We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon in the Catskills”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Mountain Brook
Ranked #2 of 5 Tannersville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Honeymoon in the Catskills”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

My husband and I were very happy with our stay in a cabin at Hotel Mountain Brook. We did feel that the photos on the website were deceiving in that the hotel is directly next to a school and, rather than overlooking a breathtaking mountain view, our cabin was beside soccer and baseball fields. The cabins and cottages were also much closer than expected, preventing some of the expected privacy.

Our cabin itself was extremely comfortable, with a fantastic king size bed, a cozy fireplace, and a spacious sitting area. The staff was very attentive and helpful. We loved the breakfast, which was delicious and plentiful. The DVD library was a nice touch, too!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nyindel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    24
    5
    2
    5
See reviews for
27
137
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 16, 2012

I came here with my boyfriend for his birthday. We went to the Wing/Wine fest (all of the wines were cheap and the wings were awesome) and zipling (have to do the skyrider tour if you go).

Hunter mountain is literally 2-3 long streets away (about 6-8 minutes away). The grounds are beautiful and you can see the mountains from the hotel. Is there a high school nearby, yes, but you don't really see it much and we were there on a Monday, and there was a zero noise factor. One of the hotel employees, John, helped me over the phone on numerous occasions and even upgraded our hotel room to a mountain view one. Some guests complained on here about the view (I read virtually every review on here), but if you talk to the owners on the phone about what you want, they will do their best to make it happen!! Call ahead before coming. If you come early enough (before 4-4:30 from what I saw), they will give you a tour and explain how everything works.

In the library room, there are DVDs to borrow, stem ware, cork screws, free beverages to take 24hrs a day (coffee, tea, water bottles, sodas, etc.) and snacks (fruit, cheese crackers). The room, itself, is small but really cozy. Our room was very nice. I loved the Jacuzzi tub with the jets, which were powerful and amazing for my back (note that the tub is a one person tub unless you are in a cottage). We had a gorgeous view of the mountain, which I posted on here. The bed was comfortable. There is a personal air conditioning unit and a personal heating unit (very helpful). There is a blow dryer, shampoo, soap, and conditioner in the bathroom (note: shampoo and toiletries were in the medicine cabinet). I didn't find the bathroom to be exceptionally small so I do not know what the one reviewer was talking about, and I am accustomed to major hotels and have never stayed in a B&B before. There was not a lot of space to put things, but there was space on the sink and, for the bath stuff, in the tub.

The breakfast was amazing!! On the buffet table there were juices, water, coffee, cinnabuns (awesome), muffins (banana nut and blueberry), crumb cake, and doughnuts. Everything else was made to order and you don't have to stick with the combinations there and can order AS MUCH AS YOU WANT for free. I got the challah french toast with bacon. My boyfriend got blueberry pancakes with bacon. We also ordered a side of home fries (these were not your crappy diner fries, but were seasoned and cut perfectly). There was also an omlet with whatever you wanted on the menu, as well as an egg combination platter. Order one meal or order three for yourself (though I am a huge breakfast eater) and I could only eat one meal!!

We loved every part of our stay and it is so close to the mountain!! We came in just past-peak for the leaves (Oct 14-15), and it was still very pretty on the mountain. The weekend before would have been peak. Ziplining with the red, orange, and yellow trees was beautiful!!

Room Tip: We were in room 6 and did not have a fire place, but which did have a sitting area and a beautiful v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Courtney A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, Utah
Level Contributor
209 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Service was excellent. Got a tour when we checked in made sure our every need would be met. Gave excellent suggestions for food, hikes, and drives. Very welcoming! Lots of area for our dog to run around. We walked on the nearby tracks in the morning because it was raining while we were there. The rooms are great! Very clean and big. Love the fireplaces and the snacks in the main building. Breakfast is a sit down made to order tasty treat! All around great experience would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 3, 2012

My boyfriend and I just spent a perfect early-fall weekend at this hotel, which is ideally situated in the town of Tannersville right off of Main Street. I can't recommend this place highly enough. The staff were professional, accommodating, and warm, going above and beyond to help us out with hiking plans and restaurant recommendations. Our room (#7 on the third floor of the main lodge) was beautifully appointed with antique furniture, a cozy sitting area, an incredibly comfy bed, and a gas fireplace that runs on a timer that you can set yourself. We had views in three directions of the Catskills at peak foliage, which was simply beautiful. Breakfast is abundant and delicious -- don't oversleep! The hotel is ideally situated within walking distance of the town (don't miss the cheese plate at the Last Chance cafe and antiques store) and a short drive from lots of hikes and anything else you might want to do in the Catskills -- antiquing, restaurants, waterfalls, Hunter Mountain, etc. Overall it was the perfect combination of country ambiance and understated luxury, at a great value. I would stay again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamiek928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Attleboro
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

My husband and I attended the Celtic Festival at Hunter Mountain and selected the Hotel Mountain Brook for our accommodations. From my first telephone call to the end of our stay we felt like John and the staff went above and beyond to make us feel welcome. Upon check in we were given a brief tour so that we knew where everything was located. We asked for recommendations for local restaurants which we frequented and found to be excellent. I believe the mattress was a pillow top and was very comfortable. As all of the reviewers previously mentioned, breakfast was delicious. We stay at bed and breakfasts whenever we travel and Hotel Mountain Brook was as good if not better than some of the places we have stayed at in the past..

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyLyn1230, Owner at Hotel Mountain Brook, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Hi Robin,

It was very nice to have you and your husband stay with us. We pride ourselves in providing the highest quality attention and service we can, for each of our guests. We are very gratified that your experience with us was consistent with that. Please know that you can count on us for this level of service and attention for your future stays as well as for anyone to whom you recommend our hotel.

Sincerely,
Amy Lyn Bucca
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We've now stayed twice at this hotel/inn, both were summertime and both times were wonderful. They do a great job of balancing hotel services with an inn hospitality. We checked in pretty late with no issue (we did call ahead to be sure). Staff is professional and very helpful with local outdoor activites advice (hiking, biking, swimming). Building and room facilities are modern. Reading room is very inviting. Breakfast is made to order and the comfortable dining room with its fireplace radiates Catskills family charm.

Room Tip: Accidentally clicked pool above. There's no pool at this property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BA1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dc
2 reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Wonderful hotel/inn ! Made most welcome, great rooms, excellent common areas, wonderful breakfast & great staff. Will stay again & already planning a return visit...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smith481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tannersville
8.9 mi away
Albergo Allegria
Albergo Allegria
#1 of 7 in Windham
498 reviews
11.1 mi away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
8.5 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 7 in Windham
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
146 reviews
4.2 mi away
Fairlawn Inn
Fairlawn Inn
#1 of 3 in Hunter
201 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Vosilla
Villa Vosilla
#1 of 6 in Hunter
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mountain Brook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mountain Brook

Property: Hotel Mountain Brook
Address: 57 Hill Street, Tannersville, NY 12485
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Tannersville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Tannersville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mountain Brook 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Areas only first class Adirondack style Lodge, featuring comfortable upscale accommodations with spectacular views of the Catskill Mountains. Relax in one of our spacious private cabins or in one of the distinctive suites or rooms inside the Lodge or East Lodge. All are luxuriously appointed and tastefully decorated and include modern amenities. Mountain Brook is an old world escape from the frantic pace of city life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Mountain Brook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing