did not seem to know what to do and were very disconbobbulated. We made reservations through AMX and shoed up to the hotel saying we don't have any reservations for you.The front desk manager was very nice & upgraded us to a suite for the confusion. The breakfast was really good and plentiful. We felt like there was to many staff stepping all over each other. Our room was not cleaned very well. We then brought it to the attention of the front desk the next morning and ask to please have it cleaned well but it was not again. It took 20 minutes for the bell man to pick up our bags & then another 20 for them to arrive at our waiting car. This hotel is not that big. We could have walked them down to the car ourselves if we new it would take that long. They have some definite work to do in pulling this lovely hotel together to have the 5 star service expected with 5 star rating. Will not recommend or stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank venturagirls2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

From the moment you are greeted by the valet upon you arrival, the castle is an experience. Husband had business meeting during the day, the wives invited for dinner and overnight. Dinner was wonderful. We did the prixe fix, and it was very satisfying. Staff is exceptional, friendly, courteous, and willing to go the extra mile. I am an early riser, and while there was coffee in the room, I was down in the lounge area and asked for coffee. The server apologized and said it will be about a three minute wait! He promptly brought me a wonderful hot, fresh cup. They will be opening an newly constructed spa on the property very soon. It looks beautiful. We will return. This would be a lovely venue for a wedding.
I would recommend this hotel.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
Thank Dugan2425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

My wife and I spent a night celebrating our 40th anniversary at the Castle on the Hudson.
The suit was elegant, large, quit and clean.
The staff from the moment we arrived until we departed were attentive, courteous and did everything possible to made our stay enjoyable
The restaurant diner was 5 star, view, staff, service and most of all the food. ( one problem breakfast eggs were order over easy and served very over cook)
A Special thanks to Christopher, when he heard it was our anniversary he reserved a special table, served a complimentary glass of bubbly, a special menu and lots more.
A great place for a special occasion.

Room Tip: Request the old wing of Castle
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank firstlight03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Castle on the Hudson was a marvelous surprise and provided respite from the on-goings in NYC for a fall weekend. Such a short and easy drive from Manhattan and with wonderful sightseeing around the hotel. We arrived late evening after exploring around and were kindly greeted by the staff. There was a wedding that evening however, presently surprised that our room (even though on the ground floor) was nice and quiet. The room was large and clean but, certainly needed an update. The next morning, I took a look around on the grounds which were whimsical and fun --- with full size outdoor chess that some patrons were taking advantage of. I can undoubtedly see how the Hotel on the Hudson is a sought out event venue.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Biology100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank digitalkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarrytown
1.3 mi away
Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson
0.9 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Tarrytown
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Tarrytown Greenburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Tarrytown Hotel
Sheraton Tarrytown Hotel
#7 of 7 in Tarrytown
497 reviews
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Tarrytown Greenburgh
4.9 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Westchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel & Spa

Address: 400 Benedict Ave, Tarrytown, NY 10591-4330
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Westchester County > Tarrytown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Tarrytown
Price Range: $361 - $952 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Castle Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on verdant hilltop acres overlooking the Hudson River, the main tower of Castle Hotel & Spa forms the highest point in Westchester County. Castle Hotel & Spa is a medieval-style structure meticulously transformed into a luxury hotel; regaling guests with service fit-for-royalty, luxurious guestrooms, and the award-winning Equus restaurant which features pan-Mediterranean cuisine, locally-produced and sourced, inspired dishes from Italy, Spain, France, and Greece. The luxurious THANN™ Sanctuary spa is an oasis of peace and tranquility. Rediscover inner physical and mental wellness through Thann's holistic approach. Only 25 miles north of Manhattan, Castle Hotel & Spa opened as a luxury hotel in 1997; 16 years after being designated a historic landmark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Castle Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle On The Hudson Hotel Tarrytown
Castle Hudson
Castle Hotel & Spa Tarrytown, NY - Westchester County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing