We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dont be fooled by the "university" in this title.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Days Inn Syracuse University

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Days Inn Syracuse University
Ranked #21 of 31 Hotels in Syracuse
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Dont be fooled by the "university" in this title.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

This was my third time staying in the Syrcause area, as i frequently go there from Canada for shopping trips. We decided on the Days inn University after reschering its proximity to the university. THIS WAS NO WHERE CLOSE. It was in the middle of nowhere right off the highway. Nothing but a duckin doughnut and a cornfield near by. The hotel itself smelt weird, the receptionist was very un informative and seems to be stressed by 2 clients (me + 1 on the phone). We checked in around 9pm. The 2 double bed room was small, smlet weird again. Beds were semi comfortable. Bathroom was out dated. Pop machine was broken so we had to buy some from reception, and they kept them in a cooler!!

Bottom line: Choose parkview hotel- its right downtown, beds are comfy and great service even a free shuttle. -

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rocsee0911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim M, General Manager at Days Inn Syracuse University, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments. I would like to touch on a few items that you have mentioned. As for the beds, they are all new Simmons pillowtop beds and we frequently receive compliments on how comfortable the beds are. The drive time to the University is about 8 minutes. As you stated we are easily accessible located just off the highway. The soda machine was not working during your stay which I do apologize, and during that time before a repairman could come we offered cold beverages for sale at our front desk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    112
    107
    60
    60
See reviews for
191
86
31
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pickerington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

My room smelled like cigarette smoke although I was on a non smoking floor. There were several small brown dots on my sheet. The breakfast was small. The place needs remodeled. On a positive note, all the staff was VERY friendly!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim M, General Manager at Days Inn Syracuse University, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for your comments, I have spoken with my staff in regards to guests smoking in non-smoking rooms that our policy is to charge a fee to those guests and to have the room professionally cleaned to be rid of the smoke odor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Syracuse hotels

Westford
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Overall my stay was fine. The hotel was inexpensive and I got fair value for my money. It served the purpose I was looking for which was cheap lodging as I brought my son to college.


Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim M, General Manager at Days Inn Syracuse University, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us while bringing your son to college. We do hope that you will choose us again for your lodging needs in future trips to Syracuse.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

My room was supposed to have been a non-smoking room it was heavy smoke odor in my room. The toilet was too close to bath room was has to close had to lift toilet seat lid up in order to close the door. It was a bad experience for me and my wife. I will not recommend this Days Inn.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Kenneth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim M, General Manager at Days Inn Syracuse University, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
I believe that the room that was reserved was for a smoking room and no other non-smoking rooms were available due to the area events and the NYS Fair commencing. The toilet has been moved to not hit the door. This was due to the installation of new bathroom tiles and the toilet was not positioned correctly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Syracuse
Red Roof Inn Syracuse
#17 of 31 in Syracuse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Carrier Circle
Comfort Inn Carrier Circle
#20 of 31 in Syracuse
3.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
9.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Fairgrounds
Comfort Inn Fairgrounds
#22 of 31 in Syracuse
3.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Syracuse Airport
9.1 mi away
Clarion Inn
Clarion Inn
#26 of 31 in Syracuse
3.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
9.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Syracuse University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Syracuse University

Property: Days Inn Syracuse University
Address: 6609 Thompson Rd, Syracuse, NY 13206-1319
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Syracuse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Syracuse University 2*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Days Inn Syracuse University is the perfect location for exploring the beautiful Upstate New York at an economical price. Come stay with us and experience one of our newly renovated spacious rooms under our new management. We are easily accessible from interstate 81 and interstate 90 and are also perfectly located within 4 to 6 miles from most of the attractions that Syracuse has to offer – Syracuse University, Carrier Dome, Oncenter/War memorial, LeMoyne College, Destiny USA, Turning Stone Casino and many more. You can count on us to give you the perfect getaway with all the essentials required for a comfortable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Days Inn Syracuse University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn University Hotel Syracuse
Days Inn Syracuse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing