We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kathy has gone above ad beyond for us”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn Carrier Circle
Ranked #21 of 32 Hotels in Syracuse
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
1 review
“Kathy has gone above ad beyond for us”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We frequent the Syracuse area regularly for sporting events, and we travel about 3 hours to get there. Kathy Shue is the manager of the Carrier Circle Comfort Inn (conveniently located right off the highway, I might add!). She and her staff have gone above and beyond for us many times, even going so far as to making sure we get our favorite rooms on the busiest of weekends! Of course, we never expect such treatment because running a hotel is insurmountably stressful, but she always makes sure we feel special. We are ALWAYS greeted with a warm welcome.
I must also add that her staff is just as professional, and just as warm. And the rooms are cozy and the free continental breakfast is well done!

Room Tip: Rooms 104 and 106 are very nice and close to check-in and vending machines, but far enough away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy S, General Manager at Comfort Inn Carrier Circle, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Lisa K, that is SO nice of you to write such nice things about our little oasis! I am very lucky to have such a great team and we really enjoy what we do; just hearing you say how welcome you feel is a great compliment to our entire staff so THANK YOU!
Sincerely,
Kathy Shue, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    131
    86
    27
    17
See reviews for
117
85
13
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We were travelling east in NY state and arrived late at the Comfort Inn. The service was good and the room was spacious and clean. The room was also quiet with no road noise leaking to prevent a good night's sleep which is what we were looking for on our travels. The complimentary breakfast was satisfying and just what we were looking for in the morning before departing for the road. Would certainly stay here again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Webber2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy S, General Manager at Comfort Inn Carrier Circle, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear webber2012, thank you for the very nice review-- you summed up exactly what we strive for... a clean, comfy room, friendly staff and a yummy breakfast. We really appreciate our Canadian neighbors and thank you for your business!
Sincerely,
Kathy Shue, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentville, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Great location! Room needed to be updated but we just needed a place to stay. Carpet seemed a little smelly. Breakfast had finished but we should have paid attention to the signage for the times. Front desk staff were helpful at a crazy hour of us coming through.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samhamscooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

On our trip out east this hotel was perfectly located for a quick overnight stay. Just off the highway and easy back on. The rooms were clean and the beds comfortable. The typical free breakfast in the morning to get you started. I recommend this place as an overnight rest.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Q G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy S, General Manager at Comfort Inn Carrier Circle, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear QG, Thank you for your recommendation, I appreciate you taking time to review your stay. Being just off of the NYS Thruway really does make us a great location to rest after a long drive and the full hot breakfast buffet will definitely get you going in the morning! Our staff works diligently to keep us clean and comfy and always with a smile! We'll look forward to hosting you again and thank you for your business.

Sincerely,
Kathy Shue, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Pros: fair rate, convenient location, comfortable bed, good sized room, overall quiet environment.

Cons: rooms need some updating. Stains on some walls, carpets are really stained, especially in our room. They need a good cleaning or replacment. Wasn't overly impressed with the bathroom (tub), it didn't appear especially clean. Breakfast wasn't as good as some other Choice Hotels I frequent.

It was not a horrible stay, but wasn't overly impressed either. The hotel lobby is very welcoming and clean, the rooms need more attention paid to them. I was told some other floors had more updated rooms. I stayed on a weeknight so it was pretty quiet in the hotel.

The late night staff female staff was extremely polite and helpful and offered some suggestions about area stores which I appreciated. She even asked if there was anything else I needed in my room which I thought was nice and much appreciated. The morning staff were a totally different experience as were not so polite there were two young ladies standing at the desk complaining about their jobs as I was heading up to check out which I find unprofessional. Neither of them greeted us politely and seemed bothered to even be there.

Overall, an average experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catny402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy S, General Manager at Comfort Inn Carrier Circle, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear catny402, Thank you for taking time to review your stay and am glad you found us to be a good value and convenient location. You will be happy to know that we are in the midst of replacing all of our bathtubs, and you are right, they did appear less than sparkling clean and were old and worn. I'm very pleased to also let you know that along with the beautiful lobby renovation we are updating all the guest rooms for a fresh new, modern look. We are very lucky to have such large rooms and the new look will be the icing on the cake.
I also appreciate your nice comments regarding the front desk night person and am sorry you didn't feel welcomed in the morning, we always are a "standout' in guest service and that was very troubling and unusual. Please accept my apology, and thank you for your business.
Sincerely,
Kathy Shue, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

All I can tell you is try to turn into McDonald's, because, otherwise, you will drive right past this Comfort Inn, which is set behind the McDonald's. Depending upon which direction you approach, you may be forced around a rotary to get yourself back in the right direction.

The rooms were pretty standard for Choicepoint. I appreciated the Internet P.C. access outside of the breakfast room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingTrioFromCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy S, General Manager at Comfort Inn Carrier Circle, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review your stay, our team always appreciates guest feedback. Since we are right off of the NYS Thruway and very close to other highways, we feel like we are in a good location but you are right, the rotary can somewhat tricky and I definitely understand your feeling about it but I drive it twice a day so I am used to it. I do hope you will stay with us again when in the area and thank you again for your business.
Sincerely,
Kathy Shue, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

hard to locate, blink and you miss it.We chose this hotel because it was close toi the I90 thruway and the desk person was not great at directions.Room was ok, NO fridge No microwave.I guess extra charges?but we were not even told by the desk lady.Breakfast area was best place in the hotel.Dont think we would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zeeguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy S, General Manager at Comfort Inn Carrier Circle, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear zeeguide, thank you for taking time to review your stay; as you said, we are located just off the NYS Thruway but the traffic circle can, indeed, be a little tricky. Our little oasis is tucked away behind the "Golden Archs" and can also be a little challenging if you aren't looking for it. So glad you enjoyed the complimentary hot buffet breakfast in the newly remodeled lobby, we have the fireplace lit all winter so if you return when it's cold you can sit around it and enjoy the ambiance.
Thank you for your business,
Sincerely,
Kathy Shue, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Syracuse
0.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Syracuse
Red Roof Inn Syracuse
#15 of 32 in Syracuse
451 reviews
4.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Syracuse Airport
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Syracuse Erie Blvd/I-690
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus East Syracuse Inn
3.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Syracuse Airport
3.5 mi away
The Genesee Grande Hotel
The Genesee Grande Hotel
#14 of 32 in Syracuse
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Carrier Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Carrier Circle

Property: Comfort Inn Carrier Circle
Address: 6491 Thompson Rd, Syracuse, NY 13206-1409
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Syracuse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 32 Hotels in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Carrier Circle 2.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located at Exit 35 off the NYS Thruway (I-90) this 100% Non-smoking hotel features; complimentary hot breakfast buffet, business center, fitness center and free high speed wireless Internet. Our central location puts all of Syracuse at your fingertips, minutes from LeMoyne College, Syracuse University, downtown and the new Destiny USA. We always have a comfortable clean room waiting for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Carrier Circle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Syracuse Hotel Syracuse
Syracuse Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing